We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel on a gorgeous beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel on a gorgeous beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and enjoyed the room, the pool, the very nice restaurant and more especially the great beach. The hotel has all the amenities that you can look for. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very copious. The personnel was nice but for the most part limited in English. Free internet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was booked by a tour after a two-week overland safari through Kenya and Tanzania. When we first arrived the group was thrilled - beautiful beach, nice-looking beach bungalows instead of camping.
But the rooms were dirty and the hassle on the beach was unbelievable, really aggressive especially towards women.
On our final night, a woman in our group was mugged around 10 metres away from the hotel and lost her camera and money. The hotel manager could not have been less helpful and made it clear it was not his problem.
A friend and I were staying on after the main group left, and decided to leave Nungwi entirely as we had not enjoyed our experience there. Elsewhere Zanzibar was wonderful, the relaxed paradise we had hoped for, but I would not recommend Nungwi at all.
If you do stay in Nungwi, the dive centre in front of this hotel (Spanish Dancer) is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I ended a 10 day safari with 2 nights at the Nungwi Inn. The booking was made by my tour so I can't comment on that service but I splashed out on a single room, which had a double bed, for 45$US (not sure if this was discounted as we were a group) and was happy with what I got, Air con, ceiling fan, and en suit, having spent time in a tent I might have been in a generous mood, but the room was clean and comfortable and really that's all I ask for. The rooms are like semi detached houses, not like beach huts, so I felt my belongings were safe, but still there is a security safe at reception too.
The breakfast was included and OK, fruit platter and then eggs (which ever way you wanted, but i opted for omelette which was always good) and toast. The flies are an issue if you sit in, but as the bar and restaurant are literally right on the beach you can move out there and then there's no issue.
The restaurant menu is good, plenty on offer and the BBQ was really taste. The bar offer an array of cocktails and beer, Killi available so i was happy!
The staff vary but the bar man was great, did not drink, and stayed up with us to ensure our safety when we stayed out on the beach till late on our last night.
You can hire a beach bed for 10,000 shillings for a whole day or 5,000 for half a day. They are very comfortable and come with a parasol but be quick there are limited numbers, luckily I was there in March which is low season, so no problem.
Nungwi beach is lush and I highly recommend it, but beware of the beach boys though, a little annoying but I found if you were pleasant but firm they soon gave up and left you alone.
Also plenty of other restaurants very nearby for alternative venues, I recommend z hotel, great coffee so my friend said and I can vouch for the seafood salad - lush!
A dive school is attached but I didn't go- this time!!

Room Tip: Room 10 was clean and comfortable, about a 1 minute max. Walk from the beach, but no beach view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having looked at the choices in the area this seems to be the best mid-priced option if you are looking for a reasonable standard of accommodation right on the beach. We stayed at the Nungwi Inn in December. The hotel organised transfers for us from the airport, which went smoothly.

We booked a garden room, just back from the beach for $65 per night (note – many of the garden rooms are set much further back but the resort was fairly empty when we visited so I guess they gave us a front room). The room was nicely furnished with double bed and box mosquito net, ac and fan. The bathroom was a little dated but fine. The room was cleaned every day. There is a safe at reception for your valuables.

Breakfast is included in the price and eaten in the adjoining beach restaurant – it is a lovely place to have your breakfast! The fresh fruit and juice are excellent (best mango we had in Zanzibar). You also get self-service tea and coffee and a choice of eggs (cooked to order). For some reason there are always flies around the restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and had an excellent zanzibari chicken curry and some good pizza. They also sell cold beers and cocktails etc. (putting tables on the sand at sunset).

The beach by the hotel is stunning and is suitable for swimming most of the time (the tide goes out but you can still swim). We did walk down to Kendwa one day (beware the tides – there are only a couple of hours a day when you can get along and back) and noted that the swimming there might be better – with deeper sea available all day.

By the Nungwi Inn there are some sunbeds and a couple of umbrellas which are apparently run as a concession, though the Nungwi Inn collect payment for them. The charge is 10000TSH each for a full day, which we found to be excessive! Surely they should be free for hotel guests, but charged for visitors. We did ask about this, but were told that as the sunbeds were nothing to do with the hotel, they always had to be paid for. There are a few Massai wandering along trying to sell things and a few people offering trips but they did not really bother us (they seemed more interested in the Italians at the All Inclusive hotel along the beach).

The location is great – a short walk along to other bars and restaurants. We had excellent fish steaks at Chollos and the Baraka beach restaurant. At Langi Langi you can have an aromatic fish curry whilst sitting on their platform over the sea. Mangi’s bar next door is nice at night. There are also two supermarkets on the beach, and one by the hotel gate.

The only problem we had here is that the power and water went off frequently. The water often went off around 1000, not coming on again until 1800 ish. Power was often off all day, and for part of the night (fortunately it seemed to be on after sunset for a few hours). This is a common problem in Zanzibar but something to be aware of. Power isn’t a problem (we have torches), but water is essential. We weren’t sure if the services were actually off, or if the management had just decided to turn them off to conserve resources.

Overall Zanzibar is very beautiful and definitely worth visiting. Just bear in mind wherever you go that there are a lot of power cuts and the water often goes off as well. I would stay at the Nungwi Inn again if I were to visit Zanzibar – I just wish they could keep the water on!

Room Tip: We booked a garden room, and got one just back from the beach for (note – many of the garden rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This came after fruitless atempts to get accomodation in Nungwi in the New Year frenzie.

Nungwi inn is positioned in the best beach in Zanzibar, in my opinion the rest (Not in North Zanzibar) has so much sea weed and crazy wind you wouldn't bask in the sun to relax.
Very close to the beach at a walking distance of less than a minute, the administration would have a much better setting in bungalows overlooking he ocean, Nungwi inn is a haven for budget traveling with comfort.

The only thing that made me not have an optimum experience is the salty water streaming in their pipes, that will explain a lot in expectations of showers, and the air conditioning which needs a manual or google to operate, in the end we did without it since it only heated our room past the already baking heat of Zanzibar.1

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zanzibar is absolutely gorgeous, but staying at Nungwi Inn has nearly spoiled the whole experience for us. Rooms are terrible, especially the bathrooms. Old and terribly dirty. Guys at the reception not the least bit helpful. We stayed there as part of a group and the place was prebooked for us unfortunately. Don't know the official room rates but no matter how much it is, it's too expensive for what you're getting. Breakfast is quite nice though, we got fresh fruit for starters and eggs and toast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic some with air con and some without (unless you count windows with no fly wire). The beds were fine and the pillows a little hard. The first two nights we had water the last two none coupled with no electricity whilst the more upmarket resorts shone! the beach is heaven and lovely to walk along (despite the beach boys who will annoy you more then mozzies) so the so so digs you can forgive. The barman was a hoot and just lovely (though ice is made from tap water and i did get a little nausea) and the kitchen-waiting staff lovely. Front desk were ok but had over booked rooms and some of my party stayed at the next resort (same owners and same standards). Food was good here but explore near by resteraunt bars too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Archipelago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Nungwi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Tanzania/Zanzibar Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.