We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippo hip hooray” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serengeti Hippo Pool

Serengeti Hippo Pool
Mageso Chember, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hippo hip hooray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing sight. 100s of hippos soaking and snorting, all crammed together in a huge and lovely pool, with crocs lurking nearby. What I didn't like was a 2 1/2 hour round trip on rutted tracks from the Serena hotel just for that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    135
    31
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I didn't have a lot of experience with hippos and didn't know how interesting I would find them. There were dozens of hippos and we watched them for a long time. This was definitely worth seeing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So many hippos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful site. So many hippos so close to you, you can easily enjoy watching or take pictures. We saw cheetahs , buffaloes , elephants on the way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you go to Tanzania/Serengeti, you need to see this. Just look the pics, you could stay watching their lazy pace for long time. My family had stop there and had a picnic on the open area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So many hippos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a terrific spot to see lots of hippos - although they smell a bit like a dairy! Our guide talked a lot about how they fit in to the ecology of the area. A nice bonus, we also saw crocs and a green mamba in the tree at the overlook!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serengeti Hippo Pool also viewed

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 

Been to Serengeti Hippo Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serengeti Hippo Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.