We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Camping Should Be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kati Kati Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kati Kati Camp
Save
You added Kati Kati Camp to your Saves list
Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What Camping Should Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place is so surrounded by wilderness that the staff has to put away the folding chairs (made of wood and hide) at night because the hyenas will come eat them. For showers, one only needs to ask and 5 minutes later, the staff will fill the reservoir at the back of your tent with hot water. In the mornings, we had hot water waiting for us in a canvas basin outside our tent. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys working at Kati Kati. We also watched "bush tv" (the campfire) and had a splendid time. Their boxed lunch was one of the best of the entire safari.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent #2, which was just close enough to the main tent, but not too close (would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    76
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
159
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent two nights at Kati Kati - it was a truly amazing experience. The camp is located in the middle of the Serengeti and moves every 3-4 months. The tents are huge with beds, table, rack for hanging clothes, sink and separate toilet/shower. As the title for this review suggests - it is right in the heart of the Serengeti so you will hear all the animals at night - very near the camp! Luckily the staff escort you back to your tents in the evening as you can't wander around the camp on your own after dark...!
The service was exceptional - the staff go out of their way to help you - lighting a bonfire in the evening, providing the buckets of hot water on request so you can shower. The 3 course meals in the evening were delicious - and plentiful! Cold beer for 2 USD, free popcorn by the bonfire in the evenings - you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This tented camp is an exciting place because it's in the middle of Serengetti ! There isn't any kind of fence between your room and the animals!
Be prepared for an amazing night! You are going to listen all the savanna's noises like roaring lions, mooing of zebras, ienas walking around the tents!
We had a fabulous dinner! Breakfast is also good. Very friendly staff. Clean room. You must have a quick shower but the water is hot.
I recommend you to charge your cameras batteries so you get to the hotel because the light power is turned off during the night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in the Kati Kati tented camp for 2 nights on our 4 day safari. As we were there in the wet season we had the whole camp to ourselves. Upon arrival we were overwhlemed by the serenity of the place. The hosts showed us to our extremely neat and clean tent. The bed was comfy and warm, the toilet was a proper toilet and the shower was hot (although you need to arrange a time each night for them to bring the hot water).
The food was amazing morning and night. A private chef, the sun setting and no one else around was quite the experience.
You could hear the Hyenas at night and we woke to some giraffes grazing around the tents.

We did our tour with Amani Afrika tours out of Arusha. They were so lovely to deal with. They were very up front with quotes and responded to every email and question I had. We changed our dates and plans a couple of times and they were very accommodating. Our guide was friendly and definitely not annoying. I also enjoyed that he was also still interested in finding all the animals even though he's been doing it for 10 years. I couldn't recommend them more highly.

The wet season did not seem to be a problem. The park was a lot quieter apparently and the mud made for some fun four-wheel driving. We saw all the big 5 and only missed out on Cheetahs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Kati Kati camp last October. I'll be totally honest by saying it wasn't our first choice, we were looking at other lodges closer to a river or on the migration path. But those lodge or camp were very expensive and we couldn't afford it. Another option was a bigger hotel or a resort... but our previous experiences told us not to. It like a cruise ship in the middle of the savanna with the disco club, the pool, etc.

After some research and reading, we were ready for something less fancy, more adventure... it's the Serengeti afterall! Now less fancy doesn't mean less friendly... oh no! Cause they staff was helpful, kind and respectful... you would believe you were in a 4+ stars hotel. And by adventure, I don't mean dangerous or difficult, cause it felt like camping with someone giving you an hand all the time.

The tents were very well made and very clean... in three parts, 2/3 of it was the room. A bed... comfy for camping standard, two little tables beside the bed and a bigger one with a mirror on it. There was also a rack for hanging our stuff.

In one corner, close with fabric, there was the toilet (1/6). A normal toilet that you can flush just like at home... it's a little slow that's all. In the corner beside it (1/6), the shower :)

Some people might complain about it and I won't hide, my wife and I were wishing for more one cold evening. But in all camping standard, the shower is more than adequate. In fact, I'm keeping a very good souvenir of it and my wife and I talk and laugh about it today. Here how it works... you have to let the staff know you want to take a shower, wait ten minutes for the central water heater to produce enough hot water. It's better if you wait in your tent. Someone will come outside your tent and tell you he'll fill a container (bucket) over your shower. If you're not already undress, you losing precious heat :) Once inside your shower, a close corner (with fabric)... you can start opening the valve for the hot water to fall freely on your head... you have about 8 to 10 minutes before the container is empty.

