We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to remember....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort to your Saves list
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
1 review
“a place to remember....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

What can I say, thank you Kunduchi Hotel for a week of memories. With our arrival the staff welcome us, we met Riaan Thiart ( general manager). A pleasant guy from South Africa, we also come from Wellington, South Africa. Lusinda showed us our room, what a wonderful view over a nice white beach. We visit waterworld, very nice slides for my child. The food was very well presented, and tastedful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 , very nice with nice views over the white beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

We are thrilled that you firstly chose us again and secondly for the wonderful review!

It is so welcoming to read that our facilities met your needs and that the resort delivered together with the service you were happy with.

Our staff are our assets and when our guests are happy we / they / all of us are happy.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    48
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
43
3
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We recently had our wedding at Kunduchi Beach Resort. The venue was just what we had been looking for… a nice mix of old character and verve, with plenty of rooms for guests to stay overnight. We cannot fault the service we received both in the build up and on the day itself. The staff is extremely professional and very good at what they do, approachable, flexible, quick to respond to queries and came up with suggestions to help in the planning stages and during the wedding. The management and their staff were a fantastic team to work with for whom nothing seems to be too much trouble, all very efficient, helpful and friendly. They seemed to have every little detail in hand, a really personal service. Oh, and the food absolutely divine, very tasty, not easy when catering for so many people at one time. Attention to the little things make a difference the service and delectable food made our wedding unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay as wedding guests. It seems you really enjoyed the activities offered and that makes us very happy. The beach and location are on par with the best in Dar es Salaam.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have been in and out of kunduchi hotel for several months actually. I love the fact that there are two bars... One at the hotel lounge which I sit there during the weekday and the other at the beachfront for my weekend plus the live band! Prettttyyy awesome actually!

I'll never get tired of kunduchi because I love the variety and the vastness of the hotel. The variety of food available from the buffet, places to chill from the lounge to the beachfront, and the very helpful and smiley staff!

I'll have to give thumbs up to the kitchen for ensuring that my food is prepared cautiously every time without any contamination from other ingredients due to my food allergies. I noted that this issue is not addressed seriously in many hotels but in kunduchi, it matters to them. But please do your due diligence in informing the staff about how you need it prepared as this is not a protocol exercised like a first world country.

And of course patience is always needed with the locals due to their way of life,.... Haraka haraka haina baraka, which means hurry hurry brings no blessings!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are happy that the family enjoyed their time with us.

All comments and suggestions, good or bad are taken very seriously and we will discuss the food comments with the Chef and the kitchen team.

Enjoy the memories and we hope to see you again soon

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I visited kunduchi for the first time with my family and we were very impressed with our experience thanks to Lucinda. Let me elaborate. Our room had plumbing problems and she found a solution by finding us even better accommodation. my wife wanted to buy some local clothing and with a phone call she found a solution...she now has numerous outfits thanks to the tailor she recommended. We needed an excursion and she suggested a solution, she arranged for a boat to a nearby island where we had a memorable time with the family. My kids would like to go back tomorrow.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves with us. We appreciate your comments, and hope that we will see you again at Kunduchi Beach Resort

Karibu sana,

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Good day management and staff

I just want to congratulate the person in charge for having such great hotel. The service from the start of our stay till the end whas a unforgettably experiance ...the food and service whas extravagant What a beautiful getaway for someone who loves the ocean. Will definitely recommend this hotel to anybody thats looking for a getaway for businesses or pleasure.

Kind regards your supported CLIENT!!!☺

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Jeandre

Thank you for your flattering comments. We are delighted to read that you had an amazing time and could not thank you enough for choosing Kunduchi Beach Resort for your vacation. I have passed on the great comments to the team.

Warm greetings
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Unless you are here on a retreat or honeymoon like all the other customers here. The restaurant is not a place you want to be between conferences and meetings at the kunduchi beach hotel and resort. The service was bad, most of the items on the menu are not available and it takes ages before the food is finally served. Service at the restaurant is generally slow from pizza to skewers to grill food. Needs more improvement.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

The constructive criticism is very helpful. We have addressed the issues of service to all departments and will continue to strive for the standards and service that we know works !

The Food and Beverage Team have also been notified of your comments, and these will be addressed.

Once again, thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a gorgeous setting, beautiful sunrise and friendly people. a must to visit again as it was also priced right.

service can improve , but the friendly nature of the staff and management make up for it.

Room Tip: for family a connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this, as we appreciate all feedback, both negative and positive. We hope that the memories spent at Kunduchi Beach Resort will remain with you for a long time and hope to welcome you back again one day

Karibu Kunduchi

Kindest regards
Riaan & Kunduchi TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Address: Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.