We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp to your Saves list
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our family of 5 (3 adult children included) LOVED this camp. It had everything and more than we could have expected. The setting was magical, out in the Serengeti. Our tent was spacious, lovely and luxurious. The food was delicious. Special moments were meeting the chef, sitting by a campfire, being served coffee and juice in bed, meeting other wonderful people and the kindness of the staff. Our eldest son was to have a birthday in a few days. After mentioning it to one of the staff, the chef privately came and asked what I'd like him to prepare. Of course, I had nothing specific, just hoped we could acknowledge my soon-to-be 27 year old son. That night, we had a wonderful lamb dinner. As a surprise, the chef had baked a beautiful birthday cake, topped with decorations and candles. The entire staff (about 12 or more) danced and sang all around the table for 10 minutes. My son was so touched he came close to tears. Our last morning, as we sat in bed sipping our coffee, a giraffe and 3 wildebeests came cruising by. What a complete treat. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Am delighted that we were able to surprise you with a birthday cake and your son clearly was overwhelmed and that makes it all the more delightful that we were able to do it. I hope the rest of your stay was lovely and that we might see you again in this part of the world.

Have a wonderful day

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

In combination, Grumeti Expeditions and the Lemala tent camps are an unbeatable way to experience the best of Tanzania.

Our family of four stayed at the Lemala Explorer, Ndutu, Ewanjan and Manyara camps, each offering something a little different and special in its own way and all exceptional in the warm connectivity of the staff and what seemed to be the effortless grace of their hospitality. We felt welcome and pampered in what was a rugged, uncompromisingly natural setting. Without exception our hosts wanted us to feel the magic of their country - and so, of course, we did just that.

Wolfugan, our driver guide with Grumeti Expeditons is in a class by himself. He was charming and funny, extremely knowlegable with a great repertoire of local lore and amusing animal tales. Honestly, if I were planning a trip to Tanzania I'd build it around Wolfugan's availability.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were uniformly furnished with Lemala's signature rustic elegance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for truly a wonderful review and I was proud to share with the team at the camps. Its always such a delight to read and share so I do thank you for taking the time and am so pleased you had a wonderful time and that our guide, Wolfgang looked after you.
If ever you come this way again - please let us know. Have a great day ahead !

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our safari. We were the only guests at the camp during our stay so it was nice and quiet. The staff was great and we enjoyed talking with the manager Simon about the camp, wildlife and Tanzania in general. Walter also took great care of us and orchestrated our bucket showers. We really enjoyed the camping experience and even heard a zebra drinking water outside of our tent (after our showers).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ewanjan. I did like that the Zebras joined you in camp so that you would not be all alone. Glad you have a lovely time and were well looked after and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks so much

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wooden floors, private bathroom and shower, spacious accommodations, laundry service, and wine included in the cost are my way of "camping"! Excellent service, delicious food, and an assigned attendant make for a comfortable and memorable experience. A wake up call includes coffee and biscuit brought to your tent. The service was beyond attentive. Appetizers are offered before dinner and is a nice way to relax at the fire with a glass of wine with other guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jeana
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed our stay so much and that our tent delivery of tea and coffee was so appreciated.

I do hope we will see you again

Warm regards

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This tented lodge surpassed my expectations. Since the arrival to the main tent with an open bar, the dining room and the living room, we were delighted with the reception and the elegant furniture. The room was comfortable and the furniture was tasteful. We felt that we were in a dream safari, with all the luxury and the adventure one is looking forward in a trip like this. The "talking shower", the Masai guards, the fire in the night, the giraffes walking by, the noise of lions while we were sleeping, everything made it special and unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lemala Ewanjan. Reading it put me right there with the only difference when I was there it wasn't the giraffe walking by but the wildebeest but the talking showers and the bush tv is fabulous and such great fun. I hope the rest of your trip was fantastic and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed one night at Lemala Ewanjan and I could have stayed a week! It was the last tented camp on our 8 day safari and my favorite. The tents are large, comfortable and well appointed, and the view of the Serengeti from them is amazing. The campfire before dinner allows you an opportunity to meet the other guests staying there and dining around one large table 'family style' truly adds to the pleasant ambience. Met some like minded and interesting guests and enjoyed an excellent meal with multiple courses. The 'chef' visited at the end of the meal.

The staff were all very helpful and walking back to the tent (we were one of the furthest away from the dining room) was magical with the stars shining brightly above us.

We were awakened in the morning with coffee and biscuits and I was saddened to leave this beautiful spot. Highly recommend it to those wanting a more rustic, authentic African experience.

Room Tip: Think all the tents have the same amenities, however, if travelling as a couple, ask for a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
So lovely to read your review and I hope you can let me share it on our Facebook page or if you have a moment please add your review there too. Next time you need to stay a week as it truly is a lovely location and delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. I will be sure to let the team in Lemala Ewanjan know of this review. Once again, thank you for taking the time.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As we drove up to this tented camp, I thought OMG this is rustic. It turned out to be the best 2 days of our two weeks. The staff couldn't do enough for you. At dusk, the campfire was ready, free drinks and hor duerves, and friendly guests mingling and meeting. Then dinner which was always exceptional. Even a "talk" shower with hot water poured into your personal shower upon appointment.When we returned from our days in the bush, we were met with a smile, a hot towel and interested questions. Nights looking out from our comfortable beds in a large open tent, seeing enormous starts and beautiful fields was one of the most outstanding stops in our 2 weeks in Taqnzania.
Norma
Centerport, N .Y.
Jan.2014

Room Tip: close to dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lemala Ewanjan. It is designed to look like it was put there just for you so am delighted that your original rustic impression was put to rest.

We have a great team there and I love the talking showers and the fire tv is lots of fun.

Should you ever visit again, I hope you will stay with us once more.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA EWANJAN is a deluxe camp with 12 beautiful suite tents set within the game-rich Seronera Valley in a secluded part of Central Serengeti. The camp offers breathtaking views of the Serengeti plains and its prolific wildlife and sunsets. The Seronera valley is renowned for its year round game viewing due to its abundance of water, as well as its large population of resident cats. Between April and June and November through January the area receives the wildebeest migration, turning the area into an exciting wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.