We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemala Ewanjan July 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp to your Saves list
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
gainesville FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lemala Ewanjan July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Lemala Ewanjan in July 2013. We enjoyed our clean and comfortable tent, with flush toilet. The hot water for shower was delivered on demand. The tent had no electrical outlets, so camera battery recharging is done at the main dining tent. Meals are eaten "family style" with the other guests, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Baldwii

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your stay at our camp (Lemala Ewanjan) in the Serengeti, Lemala Ewanjan. Because of its location, this camp affords guests easy access to all of the exciting and beautiful areas of the Western Corridor, Seronera Valley, Moru Kopjes, Gol Mountains and Masai Kopjes. Although just a stone's throw from Seronera and the Seronera airstrip, it has a secluded location. The camp faces west where the most magnificent view of the Serengeti plains can be enjoyed from all of the guest tents and main area. There are no roads that pass by the camp nor are there any roads visible from the camp to the west, so views are unspoilt and pristine.
I have passed your comments on to the staff at the camp which has made them all extremely happy that your stay with us had been memorable.

Happy journeys and best wishes from the Lemala Team

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed two nights at Lamala Ewajan Tent Camp on our recent safari and was impressed with the quality of both food and service provided. Our tent had all of the amenities that one would expect to see in a hotel room while still being close to nature. One afternoon we watched a pack of elephants only a few hundred yards behind our tent, but never felt in danger. Water was heated over a wood fire and poured into a small water tank at our tent allowing for a nice warm shower to wash off the African dust after a long day in the bush.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

All of the staff at Lemala Ewanjan were incredibly nice and helpful. They made us feel completely at home. The tents were ok -- it is a mobile camp, so not everything was perfect -- the tent flaps, for instance, had some holes in them, and our toilet was not installed quite right, so it kept leaking. The bucket showers are interesting -- you should not expect a long relaxing shower. Your porter will bring buckets of warm water, but each bucket only lasts for approximately 60-90 seconds of running water, so you should ask for 2, but even then, it's a very quick shower, and you should lather up between buckets. The food was surprisingly good throughout our stay. Everyone at the camp sits at a communal table, so you get to know the other guests, which can be good or annoying depending on who they are. Also, I think another guest found a bug in his food while we were there. My husband really enjoyed the stay, and I thought the staff were great, but overall, this was roughing it a bit more than I was really looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp and found it to be a truly unique wilderness experience. The staff are exceptional. They are personable, welcoming and attentive. The food as well was beautifully prepared and and delicious served camp style with visitors sitting around the table and sharing stories. For one of our meals, the young woman who was the chef joined us for dinner and we learned something of what it is like to prepare meals for so many with a necessarily spare kitchen. Before dinner is served, a bonfire is lit (African TV) and patrons gather together for appetizers (amazing pizza, meatballs, cashews, etc.) and drinks. All alcohol and other beverages are included, so there are no ad-ons at the end of your stay. The tents themselves are large and very comfortable. You order your shower and hot water is provided for you...a very nice touch! Because you are in the Serengeti, the sounds of lions, hyenas and creatures which I couldn't name, accompany your dreams...what could be better than that! While your safety and comfort are ensured, there is a real feeling of being very far away from everything that you are used to taking for granted and that is the joy of travel. Thank you to all at Lemala!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is amazing!! Its hard to imagine luxury settings in the middle of the plains. The tents were large and very comfortable. Hot showers on demand. The food is as good as any fine dining restaurant. All generated from solar power to boot!
But what really makes this place is the service. They greet you at your vehicle everytime with cool towels and cold drinks. Very refreshing. They attend to every possible need. There is also a place at the main lobby where you can charge all of your gadgets. Complimentary wine and beer is also available at any time. Sundowners before dinner was a nice way to meet the others staying at the compound. They escort you to and from dinner at night by flashlight.They wake you in the morning with coffee, tea or hot chocolate.
You hear the animals at night, which is amazing. During the day we were able to observe giraffes and elephants in close proximity to camp. A great experience. Sitting on the patio and looking out was straight from the movie "Out of Africa". Already thinking about the next safari & returning to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an amazing camp for those who want to have a real Africa experience being in a camp in the middle of nowhere, this tents are just amazing, so comfortable and well decorated. there is no chance for technology, you are just in contact with nature and during the night you have the chance to listen to zebras and some lion away, this is just perfect. Take into account that there are some flies so when you walk from the tent to the dinning room you will be waiving your hand to make them go away. Food is very very good and all the staff is so cool and amiable. Loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's amazing that they can provide luxury in the middle of the Serengeti, many miles from civilization. The service is extraordinary and very attentive, especially in the tent. They make sure you have enough hot water for your shower by standing outside and asking if you need more. One afternoon it rained buckets and our "butler" kept checking on us to see if we were okay. The tent roof did leak a little but it was not a problem since the floor was wood and the water drained through. They will bring coffee to your tent very early if requested, and cocktails too.

The food was very good. The first night the regional manager stayed at the camp and the dinner was excellent, as was breakfast the next morning. The second night's dinner was very good and breakfast was equally good. Our best meal was lunch after a morning safari when we sat on the porch overlooking the Serengeti, enjoying a gourmet meal with complimentary wine and beer. I think that was heavenly.

The most exciting part was hearing the lions roar at night. They literally sounded like they were behind our tent, which was a bit unnerving. We felt safe though because they provided a 2-way radio for emergencies. The lions were roaring more than usual because the rain washed their scent away.

This was a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA EWANJAN is a deluxe camp with 12 beautiful suite tents set within the game-rich Seronera Valley in a secluded part of Central Serengeti. The camp offers breathtaking views of the Serengeti plains and its prolific wildlife and sunsets. The Seronera valley is renowned for its year round game viewing due to its abundance of water, as well as its large population of resident cats. Between April and June and November through January the area receives the wildebeest migration, turning the area into an exciting wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.