We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and well worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olduvai Gorge

Olduvai Gorge
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This deep gorge, measuring 30 miles long and 295 feet deep, features exposed deposits of fossil fauna, hominid remains and stone tools from 2,1000,000 to 15,000 years ago.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fascinating and well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We walked a few miles to get here from the wonderful Olduvai Camp. It is a great little museum that does a good job of explaining the history and significance of this place. I appreciated the talk given by a local paleontologist who spoke very...slowly, which allowed my brain to comprehend some of the vast time scale involved ;)
To correct the previous post, you CAN go down into the gorge but you have to pay extra and it is very hot and tiring. We stayed at the viewing deck where you can get a good sense of the geology from above.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    113
    69
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Shifting Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Left Ngorongoro, headed to the Serengeti. Went through Olduvai Gorge. Also stopped to see " Shifting Sands" which are mysterious crescent shaped dunes that have slowly rippled their way across the desert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater FL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Oldupai, Olduvai, just Old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a scheduled stop on the way to Serengeti. I found it boring and little more than a place to stop for lunch. This is saying alot because I was an amature palentologist, and loved anthropology in school. If this were an elective, I would pass and go somewhere else. You don't go into the gorge, you look down into it from covered shelters and there is a small museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
“Cradle of Mankind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A MUST STOP and see for the history and scientific aspects of the discovery of early man fossils by Louis and Mary Leakey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We travelled through the gorge to the Visitors' Centre, where we had magnificent views over the surrounding landscape. We were fortunate to have a talk from a guide and, later, whilst eating lunch, listen to a second guide who added so much more information. The small museum is well-designed and very informative. We walked away from the Centre and along the edge of the gorge, away from all the visitors. This gave us different views of the landscape below us but also othe economy of the local area with sheep and cattle herds and local people. Well worth doing. It is quite humbling and awe-inspiring to visit the area where our first ancestors lived and something everyone should do if the opportunity arrives.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olduvai Gorge also viewed

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 

Been to Olduvai Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olduvai Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olduvai Gorge to your Saves list