We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic game, beautiful location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamai Serengeti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamai Serengeti
Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE $515 PER PERSON
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic game, beautiful location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been on a few safaris before but this was my first to Northern Tanzania. I have loved all my other trips to Africa but have always said that I would try somewhere new (there is so much to see, it would be a shame to not explore other places). However, Lamai was so good that I am seriously contemplating going back to the lodge for a second trip! My guide was brilliant and the game delivered!

I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: The higher up the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We felt like celebrities from the moment that we arrived.
We travelled as a family of 5, 3 "children" aged 21, 19 and 16.
We flew Coastal Aviation in a single engine aircarft.Very professional and punctual, loved seeing the landrover do a lap of the runway before we took off to scare the zebras away.
We were picked up fron the airstrip by Kakai, our personal driver for the next 4 days.
He told us that we had been allocated the private section of the camp, and we didn't appreciate what a treat was in store.
The camp has a main common lounge and restaurant and pool to cater for most guests.
At one end ( 5 mins walk) is the private section, with it's own pool and cabana, lounge and dining area, and own kitchen and chef. There are two huts, one is a double bedroom with huge bathroom, the other is two bedrooms ( a double and 2 singles) with huge bathroom. They are not directly next door, but close, and are in sight of each other. The bathrooms are amazing, you can see animals wander past as you shower. Lying in bed you have a panoramic view through the netting, and you can hear the sounds of animals clearly (the staff claimed the lions were 1 km away, they sounded closer!) There is an air horn in your room if you need help in the night, as it is not recommended to leave your room after dark unless a staff member accompanies you. Leave your hairdryer and straightening irons at home ( the generater can't tolerate them), and embrace nature.
The living areas are all open setting, and beautifully decorated, and in an elevated position to maximise the view. Some may be phased by this, but it is safe and adds to the experience.
On arrival we were welcomed by our delightful hostess Rebecca, and our food/drinks attendant Canale. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed Rebeccas company for dinner the first night, and were telling her of Pink Gins that we had had 28 years previously in Kenya. The next night she presented us with Pink Gins- typical of the fabulous service.
Fantastic attention to detail, the hot water bottles each night, washing done amazingly quickly, and morning tea/coffee/hot chocolate delivered through the hatch in the wall.
Then , there is the safari. Kakai was exceptional. His knowledge of the animals and their behaviour was fantastic, and he managed to ensure we saw everything! Lions, cheetahs, leopards, rhino, wildebeast crossings, and he even knew the best spot to get that perfect sunset shot with a tree on the horizon in front of the sun.
There is less safari traffic here than in other parts we visited ( ie Ngorogoro crater), and it is so green in comparison as well. At times there are a few cars clustered around something special ( eg a black rhino and her baby), but it is good that the drivers share their information via two way radios.
We found it best to do an early drive (6:30 to about 11:30), and take a packed breakfast. It is a surreal experience sitting at a table eating breakfast in the open, watching wildebeast on the opposite bank of the river, waiting for a crossing to occur (which it did)
Then come back to camp for a delicious lunch, and swim and rest. Sitting by the pool , some babboons climbed on to the rock next to us, and scurried off in fright when they saw us. Then cake and tea at 4pm, and off for another drive.
I felt bad that I didn't thank our Chef before we left, the food was amazing, fresh and delicious at every meal, and great variety as well.
A huge thank you to Rebecca who made us feel so welcome, and to Kakai who became part of the family, we really enjoyed spending time with both of them.
This is the perfect African experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have just got back from three amazing nights at the natural surroundings of Lamai. Africarosetravel co found this gem and it is not for the unadventurous. A night curfew is imposed so that guests must travel with a security guard to get from their lodges to and from dinner. The first night we had 3 lions in camp, the second night I was woken by a jackal on my veranda and the final morning a herd of elephants wandered past my lodge.It is a unique chance to see what happens in the Serengeti when you leave your vehicle. The rooms are simply netted on one side for a panoramic view and all the decor is interesting and funky.The staff were great - from the welcoming hosts to the helpful waiters. Nothing was too much trouble. I would rush back given the opportunity .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nomad Lamai is an amazing camp. With its spectacular views, and nightly sounds of lions (in the distance - although really more like right outside). The location can't be beat, the rooms are AMAZING! Open air, but very secure. And staff whose exuberance for the location and experience of the Serengeti is top notch. They walk you to and from your rooms once it is dark, but I never once felt unsafe.

Monkeys, hyrax, golden mongoose, and lots of lizards greet you daily. I've never had a better view from my bed and bathroom in all my life. We stayed in #1 - which sits at the top of the camp, so it's a nice daily hike up and down, but well worth the privacy and seclusion it provides. Grabbing beers from the cooler in the lodge after lunch and heading up to the comfortable chairs on the deck makes for a superlative ending to a morning game drive.

