We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in the middle of "nowhere"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kati Kati Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kati Kati Camp
Save
You added Kati Kati Camp to your Saves list
Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a gem in the middle of "nowhere"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying at Kati Kati Camp as i have not camped for many years. If all camping was like this experience I would do it often! This is a classic mobile style tented camp with 20 tented rooms that are simple yet very very very comfortable. The ensuite toilet and shower are all enclosed within your tent, and even though the word "bucket shower" had made me nervous there was no need. The wonderful staff were there to fill my outside bucket as soon as i requested it and there was plenty of warm water and pressure for a satisfying shower. The meals were delicious and plentiful, served in the central mess tent, and the lunch boxes we were given each day to eat whilst on a safari were excellent. Breakfasting with zebras as your backdrop is unbeatable. And the Serengeti with its wonderful array of game animals is too close to be true.

Room Tip: With only 20 "rooms" you cannot go wrong. Just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    76
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
159
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I felt a bit disappointed upon arrival; I'd never call this a luxury tented camp. On the other hand, it IS smack in the middle of the national park, so maybe luxury would have felt inappropriate. If simple, the tent and beds were comfortable, and the food turned out to be very good. On our first night, a pride of lionesses and their cubs walked through shortly after dinnertime, roaring. That was pretty amazing. One of the other things we liked best was the pre-dinner campfires. It provided a welcome opportunity to interact with some of the other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Okay....first, these are tents in the middle of the Serengetti....so you will hear and see wild animals (including mice and bugs - but we didn't have any in our tent). You could hear zebras, hyenas & other wildlife at night. The tents were large & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was in the tent, but separated by a zippered canvas/plastic wall (obviously not as private as a wood wall.....but it is a tent!). There is a roaring fire available for pre-dinner drinks & chatting with other travelers. The food was surprisingly good, especially dinner. You eat with your guide, which for us was great. At night, the tent staff walk you to & from dinner (if it is dark) - which is nice. The sunrises, sunsets & stars are all fabulous! The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's a very bumpy road to get there, and you have to wait for the zebras and girafs to move out of the way - but it's such a cool place when you arrive. Right in the middle of Serengeti and you really feel like you're on safari.
Friendly staff and great but rustic food. Totally recommend it and would love to go back!
Travelled with our children, 11 and 13 years and stayed in Kati Kati for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Into the Wild, that is what Kati Kati Camp is about!
It is a real adventure in the bush but with all the comforts of home for you to have an incredible time.

We stayed at the Kati Kati Camp Extra 1, as there are many different seasonal locations for the Kati Kati Camps of Serengeti.

The set up of the camp is simple, but yet very nice.
The common tent where you have dinner and breakfast is very charming and lit with candles at night.

When the sun is gone, they start a camp fire which they call 'Bush TV' and where you can sit around and have an ice cold beer and salted nuts on a table.

The food is tasty and the tables are nicely set.

The tents are spacious and super clean. There's even everything you need to do some light laundry by hand.

The staff is very friendly and make you feel safe at night...especially because there's a chance wild animals can crisscross through the camp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the best experiences of my life. There are only 10 tents so no more than 20 persons there at a time. the definition of peace and quiet except for the animals at night. We heard lions roaring at night and had zebra walking through our camp. Hyena were literally out side our door. Elephants and giraffe at the edge of the grounds, just feet away. This really is the bush. Campfire at night to share the day's sightings with people from all around the world. Food was excellent. Extremely clean and a warm shower. Because of the wildlife, guides must take you to and from your tent at night but they are readily accessible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place is so surrounded by wilderness that the staff has to put away the folding chairs (made of wood and hide) at night because the hyenas will come eat them. For showers, one only needs to ask and 5 minutes later, the staff will fill the reservoir at the back of your tent with hot water. In the mornings, we had hot water waiting for us in a canvas basin outside our tent. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys working at Kati Kati. We also watched "bush tv" (the campfire) and had a splendid time. Their boxed lunch was one of the best of the entire safari.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent #2, which was just close enough to the main tent, but not too close (would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kati Kati Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Camp

Address: Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serengeti National ParkPermanent tents. Enjoy a mobile camp set-up in the center of Serengeti all year around. The camp provides comfortable accommodation offering guest the unique opportunity to have a safari camp experience. The cozy mess tent, where all meals are served, is set-up in the center of the camp. A camp fire is lit every evening around which guests can enjoy pre-dinner appetizers and drinks.10 tents with en suite facilities.Nearest airstrip: Seronera Airstrip 40 minutes away.Activities: Game viewing and balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kati Kati Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.