We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shifting Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olduvai Gorge

Olduvai Gorge
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This deep gorge, measuring 30 miles long and 295 feet deep, features exposed deposits of fossil fauna, hominid remains and stone tools from 2,1000,000 to 15,000 years ago.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Shifting Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Left Ngorongoro, headed to the Serengeti. Went through Olduvai Gorge. Also stopped to see " Shifting Sands" which are mysterious crescent shaped dunes that have slowly rippled their way across the desert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    140
    81
    23
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater FL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Oldupai, Olduvai, just Old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a scheduled stop on the way to Serengeti. I found it boring and little more than a place to stop for lunch. This is saying alot because I was an amature palentologist, and loved anthropology in school. If this were an elective, I would pass and go somewhere else. You don't go into the gorge, you look down into it from covered shelters and there is a small museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cradle of Mankind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A MUST STOP and see for the history and scientific aspects of the discovery of early man fossils by Louis and Mary Leakey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We travelled through the gorge to the Visitors' Centre, where we had magnificent views over the surrounding landscape. We were fortunate to have a talk from a guide and, later, whilst eating lunch, listen to a second guide who added so much more information. The small museum is well-designed and very informative. We walked away from the Centre and along the edge of the gorge, away from all the visitors. This gave us different views of the landscape below us but also othe economy of the local area with sheep and cattle herds and local people. Well worth doing. It is quite humbling and awe-inspiring to visit the area where our first ancestors lived and something everyone should do if the opportunity arrives.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brief stop while on our way to a Maasai Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

DIdn't spend enough time here to really experience it. Considering that this is the cradle of civilization, we should have had more time here. Major disappoinment!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olduvai Gorge also viewed

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 

Been to Olduvai Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olduvai Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.