We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and barking Hippos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serengeti Migration Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serengeti Migration Camp
Save
You added Serengeti Migration Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great views and barking Hippos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Fantastic lodge in the Serengeti along the Grumeti River. Elephants, giraffe, and hippos off the balcony of your tented room. Dinner at the restaurant outside at sunset if breathtaking. Great pool to relax around after a day out on safari.

Room Tip: Spend some time in lounge before dinner - great snacks, cold drinks and fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    21
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
95
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

A unique elewana property in a spectacular location - it blends right in to the landscape. The "tents" are hardly tents, more like luxurious mini houses. The staff, the service, the food, the guides, the place in general...perfect. The hippos snort and belch and roar all night and it's hilarious. The outdoor dining area is beautiful, and the odd bit of entertainment provided by raiding baboons just adds to the atmosphere. A perfect place in the serengeti.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

While on photo safari encompassing several of the reserves in Tanzania, we were treated to two wonderful days and nights at the Serengeti Migration Camp. It's no wonder that this property is widely reviewed as a world class resort. Robin and her husband Peter added a dimension of knowledge and comfort for our group and the staff was "first class" attentive. While limited by supply challenges, the food was excellent and the presentation was highlighted by the location of the dining areas. Our "tented" quarters were very comfortable, while rather cool at night. It was more than tolerable since there was a large tree, right off the back of our wrap-around porch, that was full of baboons, who were very entertaining. And, while up for a early morning visit to the toilet, I was able to peek out our shaded window to see a hippo, which had come up from the river some 100 yards away, to feed on our lawn. Wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Some quarters are quite a walk from the main building (reception, dining, pool, shop, etc), and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

An excellent choice, a stunning camp and location. Well managed with excellent staff – helpful and friendly.
Approached over a substantial wooden walkway across a seasonal water course the main lodge was on three tiers down the hillside; administration at the top, followed by a lounge, curio shop and boma, leading on to wash rooms, a pool with sunbathing area and the restaurant (with terrace looking out over the river valley below and the bush beyond). Further steps lead down to the camp area where the large tents, each on its own wooden platform (giving a veranda all the way round) and solar water heating unit, were well spaced out over the valley floor, with a further rocky fall to the river below (complete with Hippo pool). Like many camps there was a requirement to be escorted to and from ones tent after dark: for the first time in my experience this was actually necessary. One night two hippos were observed grazing just outside our tent, while another night it was a giraffe, then a buffalo. While for about twenty four hours a couple of elephants wrecked a number of trees as they browsed their way through the camp.
The tent were very comfortably furnished and in some style. An extra large bed, desk and chair, sofa and easy chair plus other furnishings all sat well together. Finished off with an excellent shower, double wash basin unit and separate loo completed the facilities. Twenty four hour electricity added to comfort and convenience.
Generally the food was good, very good even. The style of cooking was a bit pretentious, and they did not always pull it off. But for me, diabetic requirement apart, I can eat and enjoy anything and I did enjoy the food, the style of cooking was not however quite to my wife’s taste although one meal apart this was not a problem. The homemade soups, the bread, pastries and buns, and the jams and marmalades were all particularly good.
My only criticism, the game viewing in the immediate vicinity of the camp is not the best we have experienced, at least while we were there, but having said that we were treated to some amazing sights; but we did need to cover the ground to find them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Elewana properties are amazing. Tented camps can sound scary. The first is true, the second is completely false.

We arrived at Migration camp and were greeted by the manager who was phenomenal. We had the place essentially to ourselves, which was nice, but a bit lonely. The manager sat with us and had a couple glasses of wine and simply chatted into the night. This experience was consistent across our trip. A+ for management.

The room was just perfect. We were a little hesitant to do a tented camp after hearing some horror stories (no electricity, no hot water, etc). Migration Camp had constant electricity, had constant hot water, and was decorated in British safari style. There was a canvas divider for the bathroom, which made it not as awkward (see: Tarangire Treetops). The wrap-around porch was a nice touch.

The restaurant had decent food (a common trend we noticed was that Kenya had better food than Tanzania). It did, however, look out onto the Serengeti, which was an unbeatable view.

Overall, Migration Camp was probably my favorite property in Tanzania and I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I honestly do not think there's a bad tent on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had an excellent stay for 2 nights in Migration Camp. Service is #1 here. Everything is almost perfect from breakfast, till dinner. Everything (incl drinks) is included here (of course the facility is not cheap.....). Recommendation is to at least stay 2 nights to appreciate it to the full extend. We had some very good game drives here, although it was a bit too early for the big migration. Wild animals are just crossing the camp. For that reason after sunset you have to be guarded from the resaurant to your tent. The food is good, but the environment in which it is served makes it excellent. They served our dinner out in the garden under the stars.

Room Tip: - From what I have seen, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We arrived here at the end of a safari, just at the tale end of the migration. It had been a long and wonderful trip and our previous accommodation was a mobil tented camp. This place was beautiful. Each unit was entirely separate, half tent, half walls with luxurious rooms and beautiful bathrooms. A nice change from the bag showers (although not as adventurous). Our unit overlooked the Grumati River so we could see and hear the hippos. There were many hyrax and vervet monkey's running around, but the best surprise was sitting in the lounge before dinner and having a hungry civet jump up and grab a few appetizers from our table. We were visited by an elephant and a few other animals at night but we were never in any danger. Guards accompany you in the dark, so you are perfectly safe. The rooms sit up off the ground so you have a deck that goes all around and is a nice spot to sit in the morning or after a long day on safari. The surroundings are magnificent, the food was very good and everyone is friendly.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms. You won't need conversion plugs or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serengeti Migration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Migration Camp

Address: Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serengeti Migration Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vast plains, the Serengeti Migration Camp is located at the starting point of one of the world’s great wonders - the Annual Migration. The Serengeti Migration Camp, part of the Elewana Collection of Lodges, Camps and Hotels in Tanzania and Kenya, has been recognized for its exemplary experiences in accommodation, culinary excellence, and game viewing safaris. Travelandleisure, one of the travel industries largest travel trade portals, has conducted a comprehensive poll with its large readership of travel professionals and has subsequently voted the Serengeti Migration Camp the 6th Best Safari Camp in the World and the Tenth Best Hotel in the World. The Migration Camp comprises 20 unexpectedly large elevated canvas pavilions, featuring hardwood floors and luxurious furnishings, and each room has its own private deck with a 180 degree view of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Migration Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serengeti Migration Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.