We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kipepeo Beach Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kipepeo Beach Village
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I spent a weekend at Kipepeo with my management team in November and can only applaud the management and staff and facilities. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had a comfortable weekend and that all our difficult needs were catered for.
In short:
Sea Brilliant clean and a nice tide
Food Outstanding
Beers cold and plentiful
Accomodation clean, mossie free, hot water nice bed and great breeze
Manager , friendly and always around
Staff, outstanding
Price , ever sooooo cheap and good value

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PJONAY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed there on Christmas weekend on a leisure trip with my friends...but OMG I so regret that decision.

The service & staff were obnoxious and the Customer care was a foreign concept to them.

THE ACCOMODATIONS ...mmmh where do I start?....Sub par does not begin to describe them..and here i was thinking am staying.in their deluxe bungalows...I can only imagine what their regular bungalows are like.

THE MANAGER...IN ONE WORD....RUDE!!!!

I didnt try their food, but if the service and accomodations were any indications then am sure I dIdn't miss much...

MY RECOMMENDATION FOR ANY ONE VISITING THIS PART OF DAR-ES-SALAAM (KIGAMBONI) IS TO AVOID KIPEPEO BEACH VILLAGE COMPLETELY...U WILL GET A BETTER BANG FOR UR BUCK AT MANY OTHER RESORTS THAT ARE IN THE AREA....

THIS TRAVELLER WAS UTTERLY AND SEVERELY DISSAPOINTED!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed here for two nights as part of an Acacia overland tour either side of our excursion to Zanzibar. It is quite a way from the hustle and bustle of Dar and also quite isolated. The campsite is quite small, so tents are pitched very close together, but it is right next to the ocean, you can hear the waves pounding all night. The beach was clean and the water warm - lovely to swim in. The facilities are okay, but hot water for showers is a luxury. There is a bar, which sells some western style snacks/meals (burgers etc) and cabins if you want to upgrade from camping.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Organised as part of the Dragoman Family Adventure tour, this was promised as an opportunity to relax and unwind after 2 weeks roughing it on safari in the bush. And it lived up to the billing !

The resort itself is about 15 miles south of Dar itself, practically within the urban sprawl of Dar, though you'd never know it lying on the beach. Run by a South African, its a bit of an overland traveller ghetto, but a nice one at that. The resort is effectively a very small and cramped (and sandy) camping area next to a restaurant/bar right on the beach, with the cottages (where we stayed) about 5 minutes walk away from the coast. The entire resort/compound is fenced in and patrolled by security, it seems very safe.

The location is just amazing, the beach is beautiful and fairly quiet, with surprisingly few hawkers. The area along the waterline is accessible to the public, so you'll have all sorts strolling past, including herds of cows and goats. A few metres away from the waterline is hotel property and keenly watched over by security guards, not that there was much need as the few people on the beach seemed very relaxed. The water is fine for swimming, lovely and warm, no steep shelf, and no sharks on the day we went, neither did it seem to be particularly dirty, despite the nearby presence of Dar.

Food at the restaurant is OK, nothing amazing, but good somozas and lots of seafood, then again good food in East Africa isn't easy to find. Also a great bar, enjoy a cold Killi while listening to the waves crash.

The cottages on stilts promise sea views, well, you can just about see the sea on the horizon, there's a mass of coconut trees and forest in between the cottages and beach, certainly no beach views. They are amazing constructions though, bathroom (very modern) and shower on the ground floor, upstairs to a single large room with a ginormous bed. The roof is thatched and the balcony has a hammock on for lazing around, it feels like a traditional African dwelling but has the necessary mod-cons. No TV or fridge though, just the sound of waves and sea breezes for entertainment. No air con either, the sea breeze does that.

Minor gripes: the cottages are located very close to a shanty town, including a bar, so be prepared to be kept awake by the sound of loud music until 4 in the morning. Also, the path from the parking area/bar/restaurant to the cottages is a deep sandy track, impossible to pull suitcases along, and nobody is available to carry them, so you'll sweat buckets hauling your bags through the humid jungle. Service at the bar and restaurant isn't brilliant either and the prices are way way more than you'd pay anywhere else in Tanzania, partly because there's no other shops or restaurants nearby. Finally, although its a beautiful place, its very isolated, there's not many places to walk to and in any case we were warned it would be dangerous to do so due to the risk of muggings. The only excursion available is by boat to an island in the bay, so if you get bored easily, don't book a week here.

However, for 1-3 days its pure bliss and everything you'd imagine a bed by the Indian ocean to be. Arguably just as good if not better than a trip to a similar place on Zanzibar, just over the water.

  • Liked — beach location, unique stilt cottages
  • Disliked — noise from nearby bars and houses
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kipepeo Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipepeo Beach Village

Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty lodging in Dar es Salaam
Also Known As:
Kipepeo Beach Village Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kipepeo Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kipepeo Beach Village to your Saves list