We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nungwi's Budget Zone $55 double” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Archipelago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 149 hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nungwi's Budget Zone $55 double”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This came after fruitless atempts to get accomodation in Nungwi in the New Year frenzie.

Nungwi inn is positioned in the best beach in Zanzibar, in my opinion the rest (Not in North Zanzibar) has so much sea weed and crazy wind you wouldn't bask in the sun to relax.
Very close to the beach at a walking distance of less than a minute, the administration would have a much better setting in bungalows overlooking he ocean, Nungwi inn is a haven for budget traveling with comfort.

The only thing that made me not have an optimum experience is the salty water streaming in their pipes, that will explain a lot in expectations of showers, and the air conditioning which needs a manual or google to operate, in the end we did without it since it only heated our room past the already baking heat of Zanzibar.1

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zanzibar is absolutely gorgeous, but staying at Nungwi Inn has nearly spoiled the whole experience for us. Rooms are terrible, especially the bathrooms. Old and terribly dirty. Guys at the reception not the least bit helpful. We stayed there as part of a group and the place was prebooked for us unfortunately. Don't know the official room rates but no matter how much it is, it's too expensive for what you're getting. Breakfast is quite nice though, we got fresh fruit for starters and eggs and toast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic some with air con and some without (unless you count windows with no fly wire). The beds were fine and the pillows a little hard. The first two nights we had water the last two none coupled with no electricity whilst the more upmarket resorts shone! the beach is heaven and lovely to walk along (despite the beach boys who will annoy you more then mozzies) so the so so digs you can forgive. The barman was a hoot and just lovely (though ice is made from tap water and i did get a little nausea) and the kitchen-waiting staff lovely. Front desk were ok but had over booked rooms and some of my party stayed at the next resort (same owners and same standards). Food was good here but explore near by resteraunt bars too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Nungwi (at a different hotel) for 2 weeks and ate at Nungwi Inn a few times as it has a great location right on the beach. The food was excellent the first time! The zanzibar curry was absolutely delicous and everyone was happy. The other times quality varied greatly so it seems the experience depends on who's working that day. I recommend everyone to take a chance though, cause when it's good it's really good :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

After arriving late and we decided to move after waking up and seeing the state of the bathroom, dirty bedding, cleaning lady going through our things and added items on our foodbill, but this resulted in an increased price for room and a very aggressive approach from the staff regarding the use of the beach beds which suddenly were 10.000 shilling a day..,.it seems that the lack of income fromf guests needs to be made up with the guests they do have, what a shame as their food is really good, but i would NOT recommend to anybody, eating there is fine but do not sleep there and check your bill against the menu because they by 'accident' make mistakes

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nungwi Inn has definitely seen better days. The only good thing about the room was the air-conditioner. Other than that NOTHING. Bathroom was terrible. Bed had an old foam mattress that we rolled into the centre all night. Back ache in the morning!

Not a lot to say about it other than there are far better places for the price.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there make sure you have a look at where they are placing you. Some rooms do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our tour of Kenya and Tanzania. We were impressed with the food, lots of variety both local and western dishes to chose from - the fresh lobster seemed great value for money and a massive portion! This hotel is right on the beach so great for what we wanted after 2 weeks of touring and camping. The rooms were buildings split into two rooms dotted around the place, the mosquito needs were well needed and in good condition, along with air con. The only compliant I would have was the scratching noise that kept me awake most of the night in the roof of the building - sounded like terminates or something similar...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Archipelago
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Tanzania/Zanzibar Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list