We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place to stay... real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Save
You added Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd to your Saves list
Serengeti National Park 775, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“amazing place to stay... real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January and it was a wonderful experience. We were priviledged enough to stay in one of the suites. The decor was so African in every way, very natural and comfortable, considering there is just a zip net separating you and the Serengeti! The features are great, very classy, right from the door handles to the towel holder. The outdoor hot tub was a great addition especially catching the amazing views. I just wish we had stayed here longer, so we could have really enjoyed the evenings at the lodge, but instead we got back very tired from the amazing game drives. The balcony area is very nice especially with a telecope to see the animals in the distance (depending on the time of year, you may see animals grazing in the mornings as close as below the balcony so I've been told).

The restaurant serves lovely food and the chef is accomodating to your dietary needs (if mentioned in advance). Breakfast was delicious especially the pain au chocolat-like pastries which were freshly made. I really enjoyed us being accompanied from our suite to the restaurant by a Maasai with a spear at dinner after dark! My only suggestion would be the location of the swimming pool and the fact its not heated. The only time most guests would want a quick swim is in the evenings after game drives, by which time is does get a little chilly, and with the pool not being heated, its too cold for a swim. Also I think the pool should have been better located, right next to the bar, there is little privacy so a more secluded location would have been nice.

All in all, even though the location of Mbalageti is a fair distance away from the game, it is a really enjoyable place to stay!

Room Tip: The suites are lovely especially if you are staying as a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    46
    15
    4
    10
See reviews for
58
107
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Mbalageti for only one night but, it was so dreamy. The chalet we stayed in was lovely. It had a wonderful claw foot tub and a large shower. Such a nice soak after a long day. The food was delicious and looking out over the Serengeti at dinner was just beautiful. What a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

this is definitely 5 star. The chalets are big and stylish. Sheets are silky. There's a jacoozi in the bathroom. Food is great. Some of our friend had problems with insects and the staff quickly arranged them into the stone room. The pool side had a stunning view. The distance between main lodge and dining is a bit tiresome. But the armed guard with escort us after sunset. If you want to try camping in a luxury way, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our recent safari and we loved Mbalageti. It wasn't perfect (some of our group had problems with water pressure, insects, etc) but it came pretty near. We arrived very late after a long bumpy journey from the Ngorogoro Crater and woke up to find ourselves looking out from our chalet over a spectacular sunrise and amazing view. Whoever designed the chalets has a quirky imagination - even the shower looks like a Masai village coral! The public areas are very comfortable and spacious and we really enjoyed sitting by the pool in the afternoons/evening and drinking in the sun and scenery. The only drawback is that it is so out of the way, there is only one way to drive out on safari so unless you want really long days, it could be repetitive if you stayed longer than 3 nights. For us it was perfect as on the last morning we only had a short drive to the airstrip at Gremeti to catch our plane for Arusha.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The rooms are shockingly small. Two people with a suitcase each couldn't move around comfortably. Spring for the chalets... sumptuous! Distance between main lodge, pool and dining is a bit tiresome although that could be a plus given long hours in safari vehicles. Great property for runners who ache for a good stretch. Management amenable to work with complaints.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with the chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks on safari all over Tanzania and Kenya and state at some pretty nice places but this one was our favorite!

Excellent service and attention to detail, great food, unique surroundings and the view from the verandah on our chalet was simply incredible! We had 2 chalets; one for us and one for our children and each was a little different but both were very spacious and luxurious.

An elephant scratched its back on our deck one evening too!

Thank you to Marc the food and beverage manager who went out of his way to help us celebrate our 24th anniversary.

If you don't like camping but want to try it in a luxurious way, this place is definitely for you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had two great nights at the Mbalageti safari camp, and had a really exotic experience, as the animals came very close to our chalet. The rooms/ chalets are very nice and spacious, and the food at the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd

Address: Serengeti National Park 775, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, Relax and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.