We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngome for the next Serengeti safari!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngome Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngome Camp
Save
You added Ngome Camp to your Saves list
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ngome for the next Serengeti safari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently stayed at Ngrome safari camp for 2 nights during a safari and could not have more positive things to say about the stay! Jasper and Rose were the most accommodating hosts-so pleasant and engaged with us. The food there was incredible-the perfect way to end a long day in the Serengeti. Everything is homemade and sooo delicious! The provide full breakfast, a packed lunch for the road during the day and a wonderful dinner. Cold beer for the sunsets and hot coffee for the sunrises! We stayed in a tent with three twin beds and a bathroom with hot water. You could hear the hyenas and the zebras at night. Everything about our time there was wonderful and we could not say enough good things about it. A definite return place for next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything about this camp is perfect! Jasper, the owner is native Tanzanian and he and his staff could not be more accommodating. He built his camp in 3 short years and did not disturb one tree or rock. I cannot say enough good things about my Ngome Camp experience. Cold drinks, good wine, excellent service, great food....probably the best, always fresh and prepared to perfection. This camp is so peaceful and the most comfortable, relaxing place i have ever stayed on some 8 trips to Tanzania. Ever been on a night drive? You can do that at Ngome! Fresh roasted cashews with before dinner cocktails. Loved visiting with Jasper, Maria and all the staff...such personable people. I most definitely recommend this camp and i will most definitely spend more time there when I return. You will experience box lunches on your safari but I can assure you that the best box lunches come from Ngome Camp.

Room Tip: I love the permanent camping experience, nightly camp fires, perfect atmosphere. Tents are all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh-Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We loved our stay with Jasper & co. at the Ngome Camp near Serengeti Park. Beautiful tent accommodations and excellent food and drinks in the dining tent. Meals were very fresh, and their box lunches were inspired - easily the best food we had on our trip. We would definitely stay here again if/when we ever get back to Tanzania. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Best food I've had in the 4 cumulative weeks I've spent in the Serengeti ecosystem. Jasper and crew made us feel like family. Fresh hot popcorn as a pre dinner appetizer was a great personal touch...perfect with a Safari baridi or gin and tonic. The cook there, Rebecca, is truly talented in her craft. There we had really great meals, rivaling 5 star accomodations. The tents were simple, tasteful and clean. The camp faces the rising sun; we were greeted with amazing sunrises every day. There is an Ikoma cultural site on the property that is quite interesting...ask Jasper for a tour.
I was so impressed with my stay there (I was in the Serengeti for business) that I ended up booking a week long safari with Ngome's sister company, Swala Safaris. All in all, a great value for the price....highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a small tented camp which is situated at the other side of the Serengeti (if you come from the crater). So, it's a bit of a long drive but it's situated only 5 minutes from the entrance and you just have an extra scenery to pass by. The tents are of good quality and the bathroom is not 100 % closed for small animals (but ok). But as compensation you get mosquito nets. Good food in the central tent. We were 10, had 4 tents and were the only one at the place which makes it very personal. Good and friendly staff. Your tents are guarded by Masai. We did not spend a lot of time around the camp place as we arrived late every night we spent there (2 nights).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Truly beautiful location, travelled with husband and two sons and this was definately our favourite accommodation of the whole trip. Very friendly staff who took us on a wonderful night drive where we saw bush baby, chameleon, nightjar and genet. Food was of a very high quality and packed lunches the same. Tents were beautiful with the most amazing bathroom in one. Hot water never a problem. Could not have been better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngome Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngome Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngome Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.