We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the sea of grass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa
Save
You added Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Luxury in the sea of grass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not easy to pull off under-stated luxury in the middle of the wild, but Olakira does it. From the welcoming and attentive (but not pushy) service, to the incredible (but simple) food and setting (shared table), to the luxurious and comfortable "tents", Olakira puts you simultaneously at one with nature and equally as pampered.

Wake up to warm coffee and biscuits delivered to your "door" and hurry out on a drive to see the best of Tanzania's national parks. There are a lot of camps to choose from, but if I can, I'll be back to this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
115
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stunning location in the middle of the Serengeti and next to a river with plenty of hippos. Tents are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Staff is attentive and friendly. Guides are skilled and passionate about their job. You are provided with walkie talkie should you need to contact the staff once in your tent, which we found very useful. Would definitely return/recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a fabulous experience we travelled in July 2011

Not just the wildlife - we were so fortunate to witness an incredible 15-30,000 wildebeest gather on the river bank and start to cross the Mara on our last morning but also the fabulous staff, ambience, service and great food and friendship. Thank you Pascal and all your team. Will definitely return again. Geoff Harding

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved this camp. the tent itself is large with a separate bath area and a 'terrace' to watch the stars from. The chef, Chris, is wonderful. Every meal was delicious and different. It is amazing to have such good food trucked in all the way from Arusha -- at least a very difficult 8 hour drive. The cocktail hour around the campfire with all the other guests was a great way to end the day. The staff is attentive and helpful -- each and every one. Had we known how wonderful a place this was we would have added an extra day or so. We hope to return in a couple of years.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just spent two weeks in Tanzania and had a great time. Two nights were at Olakira in the southern Serengeti. Richard was running this camp when we were there and it was just great. Food was very good, staff was real helpful, tent was very nice, all in all a wonderful experience. We would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, amazing tents, very clean, super cosy and safe.
The tents have 3 areas, a small living room with a table, with two chairs and a chase long.
The second area was the room with a big bed. At the end of the tent is the bathroom with all the luxuries and a bucket shower that worked perfectly, they have bath soap, shampoo, conditioner, body milk, soap, etc.
The only thing missing was bottled water. We had previously read that on Tripadvisor so we took two bottles of water from our Jeep. We loved the "bush TV" that is a open sky huge fire with every guest sitted aroud it, telling stories about there Safary day. We were only there for one night and we arrived late, so we were not able to take the most of the "Bush TV", you should arrive at the camp at 6pm to be ready before 7pm. The dinner was what we most loved, not only because of the food but also due to all the guest gather in a single table like a big family, so we had the change to know other families. It was an anniversary for a couple and the staff did a wonderful dance and singing and brought them a special cake, it was unforgettable. Many thanks to Richard that was a wonderful host.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location for wildlife viewing and the team were brilliant. Olakira is a small mobile camp which provides the ability to meet with the other guests and share stories. Dinner was at a communal table and was beautifully cooked and presented (although we'd have preferred a little more light at the table). It's luxurious camping in the bush at its best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the wildebeest that are the stars of the Serengeti Annual Migration, the Olakira camps are wanderers; luxurious under-canvas camps that move with the seasons, forever following the herds to ensure you have a front-row seat to the greatest show on earth.Fine linens, finer dining and a touch of nomadic romance are the hallmarks of this authentic East African safari camp. Whether it’s at the river crossings of the northern Serengeti, the breath taking scenery of the Lamai Wedge, or on the great grassy plains of the south, the intimate Olakira camps ensure the best of the Serengeti is always right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olakira Mara River Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.