We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa Hospitality at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serengeti Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Serengeti Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Africa Hospitality at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful staff makes this hotel better than it would be without extremely dedicated people. The food is very good and they can accommodate most everyone's needs. Box lunches for safari outings are good but not great. Hotel is clean and has very good laundry service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    194
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
194
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was on a group tour and stayed here 2 nights and it was really good! The rooms were very comfortable and wi-fi was available for free which most of us used in the evening before dinner. Very comfy lobby area. All the staff were very nice, friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was a huge buffet and dinner was served and always with a nice selection of food and several courses. The food overall was very good, just the desserts were a bit disappointing. However one of our travel mates was celebrating a birthday and they brought out a special cake with candles and made a big deal of it which was really nice. Vervet monkeys tried to come in for breakfast, a giraffe was spotted by the pool in the morning and I saw the most amazing colorful lizard! Fun place to stay - I would go back. I loved that the animals could roam around the grounds!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were apprehensive about staying at Serengeti Sopa but what a revelation it was. The staff were incredible and really made our stay memorable.

Free wireless was fully available in the lobby area and that just helps to make communication with the outside world far easier.

The food was excellent and the only negative comment we would have is that the rooms are very dark. Otherwise, it was a really good experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Serengeti Sopa. This time we stayed during April when it was really quite quiet. Our room was good. I think all the rooms are large with a nice balcony. We had a drink in the bar each evening whilst checking our emails using the WiFi which worked well. What we really noticed this time was how good the food was, even better than last time. All meals apart from breakfast were served to the table. There was a very good choice and it was all excellent. Some of the best meals we had during our 10 day trip. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this Sopa Lodge for 2 nights, in the middle of our Tanzania Safari Tour, at the time we had unfortunately contracted the dreaded sickness & diarrhoea bug, so we were in need of a good rest! The staff were very welcoming & helpful, checking in on us regularly, to make sure we were taking in enough liquids, etc. The main lobby & restaurant were beautifully designed and the food looked delicious - just a shame we weren't really able to take advantage of it! The lovely views over the Serengeti from our room helped to cheer us up though!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top (2nd) floor have lovely views over the Serengeti!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We really liked the hotel! We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite witch was really nice :) food and room were nice and clean! The service was really nice and we even saw animals from our window, in the evening they walked with you to our room because of hyenas running around, that was pretty cool ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is situated up a hill so the views were wonderful. The rooms are in two-storey wings, one either side of the main building and they are reached by walking outside, along a sloping path adjacent to a bank covered with grass, trees and dotted with monkeys. The room had an impression of a concrete cave and had metal furniture with thin legs including two double beds. There was an entrance lobby with a fridge and umbrella stand. There was no ceiling fan only a desk fan but there was a safe and two bottles of water. The large bathroom had a huge walk-in shower with clothes line. Supplies included tissues, hairdryer, face cloths, hand/body lotion, shower gel, soap, shampoo, a mosquito repellent wipe and a shower hat (the items were not replaced for the second night). From the bedroom there was a patio door with fly screen out onto a balcony which had views through low bush and down onto the Serengeti plain. The swimming pool, bar and restaurant had the same views. Unfortunately I did not have time to use the pool. The restaurant is on an upper floor accessed via a ramp over the main reception area with shop below. Again the furniture in the restaurant was metal and because the tables were all in strict rows and close together it gave it a bit of a cafeteria type atmosphere. It was better when we were moved to a table on the balcony where we could watch the sunrise at breakfast time. On the first night a four course dinner was served as the hotel was not full. The waiters came in and sang a few songs. On the second night dinner was a buffet, as was breakfast on both days. Picnic lunch was quite good but after a couple of days of Sopa picnic lunches you might want to try the vegetarian option for a change. After dinner you are escorted back to your rooms. Free tea/coffee is available. There was a problem with the electricity when I stayed. The first morning the generator had broken. The water was just about warm enough to have a shower in the dark. When we got back in the evening there was still no electricity because there had been heavy rainfall. Some of the ground floor rooms were completely flooded (is this why they are concrete and have metal furniture?) and some people had to stay elsewhere. The staff quickly brought round candles – the water in the shower was now cold. Large torches are for sale in the shop. The lack of light also meant trying to pack before the sun set just in case there was no electricity the following morning. At about 9pm the lights came back on but there was no power in the wall plugs. They did offer to charge anything up at Reception. In Sopa hotels you have to sign for drinks purchased which is rather time consuming in itself and you have to remember to pay at reception before leaving which again took a long time.

Room Tip: On the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serengeti Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Serengeti Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Serengeti Sopa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serengeti Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.