But didn't I tell you the staff was incredible.... they are, cause they'll wait outside in the middle of darkness or pouring rain for you to finish your shower. So when they can't hear the water coming down, they'll ask you if you want more water... if you do, well the next minute it's on your head again!!!

Overall, the tents are comfy and clean, it could be cold... but again, they'll have a solution for you. The food was delicious... there is something special with their soups... we had a second every time!!! There are no worries at this camp... you'll be escorted all the time, you'll be pampered by a very friendly staff and I convince you'll enjoy every minute... for the money, it's a very good deal!

Bring a flash light and bring ears plugs if you are bothered easily by noise... we had lions, zebra, hyenas, lurking around the camp all nights. You might say we are crazy, maybe we are, because we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I really recommend the Kati Kati Camp, in Serengeti.

The welcoming session with drinks is nice and not too long (which can be the case in other camps...they try too hard).

The tents are great : simple and efficient, yet with style and nice harmony of colors.They insist in preserving the water resources, which is key to me in such a location. The bed in comfortable and the tent equipped with everything.

Drinks around the fire are a must that enable to meet with great people on safari, then the dinner tent is really charming. Overall dinner correct, simple, but good given the remote location.

At night, hearing hyenas in the dark, sometimes lions, is really impressive. You feel very close to nature in this camp.

Room Tip: Tent close to the dinner tent if you are afraid of hyenas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night, but I would recommend to stay two nights while visiting the Serengeti.
I usually don' t do tented camps but I chose to do it for the safari experience. I will not regret it!!! I actually highly recommend this experience!
When we arrived the staff was there ready to explain everything about the tented camps and give instructions ( about the rooms, facilities, how to take shower etc).
They were honest and told us since the beginning that they have problems with mouses and asked us to put all our food inside the car, or else mouses come inside because are very good at smelling food ( even if you have something inside your luggage). In our case we had plenty of food because coming from Europe I broguth lots of things to my sister who is currently living in Congo! We were scared that despite carefully placing all the food in the car, mouses could still come.
But nothing happened, so you better follow the advice because you can see mouses around the camp and the tented rooms looking for food!
The staff was very nice, they set a fire during the evening time ( 7 pm) where you can seat and drink while they give you popcorns as a snack. After that you can eat and the food is very good.
Once you finished eating and are about to come back to the tent, please do look at the sky because you will see ( if there are no clouds) an amazing sky! I was impressed to see so many stars and even to see the milky way so clearly! The tented camp is already worthy for the sky experience! You have to be excorted by a guide to go in the room and whenever you want to leave the room ( evening time).
About the tented room: everything is well mantained. You have mosquito nets all over the tent and an additional layer to close for the night. Outsde the tent they light up a lantern. You cannot leave anything outside the tent ( shoes, clothes etc) and you cannot leave the tent during the night. You have a whistle that you can use in case you think something is inside the tent ( NOT OUTSIDE THE TENT) and the staff will come help you out, but we did not use it.
The sheets are clean, towels as well and it's quite big. You have a WC and a shower. If you want to take showe you need to tell the staff so that they can come fill the water with hot water. You can only take shower before 7 pm and in the morning after six am, when there is day light, as for the guys who come fill the water may be dangerous to stay outside in the dark.
During the night you always hear hyenas coming to check and steal the hotel leftovers. You do also hear lions and birds or bugs.
Unfortunatly it got very windy so it was hard to fall asleep because the tent was moving all the time, but this was an exceptional case. When you wake up in the morning and go out, you usually find animals close to the camp. When we woke up we found an elephant walking nearby and eating from acacia trees.
Everything is amazing in this camp, the staff ( they aren't too many, probably around 10 or 15) are very nice, helpful and ready to explain you how the camp works. I would have stayed another night to enjoy this incredible and unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kati Kati Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Camp

Address: Makoma, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serengeti National ParkPermanent tents. Enjoy a mobile camp set-up in the center of Serengeti all year around. The camp provides comfortable accommodation offering guest the unique opportunity to have a safari camp experience. The cozy mess tent, where all meals are served, is set-up in the center of the camp. A camp fire is lit every evening around which guests can enjoy pre-dinner appetizers and drinks.10 tents with en suite facilities.Nearest airstrip: Seronera Airstrip 40 minutes away.Activities: Game viewing and balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kati Kati Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.