We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the migration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
up to 42% off | $400 pppn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great location for the migration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, during the second of which our tent was surrounded by Wildebeest - quite amazing and very loud. We got a great feeling of living with nature and were very grateful to the guys with torches who guided us around the camp in the dark. The tent was wonderful with a great shower. Service was friendly and food was good. The camp is not far from the Mara River so it was a great location to see the Wildebeest crossing (albeit a bit distressing re those that didn't make it - not for the faint hearted).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Sayari and experienced the spectacular wildebeest crossings in the Mara river. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take your feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Clare & John, and the Sayari team we hope to welcome you back to our camp one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
145
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I recently stayed in the Sayari Camp, and found it to be the best of all camps I stayed in while in TZ. The tents were gorgeous, with comfortable beds and really nice rain showers in the bathrooms. Meals were excellent, and their picnic breakfast was particularly nice for early morning drives.Service was friendly and attentive and the location couldn't be beat, just minutes from the Mara and the Kogatende air strip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Sayari. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of the camp managers and Sayari team we hope to welcome you back to the Serengeti one day.

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMBelgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Sayari Camp is an incredible place to stay when you are in Northern Serengeti. Not only is the camp close to where the migration is, it is just an completely unique setting. The tents are spacious and luxurious and the staff will make sure you have a pleasant and unforgettable stay. It is also a very personal experience as the staff addresses you by your first name.

In the evening you have the opportunity to eat together with the fellow camp residents. It is surely something me and my family liked a lot as you can not only share you adventures of your game drives or your trip in general, you will also meet very interesting people.

Also, there is no cellphone connection or internet connection (unless you ask for it). Yet, in this kind of setting, the last thing you need is to reconnect with the world. You just want to enjoy every moment you have at the camp!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Sayari, and the communal dining we offer. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your feedback and on behalf of the Sayari camp managers and team we hope to welcome you back to the Serengeti one day.

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Before leaving for Tanzania, we were most excited about staying at Sayari Camp. After leaving, it was the lowest on our list of places we stayed. On the positive side, the camp is in the ideal location to view the migration. Its very close to the airstrip and the river, so you don't have to travel far to see the action. The tents are also very nice.

However, the level of service simply wasn't up to par with the other camps we stayed at. The camp staff didn't seem very proactive. We found ourselves searching for staff if we wanted a drink in the main tent or having to wait a couple of hours to get assistance with the room safe. In general it just came up short based on the service received at comparable properties.

The one person who was a real standout while here was our guide, John (aka JB, Bingo). He was very knowledgeable and really tried to locate everything we asked for. He urged us to do full day game drives each day to get the most out of it and we're very glad we did. We had breakfast and lunch out in the bush every day, which really added to our experience.

The food at camp was very good, but you did not have a choice of your entree and you didn't know what was on the menu for the evening until they set it in front of you. You sit at a communal table for dinner, which may not be for everybody. However, there was option to have a private dinner if you wanted.

PS - we also stayed at Swala Camp in Tarangire, The Manor by Ngorongoro Crater, & Kilindi in Zanzibar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our accommodation and the Sayari area; we hope viewing the migration has been an amazing experience. However, we do regret the inconvenience you experienced.

Regarding the service levels you experienced at our camp; we have taken your feedback and raised this with the camp management. They will ensure this will be improved for future travellers as we obviously strive for the best service levels for our guests. Thank you for your feedback and on behalf of the camp managers, our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Sayari Camp close to the Mara River in the Northern Serengeti is an excellent property. Situated on the top of a hill overlooking this beautiful area of the Serengeti, the camp is divided into two areas - the larger part with 15 tents, the smaller with 6 tents. The aim - according to our hosts - was to maintain the smaller camp feel emphasised by two separate, attractively furnished seating and dining tents. On the top of the hill, these tents capture breezes and provide stunning vistas while dining. There is a beautifully landscaped large pool that connects the two accommodation wings.

The tents are enormous with separate bathroom area - with bath -that could be the same size as the bedroom area. A large deck with outisde daybed completes the luxury feel of the accommodation and unlike many other camps, electricity is avaiable 24 hours.

The food was the best we had on our Tanzanian safari (4 camps) - every meal over our 4 days was great, varied with some choice at lunch and breakfast.

The new hosts John and Claire are tireless in taking care of their guests needs. I thought i would run out of memory space for my camera so they offered and arranged to have someone in Head Office buy a memory card, had it flown up to the local airstrip, collected and delivered to me within 24 hours. What service. There was no charge for the service and no obligation to take the card if not needed. All staff we encountered were friendly, capable and our skillful maasai guide had a knack of spotting rhinoceros amongst hordes of wildebeest.

Our Migration Experience: If you have the oppprtunity to time your visit to see the Great Migration, then do it. The spectacle of driving over a rise to see the first line of the approaching wildebeest - completely covering the hills and plains - is breathtaking. To witness the drama of tens of thousands of wildebeest crossing the stunning Mara River is something that will remain with me forever. Initially ambivalent, you come to admire and support the wildebeest as they make the perilous crossing. It really is one for the bucket list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sayari Mara camp. Tania and the staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The room was very private and luxurious, especially the gorgeous bathroom and stunning view from the deck. After 7 days of full safari, we enjoyed the break between morning and afternoon safaris, and the incredibly tasty lunch in the camp. We were on honeymoon and were so impressed and delighted by the fantastic way we were treated. The safari with our driver Moses was very enjoyable and he was extremely knowledgeable - we also loved the slightly more remote location and that there were fewer safari vehicles compared to other parts of the Serengeti. Overall a wonderful camp and a great place to end our fantastic safari!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Northern Serengeti was our first taste of Safari life and Sayari was our first stop. We could not have wished for a better start to our much awaited trip. We could not fault our experience at Sayari. We came to see the river crossing of the great migration as this camp is located near the Mara river, but as this year the migration was running late we missed this event. Instead, we were able to drive out to find the animals - still an awesome sight to see the thousands of zebras and wilderbeast hanging out together in the long grasses. Something i will not forget in a hurry!
The tents are beautifully decorated, the beds amazingly comfortable and the surroundings are perfect. What better way to be woken up at night than by giraffes eating leaves from the tree right outside your bedroom! We stayed for 3 days and did not want to leave.
We were able to experience all of the animals we came to Tanzania to see in a matter of days. Our safari guide, Moses, was very knowledgable and he seemed to be able to find any animal we asked to see! The open vehicles and the ability to go off road made for excellent wildlife viewing.The staff at Sayari go the extra mile, they were always happy to see us and always keen to find out how our day had been. The food at this camp was brilliant, great variety and plenty of food provided at every meal. Drinks by the campfire and the group dinners were fun and a great way to meet other travellers and compare stories. We are looking forward to visiting Sayari again one day soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneering the spectacular, un-spoilt northern Serengeti Area, the award-winning Sayari Camp has become synonymous with some of the most dramatic sights that Africa has to offer: The Great Migration crossing the Mara River, incredible crocodile and hippo action, along with the undisturbed wildlife viewing. The camp features spacious rooms with panoramic views of the never-ending plains. The large, comfortable beds, the wide verandas, the showers and even the bath, all look out onto the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.