We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This beautiful camp is a dream come true, my favorite place I've ever stayed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serengeti Bushtops Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Save
You added Serengeti Bushtops Camp to your Saves list
Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free night offer
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This beautiful camp is a dream come true, my favorite place I've ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed at Serengeti Bushtops for two fabulous nights in November and was quite frankly blown away. The lodge is stunning and took my breath away as I arrived. The attention to detail with the design is truly amazing. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, I felt right at home! My "tent" was amazing and I could have very easily adopted this as my new home if they would have let me! I cannot say enough about Serengeti Bushtops, it really was an unforgettable experience. The food was delicious and the deserts made by the resident pastry chef were a delight. I cannot wait to go back, next time I will surely stay longer! I would ABSOLUTLEY reccomend this to anyone wanting to visit the Serengeti. Serengeti Bushtops is really a dream come true!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

What a tent -- ultra luxury , but extremely private and wonderful
Service -- never experienced anything better
Food -- exceptional
Game Dives -- fantastics ... enjoy the african sundowners, breakfast and lunch in the bush

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Serengeti Bushtops is set in a truly magnificent location with views to the south and west for awesome sunsets. We went with three teenage children and a 70 year old Grandma and had the trip of a lifetime. The menu and service were exceptional and appealed to all ages. As for the tents; I spent the whole time working out how I could get one in the garden at home. Deus, our Ranger, took the game drives nice and steady so that we had few bumps and plenty of time for pictures. The Children learnt Swahili and how to shoot a Masai bow and arrow (without the poisoned tip)!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The new Serengeti Bushtops is the fabulous new "sister" camp to the Mara Bushtops, already my favourite camp in the Mara. This camp "borrowed" all the Mara Bushtops' great ideas and reinterpreted them in it's own unique style.

Located in the northern part of the Serengeti in a region that's virtually untouched. The tents are positively huge and each boasts a great view on this part of the park, far off the beaten path! They are light and airy and can be opened almost completely, bringing you as close to nature as you could wish. A great sunken lounge area on the deck invites you to lie back in the comfy cushions, Amarula in hand, and watch the sunset. The view is fabulous and nothing blocks your view. While we were there, the wildebeest migration was in full swing and small groups were even grazing amongst the tents.

The tent's deck is so big that a dining table and a big hot tub (placed either side of the lounge area) don't crowd the space. And the hot tub could probably serve as a cool plunge pool during the hot season...

The "Mess" tent offers fine dining and wining (yes, there is a small wine cellar too...) and there is a fireplace area next to the bar / library in case the evening gets chilly. The "Rangers" bar, to which we were invited for a drink before dinner, turned out to be the camp fire around which we sat with the rangers and guides to sip G&T's and exchange tall stories! Great fun!

Our early morning game drive was especially informative as our spotter Charles, who used to be a hunter, brought a new understanding of the local fauna that even we, as seasoned safari guests had never quite had yet. Our bush breakfast was actually a small buffet set up in the middle of the local rock formations called kopjes - all under the watchful eyes of an oribi buck! We had a great open sided 4X4 vehicle for our game drives. Lap robes and a hot water bottle kept the chill away in the early morning. Not even the occasional light drizzle could lessen our enthusiasm for the fantastic surroundings and the plentiful fauna.

The camp manager, Pantaleo, and his crew went out of their way to make our stay a really memorable one. We even had our private butler to take care of our every wish. It was not easy having to leave after a short stay. We will definitely be back for more of the exceptional hospitality in the bush!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at Serengeti Bushtops for three nights during our honeymoon in early to mid October 2010. What an amazing experience!

The accomodations were luxurious! The tents are absolutely beautiful. The beds are very comfortable with soft sheets and great turndown service. The restaurant food and service were awesome - much like any Michelin rated restaurant here in San Francisco.

The safari was spectacular! Our guides were extremely enthusiastic - they seemed genuinely as excited about the animal sightings as we were. Also, they were very knowledgeable, teaching us a lot about the animals and their behavior. So many animals! Highlights included the black rhinos and a cheetah. We also saw lion cubs, and of course many elephants, dozens of giraffes, hundreds of zebras, and thousands of wildebeest. Wow!

We would highly, highly recommend Serengeti Bushtops - it will exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This luxury camp was opened in June 2010 and is sister to the famous Mara Bustops camp in Siana, Kenya.It is situate in the north western area of the Serengeti National Park, Tanzania.We spent 3 nights at Mara and 3 nights at Serengeti. The Serengeti tents are huge and well spaced for privacy. They are very well equiped with large comfy beds, bathroom, shower, casual table and chairs, an outer deck area with dinning table and chairs, lounger seating and hot tub. The central restaurant tent, again huge, has superb dinning, lounge areas and bar. Service at your tent and in the restaurant is professional and friendly. During hours of darkness our tent became surrounded by grazing wildebeast and zebra.The game drives and rangers are excelent and at this time of year we witnessed huge herds of widebeast crossing the near-by swollen Mara river. Some heavy rainfall was experienced for a short period during late afternoons. The animals you would expect and hope to see, including leopard, were found in the bush and copjes in this area of Serengeti.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a very special camp, fully deserving its great reviews. The location is great, the accommodation amazing, the staff charming, the food fabulous. In short everything is in place, plus more, to make ones stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serengeti Bushtops Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Bushtops Camp

Address: Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tanzanian haven for serious safari seekers, Serengeti Bushtops is an oasis of 5-star luxury within one of the world's most magical settings. Picture yourself gazing out over the stunning scenery of the Serengeti. Imagine returning from safari and watching the sun set from the comfort of your tent's private hot tub. Consider the thrill of watching the annual migration thunder across the mighty Mara river. Or simply revel in the thought of being pampered by your butler and our friendly staff, before enjoying our fabulous cooking and fine wines in the comfort of our restaurant and shared spaces. This combination of safari adventure, first class facilities and blissful relaxation has delivered Serengeti Bushtops' unwavering promise of Wild Luxury ever since we opened in June 2010. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Bushtops Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serengeti Bushtops Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.