We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Almost too good to believe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti to your Saves list
Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 14321 | Central Seregeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit!
Studio City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! Almost too good to believe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After flying for two days from Los Angeles and taking what seemed to be an entire fleet of airplanes, I finally arrived in one of the most enchanting and wonderful places I have ever been. The staff was warm and friendly. The hotel was not imposing, but tastefully decorated and themed without being too "Disney". The pool (tho not heated) was a highlight of my entire trip to Africa. While sipping a cocktail in the infinity pool, a herd of elephants (over 30!) visited the adjacent watering hole. One might think this would be a once in a lifetime chance encounter, but it happened again the next day! Spa was lovely--had a great massage. And food was good. I am sure there are some who might quibble that this is not Four Seasons Maui or Manhattan, or Toronto--but this location is not about a 5k calorie breakfast buffet, it's more about a luxurious accommodation miraculously located in one of the planets most spectacular wildlife preserves. GO, GO, GO!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Not the best experience. Granted that the location is amazing with a watering hole that attracts animals, that's the only saving grace. Housekeeping has to be the worse. Ashtrays after three days not cleared. Coffee not replenished. Towels not changed. It's the least I would expect from an establishment of this kind. I am truly disappointed. Having stayed at other Four Seasons, this has to be the worse in terms of service. I feel that people only serve you if you tip them. But that is not what service is about. For example this afternoon at lunch, we asked for the menu from one waiter who was not the main waiter serving us, he waited for the main waiter to be free to get the menu for us rather than doing it himself. It's only the natural beauty of the Serengeti that is the saving grace. Things I like about this place - the spa (the Thai masseur was good), ladies at the lobby when we returned. In comparison to Ngorongoro crater lodge where we stayed before this, this pales in terms of service and security. Please inprove.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous hotel with incredible views. My terrace hung over a watering hole where the elephants came several times a day. There were many other animals as well, up close and personal, but I was fascinated by the elephant families. There is also an infinity pool that is amazing. The hotel itself is beautifully done, as a Four Seasons should be. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and their steak inedible. But, I didn't go to Africa for the food. A great place for R & R after bouncing around in a jeep all day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It was our bucket list trip, but now it will be a future return trip. The lodge is wonderful, with an African flair it sits atop a watering hole with 24/7 visitors from elephants to lions and baboons. You have to pinch yourself that its really happening. The rooms are a great respite after a a day on safari, the food delicious and the staff so professional, knowledgeable and welcoming. We used A&K as our safari guide and Herman is the best! His warm Tanzanian personality and love of his country coupled with his professional tracking, instinct and driving made our 6 days unforgettable, from lunch with the Great Migration to ballooning and time in an African village.. A&K is a professional and well run company. As for the Four Seasons Serengeti, a masterpiece on the Serengeti Plain, simply the best. Thank you Africa, The Jacuzzi Family

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is most certainly the Serengeti in style! The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is nothing short of a shining oasis – all luxury, beauty, comfort, and wildlife. We cannot think of a better or more magnificent way to experience the Serengeti – especially as we had both my 70-year old parents and our teenage kids with us! At the end of a 10 day African adventure, this was absolutely our favorite stop. We saw more wildlife during our two nights here than we did throughout the entire rest of our trip. It is constant here, everywhere you look there are animals to be seen – out your suite window, by the pool, from the dinner table. So incredible! And of course, being a Four Seasons you get all the wonderful services and amenities we’ve come to expect from this expertly-run line of hotels. Fabulous staff are one-step ahead of you, scrumptious food, lovely spa, and of course well thought through interiors. Extra comforts include high-end linens, four poster beds, air conditioning (!), soaking tub, rain shower, huge dressing room… not the norm in the bush to say the least!”

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhose Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at the Four Seasons while on an African safari. This hotel was luxe all the way! Great food and comfortable and clean rooms. The room had a great balcony that looked out onto the Serengeti. While I was out there reading, a family of elephants walked by on their way to the hotel watering hole. Was also able to get some great shots of many elephants at the watering hole just beyond the Infiniti pool. Restaurant service was great and was the best food on our 13 days tour. I would go back just to stay at this hotel for a week! The bathroom with the picture window looking the Serengeti was also amazing! Live the Four Seasons!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the most amazing stay as part of our honeymoon. Every single member of staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you. Every restaurant, room, area is done beautifully and is so clean and kept perfectly. Our room was fantastic, with gorgeous views, very spacious.

We at in all of the restaurants while we were staying and the food was amazing in all of them. The Boma is a must have to get the true experience and see the Masai dancing!

The highlight was the drinking hole, sitting outside with a glass of wine and seeing a herd of elephants walk up, is just amazing! Baboons on our balcony and seeing lots of animals from our own room too was just fantastic!

Having stayed at a lot of gorgeous hotels in the past, I didn't think some of them could be beatern, but the Four Seasons, Serengeti is definitely up there.

Room Tip: We booked a Savannah room but were upgraded to a Horizon room, and the views were stunning, so would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti

Address: PO Box 14321 | Central Seregeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Africa’s finest game reserve, our Safari Lodge welcomes you to a sanctuary of Four Seasons comfort. Get up close and intimate with lions, leopards and elephants – yet always feel safe and pampered. Experience thrilling Serengeti game drives and rare opportunities to connect with the local people and culture. Then return to the Safari Lodge, where our 77 secluded guest rooms, elegant spa and infinity pool promise a luxurious respite during your African adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Safari Lodge, Serengeti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.