The food is surprisingly good, including the breakfast that is packed for your game drives - egg sandwiches - done two different ways made the morning of seeing everything we hoped to see being in such close proximity to the Mara River. Wildebeasts, Zebras, Cheeta (with two cubs), a multitude of Elephants, one family who had an hours old calf that was fun to watch figure out how to use his legs, water buffalo, hippos, rhinos including a baby, warthogs, jackals, topi, dik diks, I could go on, but we saw it all including two crossings! Who could ask for more.

Anyone who questions the net is just silly - nothing will come through that...except for gnats. I'd go back again in a heart beat. Loved everything about the experience there...Including being proposed to. Lamai Serengeti will always hold a special place in my heart and my mind and hopefully we can go back for an anniversary sometime in the future.

Oh and don't forget to have your wake up call include the delivery of coffee in your "magic box." My favorite sound at 5:45 AM - hello??? and the sound of the doors opening on the dumbwaiter/pass through where coffee, tea, and biscuits greet you as you start your morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lamai was the second stop on our family safari. As a group of ten, we represented roughly half of Lamai's guests from night to night. Lamai offers a superb vantage point on a distinctive hill overlooking the Serengeti and some more permanent infrastructure including a bar with a choice of well chilled beer, pool etc. than other places we stayed on our trip.

The individual rooms, accommodation are spacious and of the highest standard, but also well spread out, and without a walkie talkie system you rely on scheduled escorts after dark. The showers relied on solar on a pre-timed charcoal warm-up.

There is significant wildlife throughout the unfenced camp, with mongoose and hyrax on sunny rocks during the day and you also wake to find lion prints, buffalo hooves etc.from the overnight circulation - a great thrill for the kids.

Hosts Mark and Rebecca provided a warm welcome, and guides Kakai and Paulo excelled in what can only be characterised as "event" safari - leopards mating, a live hyena kill, leopard cubs, three spectacular wildebeest river crossings, lions up close and much else besides. And most of it very close to the camp. We had an absolutely thrilling stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lamai Serengeti, arriving from Nduara Loliondo (another Nomad-Tanzania's camp).
The lodge has a spectacular location with magnificent views and our room was excellent. Nicely decorated and with a fantastic balcony. The absence of wall/window in the front faced side (just a net) is somehow puzzling (scary?) at first sight, but it effectively is enough and has the benefit of improving your safari experience (for example, sometimes you can hear the animals at night).
Our guide, Sylvanus, has done a great job and we've had the opportunity to see all the big 5 (in truth, the big 10...) and several wildebeast crossings (quite an experience!).
Food was very good but the quality of the service at the restaurant should be reviewed.
All-In: A place we definitively would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My Dad & I are just back from a wonderful three days staying at Lamai.

On arrival we were met at the airstrip by the Lamai team and driven out to the Lamai lodgings, all transfers were smooth and on time, staff were welcoming and informative so we felt well looked after at all times.
When taken to our room we were blown away by the beauty of the setting, the view from our balcony and the beautiful style of our room de-core. It really is luxury in the most incredible setting!
Our safari began the next day, we had Ian as our guide, I can not say enough good things about Ian. He managed to deliver on everything we wanted to see in our short time here, including Wilderbeast river crossings, leopard, lions, Rhino, elephant and water buffalo. Ian had excellent knowledge and we felt safe at all times with him. Each day here was such an adventure and we loved it!

At night Dad & I chose to sit at the communal dinning table, I feel you get so much out of sharing stories with your fellow safari guests and we laughed the night away each evening with a selection of wonderful food and drinks. You can dine more privately but even the honeymooners couldn't resist the fun of dinning together and there was lost of fun to be had.

This truly a fantastic place, and one I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which has an amazing view, we often woke up to elephants and Wilderbeast just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamai Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Serengeti

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Specialty lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to visit only one place in the Serengeti, it should be here. This is no idle boast; the iconic Kogakuria kopje in northern Serengeti. A few years ago the Tanzanian government chose a handful of responsible companies to build small permanent lodges in this remote sector of the Serengeti. Nomad Tanzania was offered the prime site and Lamai Serengeti now sits tucked amongst the rocks of Kogakuria Kopje with panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. Beautifully designed open-fronted rooms, a spacious lounge and clear pool provide an ideal place to escape to for some relaxation in between your wildlife adventures, for both families, groups and couples.The area boasts year-round fantastic game viewing, including the Big 5, and between July and November, the wildebeest migration moves through, crossing the Mara River in dramatic fashion just 20mins from the lodge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamai Serengeti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lamai Serengeti to your Saves list