We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people - can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babylon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilimanjaro National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babylon Lodge
Save
You added Babylon Lodge to your Saves list
P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people - can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was very apprehensive about choosing the right company for my Kilimanjaro hike. There are so many options that you don't want to pick the wrong one for something like this, which is no doubt a once in a lifetime experience. I was travelling with a friend, and interestingly, both myself and my friend independently liked the email reply best that we recieved from Bobby, the manager at Babylon Lodge. He seemed honest, genuine and helpful, and I can truly say that these qualities were present throughout our entire trip.

Bobby gave us lots of helpful advice prior to our arrival, and he was extremely flexible at all times. Our flight was delayed and he kindly suggested we could start the hike a day later if necessary. He also chased up our lost baggage and ensured it was delievered to our hotel; for the hike we had to hire a few pieces of equpiment and he kindly arranged all this for us too. And when we were leaving, after the hike, the assistant manager, Henry, drove with us all the way to Moshi at 3am, to help us get on the best possible bus to Dar. We felt as if we were being looked after by close friends or family during the entire trip.

It would have been nice to spend more time at the lodge and in Marangu, but our schedule was tight; however, our short stay was very pleasant neverthless. Staff were helpful and food was good. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable.

The hike itself was very well organised. We did the Macheme route (6 days) and found the price to be pretty reasonable in comparison to other companies. However, of greater importance was the fact that we felt safe and comfortable during our time on Kili. We got good quality hot meals three times a day, the porters were efficient and hard-working, and our guides were honest and supportive. We both made it to the peak, and certainly a lot of this credit goes to Tadai and Jackson, our guide and assistant guide.

So overall a great experience; I would certainly recommend Babylon Lodge to anybody wishing to climb Kili (or just explore Moshi/Arusha). Bobby is a really friendly, helpful guy and his leadership will no doubt lead Babylon Lodge to a very bright future.

Salim

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel was good and the staff were nice but be carefull with the extras like laundry, daytrips and bus tickets. They will try to charge you at least twice the real price. The food was also poor, monotonous and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby L, Manager at Babylon Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We are sorry for the experience that you received and we have come up with measures to ensure this does not happen to any other traveler to Babylon Lodge. We have posted all our prices on our website for the Kilimanjaro day trek, accommodation, meals and transport so that no one can accidentally or intentionally be overcharged. We have also increased the quality of our food and we have ensured that every meal is given a lot of attention and will make your Kilimanjaro experience wonderful. Babylon Lodge is a budget hotel on the slopes of Mt. Kilimanjaro and we believe in giving quality and affordable services to our clients. If you have any problem during your stay please don't hesitate to management and we will rectify it instantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This Lodge was by far the best service I recieved throughout my six week stay in Tanzania. Travelling on a budget through Tanzania is not always easy and this may not be a budget-deal comparable to South-East Asia. However for the money you pay your stay will be more then comfortable. Besides that the managemend is willing to negotiate if you decide to combine your stay with a climb on Kili. Which, when you decide to do this , is arranged perfectly.

The staff does everything to make sure you are happy and provide a five star service. They are friendly, well manared and give you a very welcome feeling.
The rooms are spacious, have warm showers and are daily cleaned.
The Lodge also offers very well priced meals and the food served is amazing.
In my opionion a happy and comfortable stay is guaranteed here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

This Lodge was by far the best service I recieved throughout my five week stay in Tanzania. I was on a tight budget backpacking holiday, but would have to say this was the best place to stay around marangu-kilimanjaro for value for money and service. For 40-50 euros a night, the staff do everything to make sure you are happy and provide a five star service. They are very friendly and give you a real feel for their culture, doing trips around the nearby villages in the mountains and waterfalls, which I loved. They also do trip up to climb kilimanjaro which would be cheaper than going through bigger companies, but I did not climb kilimanjaro so I can not comment on this trip.
The Lodge also offers a four course meal for dinner for 8 euros, which is amazing food.
However, the main attraction to this Logde is the great management they provide to make sure you are happy and feel comfortable while staying there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avellino, Italy
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This nice and new hotel offers spacious and comfortable rooms and nice food. It also hosts a disco and a fully licensed bar.
The hotel is at the edge of Marangu village, among banana and coffee plantations. It's a nice starting pojnt to explore the area and to start the climb to Kilimanjaro.
At the reception they can arrange the climb, ecocultural walking tours and transport to the Kilimanjaro International Airporto and via bus to Dar Es Salaam.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed at this hotel before climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. The hotel arranged both the stay and trek up Kili. The hotel is nice, clean and safe and located a short 10 min drive to the Marangu park gate. It is located "by itself" but if you have time some staff member would be happy to show you around Marangu village which is a great experience. Don't expect any luxury when it comes to the rooms, but the overall experience and the service from the staff and the owners was good. I am glad I stayed in Marangu village versus in Moshi or Arusha since you get a chance to see how people live in the villages instead of being in a busy town. Overall a good experience.


I felt

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babylon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Lodge

Address: P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilimanjaro's Best Budget Hotel! Babylon Lodge is situated in a lush garden setting, just minutes from Kilimanjaro National Park. Locally owned and operated, we provide service and amenities that equal the more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We have recently remodeled with new restaurant, bar and garden areas. Also, since we are from the area and have no need for middlemen, we can help you to find low-priced, quality tours that you might not find at the larger resorts. Babylon Lodge is the perfect place to stay for a weekend away or before/after a climb. Babylon Lodge is the only hotel in Marangu that offers free Wi-Fi to its clients. Welcome to Babylon Lodge for quality and affordable services. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babylon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.