We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour - don't go there!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Archipelago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 148 hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour - don't go there!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zanzibar is absolutely gorgeous, but staying at Nungwi Inn has nearly spoiled the whole experience for us. Rooms are terrible, especially the bathrooms. Old and terribly dirty. Guys at the reception not the least bit helpful. We stayed there as part of a group and the place was prebooked for us unfortunately. Don't know the official room rates but no matter how much it is, it's too expensive for what you're getting. Breakfast is quite nice though, we got fresh fruit for starters and eggs and toast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
joancollins69
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic some with air con and some without (unless you count windows with no fly wire). The beds were fine and the pillows a little hard. The first two nights we had water the last two none coupled with no electricity whilst the more upmarket resorts shone! the beach is heaven and lovely to walk along (despite the beach boys who will annoy you more then mozzies) so the so so digs you can forgive. The barman was a hoot and just lovely (though ice is made from tap water and i did get a little nausea) and the kitchen-waiting staff lovely. Front desk were ok but had over booked rooms and some of my party stayed at the next resort (same owners and same standards). Food was good here but explore near by resteraunt bars too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Nungwi (at a different hotel) for 2 weeks and ate at Nungwi Inn a few times as it has a great location right on the beach. The food was excellent the first time! The zanzibar curry was absolutely delicous and everyone was happy. The other times quality varied greatly so it seems the experience depends on who's working that day. I recommend everyone to take a chance though, cause when it's good it's really good :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

After arriving late and we decided to move after waking up and seeing the state of the bathroom, dirty bedding, cleaning lady going through our things and added items on our foodbill, but this resulted in an increased price for room and a very aggressive approach from the staff regarding the use of the beach beds which suddenly were 10.000 shilling a day..,.it seems that the lack of income fromf guests needs to be made up with the guests they do have, what a shame as their food is really good, but i would NOT recommend to anybody, eating there is fine but do not sleep there and check your bill against the menu because they by 'accident' make mistakes

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nungwi Inn has definitely seen better days. The only good thing about the room was the air-conditioner. Other than that NOTHING. Bathroom was terrible. Bed had an old foam mattress that we rolled into the centre all night. Back ache in the morning!

Not a lot to say about it other than there are far better places for the price.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there make sure you have a look at where they are placing you. Some rooms do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our tour of Kenya and Tanzania. We were impressed with the food, lots of variety both local and western dishes to chose from - the fresh lobster seemed great value for money and a massive portion! This hotel is right on the beach so great for what we wanted after 2 weeks of touring and camping. The rooms were buildings split into two rooms dotted around the place, the mosquito needs were well needed and in good condition, along with air con. The only compliant I would have was the scratching noise that kept me awake most of the night in the roof of the building - sounded like terminates or something similar...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I am surprised at the negative reviews of the Nungwi Inn. Maybe it was people on a short holiday and it wasn't what they had hoped. My wife and I stayed here after being on the road in Africa for about 7 months and it was a very welcomed break. The first place in months with air conditioning and it worked so well that it would get too cold. I thought the room was great. New mosquito netting over windows and a big bed with a mosquito net that was actually big enough for the bed, a rare thing in africa. The bathroom was spacious and there was usaully plenty of hot water. The power went out a few time but that's not their fault and at the $45 night we paid I can't expect them to have a generator as people would run the AC and that wouldn't go well. We were quoted $60 a night on arrival and we paid that for two nights in advance. When we decided we wanted to make this our long recovery break in a 10 month trip they agreed to $45 a night if we spent 10 nights, well we enjoyed it so much we ending up staying 12 nights. This was my third time to nungwi, first in 2000 I stayed at paradise bungalows which then was a great budget option but after the big fire that took out most of nungwi they rebuilt and it's not longer budget, amaan bungalows is a long standing tradition here but they are getting over priced for not being on the water nungwi inn is right on the main beach of nungwi the only place that is. Their restuarant however is THE best part of the place. We tried eating at a few other places like amaan a few time but they were more expensive and not as good. It's easy to see why so many people from the other hotels eat at nungwi inn. Sitting with your feet in the sand and eating a great meal, doesn't get much better. The menu was greatly varied lots of seafood dishes, lots of curries, burgers, great pizzas and the drinks were cheaper than the other options. There was a octopus in curry sauce dishe that was the best thing I ate on a month on zanzibar island and that is saying a lot as the food on zanzibar is of a very high standard. Being right on the main beach was great for many reasons, the touts can be overwhelming and are constantly looking to get something from you. The nungwi inn however has a security guard on the beach whose only job is to make sure they leave you the hell alone. The Nungwi area has changed so much over the past few years with many luxury places going in and nungwi inn is a great addition, would stay there for sure again. So relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 148 hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Tanzania/Zanzibar Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list