We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor - but still the best in town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel) to your Saves list
New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road Plot No. 459 (opposite Dodoma Railway Station) | PO Box 239, Dodoma, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dodoma
Mougins
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor - but still the best in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Poor by international standards and pricing, but by TZ provinsial hotel standards above average in terms of room facilities and cleanliness. Service and food is close to subsistence. Another overstaffed hotel were the staff consider the hotel a social club with scant attention to guests. Wi-Fi available and free, but you have to change password at odd times during the day! Don't expect to paid with accpeted Visa or Euromaster - the terminal is usually down. Importantly though, during my 4 days stay no power and water cuts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
5
8
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel has potential which, regrettably, went unused. For USD 130.00 a night, the value is terrible. Everything is run down, the mosquito net is a sieve, there is only boiling hot water to take a shower with, and the service is lacking. Apparently it is the best hotel in Dodoma however; the capital of Tanzania!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dodoma hotels

Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

This hotel is, in my opinion, NOT suitable for international guests for a number of reasons. Dodoma is part of a split capital city about six hours from Dar Es Salaam. The rest of the government and diplomatic missions are located in Dar. Only the Parliament is stuck in Dodoma. The city clearly has limited infrastructure to accommodate foreign guests. This is not the case in Dar, where there are some excellent hotels (Holiday Inn, Doubletree, Sea Cliff and apparently Movenpick).

Hotel decorum is seriously out of date, old and worn out, but that could be forgiven if all else was up to scratch (I am not sure why this hotel would have the word "new" in it).

Don’t expect to be able to relax in your room after your daily meetings or following the long trip from Dar, because rooms are sprayed daily with air freshener, so when you enter your room you are hit mercilessly by a cloud of air freshener. I requested that this not be done on day 2, and returned to my room to of course find the room swimming in a fog of air freshener. When I asked to see a manager, I was told he was not available, neither the front desk nor the general manager. It later became clear that the front desk staff wanted to conceal any problems from the manager, so the manager would likely have never been "available" to hear my complaint. They then offered to "rectify" the problem—I returned to my room to find the air conditioner on circulating the chemicals—that was their solution. When I went back to the desk to ask for another room, I was told there were no rooms available. Of course, that was bunk. A friend of mine staying at the hotel, a Tanzanian, phoned the general manager, and within 10 minutes, I had changed rooms with the stiffest of apologies. The new room was directly opposite to mine.

Note that the business centre is not part of the hotel, so you need to pay cash. How you are supposed to know that is beyond me. When I said I would return with the cash, I was told “make sure you pay”. The young ladies at the business centre clearly had no experience interacting with foreign visitors. They were antisocial and at times downright rude. At least the business centre was well equipped.

Breakfast is the worst I have ever seen in any hotel I have traveled to; enjoy your instant coffee with hot milk. Best reason to drop coffee I have ever seen. For dinner, Chinese restaurant is pleasantly mediocre, compared to the rest of the food. At the other restaurant, don`t order the beef bites, whatever you do!

There are very few hotels in this city, I did find a nicer hotel, but the name escapes me ("St." something, very helpful, I know!) Rooms were more modern (I asked to view the rooms for next time), restaurant much nicer both in terms of decor and food). For those of you travelling to Dodoma, finding that other hotel would be worth the wait!

Room Tip: Ask them not to spray the room with air freshener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

very convenient location and facilities..
satisfied...

the atmosphere really perfect, romantic hotel!!

and hotel price is cheap and reasonable..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel looks pleasant enough and was clean, but the rooms had fixed open slatted windows that could not be closed at night which meant that it was difficult to sleep with noise from traffic (big trucks) and people leaving bars. We had problems with very noisy neighbours who watched TV through to the morning and as nobody was manning the reception had to deal with the problem ourselves. Worst nights sleep I've ever had and not worth the high room price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

In Dodoma, Tanzania’s little capital city, not far away from the city centre opposite the railway station you will find the best hotel in town, the New Dodoma Hotel. Within an elegant and carefully-perserved ambiance you will feel at home right from the beginning.
The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean and make your stay really enjoyable.
Entering the large and well-kept courtyard you feel like being at a beautiful Mediterrenean place. There you will find an open-air bar and some really nice and silent places to sit and to enjoy your time.

The restaurant offers a wide selection of Indian, Chinese, continental and local dishes. The quality of meals and drinks is marvellous. Things may take some time as they usually do in East Africa.

If you look for sporting activities and/or wellness you will find a swimming pool, a little gym, a sauna, a Turkish bath and a massage parlor.

Last but not least: The whole staff is not only friendly and helpful (which you will find at many places in Tanzania), but also very competent and attentive (like you will not find at too many places in Tanzania).

So if you come to Dodoma and you need a good accomodation at an attractive price there is only one choice: the New Dodoma Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel)

Address: Station Road Plot No. 459 (opposite Dodoma Railway Station) | PO Box 239, Dodoma, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dodoma Region > Dodoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dodoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The landmark New Dodoma Hotel is over one hundred years old and was originally built as a rest house for the Kaiser of Germany to inaugurate the National Railway Line. It stands as the most historic hotel in the region and still has all of the old world splendor which one would expect from such a historic monument. The hotel suites are built around a large botanical courtyard which features a decorative water fountain, tiki-bar and restaurant service. The botanical garden has been grown with great care to ensure an oasis like experience upon entering. Each hotel suite features large beds, hot water and air-conditioning as well as access to the hotel swimming pool, fitness center and relaxation areas. The New Dodoma Hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi for hotel patrons, 24-hour electricity backed by a generator, late night food service and concierge service to ensure that all of our clients’ needs are tended to. With all The Grandeur of the Ages with Modern Amenities and Excellent Service - The New Dodoma Hotel offers you the Best of the Nation’s Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Dodoma Hotel (Dodoma Rock Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.