We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, hot water, beautiful scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kati Kati Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kati Kati Camp
Save
You added Kati Kati Camp to your Saves list
Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“comfortable, hot water, beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The place is quiet and beautiful. We were able to get a bottle of wine and enjoy it on our "porch." The food was fantastic and staff was very helpful. We had hot water for all of our showers and no issues with the toilet at all. My only complaint is that it is a bit far from the main area of Serengeti and it took about 45 minutes to get back to the camp every night. However nothing beats sitting outside at sunrise with elephants, giraffes, and zebras in the distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    77
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
161
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are a number of Kati Kati camps, we stayed at No1 which is right in the Serengeti central area, we saw cheetahs 5 minutes from the camp.
Tents are comfortable, bucket showers but they are very quick at bringing more water.
Good food and helpful, friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would recommend anyone going for Safari in Africa to stay a night or two in a tented camp. The special atmosphere of living in a tent (where you smell and hear the nature around you) is spiced by the exciting sounds of cikadas and lions roaring in the night!

We had a comfortable stay at Kati Kati, situated a little off in the park, with a small track leading around to the back of a couple of hills. The view towards the south-west and a water hole is perfect. You can sit outside the tent and see Zebras, Gnus and Elephants going down to dring in the morning/evening just across the field in front of you (no fence!)

When walking the path to our tent after dinner, a Hyena looked curiously at us from just a couple of yards off!

Good but rustic food. Nice service minded staff and comfortable beds and equipment in the tent (standard porcelain water toilet!) But it IS a tent, so you shouldn't expect 5-star luxury hotel standard!

Room Tip: Stay close to the centre restaurant tent for comfort/safety - or furthest away to get the wildlife e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the best located hotel/camps I have ever seen, we managed to time our arrival in the middle of the migration. The lodge is perched on top of a hill side so we could see 'rivers of animals' as the approx. 2 million wilderbeest and zebra moved past the lodge as we enjoyed happy hour drinks at the bar next to the pool. A fantastic lodge, great service and perfect location to roam amungst the varying animals of the Serengeti.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After a brief 'info session' by the manager upon arrival, we learned how/when to request water for our shower.--you won't run out of water when showering if you lather quickly, turn off the water to 'bathe', then turn the water back on to rinse. We also learned how to signal for an escort (with a lantern - Paul Revere style!) when exiting the tent at night to walk to the dining room. The food, wine and beer was excellent. How can you go wrong at the end of a long dusty day safariing by imbibing in an ice cold Serengeti beer while sitting in the Serengeti?! It doesn't get much better. The tented rooms were roomy; it just req'd a bit of adjustment for us after staying in some lodges previous to our stay at Kati Kati. Staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On my last safari, we stayed in the northern Serengeti and timed the migration crossing the Mara River perfectly. This time I wanted a different part of the Serengeti hoping that we could catch the migration later on in the Massai Mara which we did.
My tour operator selected Kati Kati where we spent 3 nights. I am glad she did. It is located in the central/southern Serengeti, literally in the middle of nowhere. You see signs for other camps but they are many kilometers away. The topography is different from the north which added variety. At first glance, Kati Kati appears as a simple camp, but it is fantastic. I think there 10 tents and accommodate 20 or so people. The camp is never crowded even when full. There is the dining tent and the usual campfire about 50 yards away.
The tents are spacious. Hot water is available practically on demand. The tents have indoor shower and toilet. I think of the 4 camps we stayed at, Kati Kati had the best overall food (and they all had great food) and there was lots of it. Every dinner included a soup, 3 vegetables, and the meat dish. It was closer to home cooking not a restaurant. The staff was very attentive. The camp sells beer and wine (not sure about drinks) and are reasonably priced.
The location is excellent. As soon as you leave the park you start running into wildlife. The large wildebeest and zebra herds were gone, but quite a few remained behind as resident or late travelers. Wildlife was very plentiful. Everywhere we went we saw thousands of Thompson gazelles, and just about everything else. Also saw the big 5 here. I think this area tied with the Massai Mara for the number of lions we saw (at least 30), 3 leopards (including one that walked right past the truck), 3 cheetah, and lots of jackals. Also got to see a perfectly orchestrated ambush of a zebra by a pride of lions. I don’t know how they do it, but I really think they talk to each other. Every night, hyenas visited the camp. We could hear them but not see them.
Overall, this was another fantastic camp on an incredible safari. I would love to return.

Room Tip: They are all good. Obviously the ones closer to the dining tent have a shorter walk. You are always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying at Kati Kati Camp as i have not camped for many years. If all camping was like this experience I would do it often! This is a classic mobile style tented camp with 20 tented rooms that are simple yet very very very comfortable. The ensuite toilet and shower are all enclosed within your tent, and even though the word "bucket shower" had made me nervous there was no need. The wonderful staff were there to fill my outside bucket as soon as i requested it and there was plenty of warm water and pressure for a satisfying shower. The meals were delicious and plentiful, served in the central mess tent, and the lunch boxes we were given each day to eat whilst on a safari were excellent. Breakfasting with zebras as your backdrop is unbeatable. And the Serengeti with its wonderful array of game animals is too close to be true.

Room Tip: With only 20 "rooms" you cannot go wrong. Just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kati Kati Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Camp

Address: Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serengeti National ParkPermanent tents. Enjoy a mobile camp set-up in the center of Serengeti all year around. The camp provides comfortable accommodation offering guest the unique opportunity to have a safari camp experience. The cozy mess tent, where all meals are served, is set-up in the center of the camp. A camp fire is lit every evening around which guests can enjoy pre-dinner appetizers and drinks.10 tents with en suite facilities.Nearest airstrip: Seronera Airstrip 40 minutes away.Activities: Game viewing and balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kati Kati Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.