We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a place to be.try it and inform others” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort to your Saves list
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
bamenda,
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“its a place to be.try it and inform others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I was a member of a twenty man workshop group from ten countries who stayed at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort from July 24-29 2011.The environment was ideal for the workshop - the rooms,conference hall,restaurant,bars and the splendid white sand beach permitted us to unwind easily after hours of debates.
It is also very suitable for football teams who want to camp in a serene atmosphere before their match
try kunduchi and inform the others.
mochiggle

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
42
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is simply an outstanding business hotel in the heart of Dar Es Salaam. You will experience no Tanzanian inconveniences while staying here. Located a harrowing 30-minute drive from the airport, it is an oasis of civilization in chaotic Dar. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I was there in June 2011 for a business trip and am planning to visit again just for leisure. I liked the place the food is amazing, that is sure a place you can go either on business or just for leisure and a proper getaway place. The staff are always smiling and the housekeeping staff are so perfect up to the standards of the hotel. Looking forward to staying there again". I miss the live band and Karaoke, ooh cant wait to be there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was here for a conference and had a nice stay. The review of nityajacob is very detailed and gives proper information, since there is no need to repeat these information. Internet was rather slow and I was bumped of the net several times. The food was good, the rooms a bit old fashioned, but clean. The place at the beach is magnificent, people coming along with their boats on the blue water, just like a picture! Sitting outside at the bar was good, at morning it was the breakfast area. The distance to the airport is quite long and the place is rather isolated, especially on account of the danger of robbery, like it happened to one of our colleagues who went jogging, was robbed and lost his wallet and his runners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

It takes an hour to the resort from Dar's rather basic airport. You enter through archways and two massive gates, drive down the long driveway and eventually reach the welcoming reception area. Its all open and non-airconditioned, but even in the October warmth, the a/c was not needed. It was all nicely balmy. The open reception area gives an impression of immense space even though its single storeyed. There are plants and pools all over the place and plenty of dark wood. I was suitably impressed with the layout and the calm that pervaded the place. Beyond the reception area, there is a large lounge. Beyond that through giant doors I could see the azure blue waters of the Indian Ocean - an amazing blue that I havent seen anywhere else. The tiredness of the trip wafted away with the sea breeze.

Check in was slow. It was my second time in Africa and I assumed this was how everybody operates. So I waited patiently, was served the welcome drink, and eventually got my key, a large wooden keyring to make sure I didn't forget it.

I walked to the end of the reception, took a spiral staircase to the first floor and walked down a long long corridor to my room. So far, so good. The bell boy brought my suitcase and other bag, I carried my camera bag. The room was in two levels, the higher one at the entrance with the cupboards at right and the toilet and bathroom at left. The toilet was tiny but the bathroom was large, airy and spacious. The bed dominated the room with its four posters and mosquito net. To one side was a table with a tea-coffee service, and two chairs. Beyond was a small balcony that overlooked the ocean. It was a breathtaking view. I realised all rooms overlook the ocean. The ones on the first floor have a better view of the ocean than the ones on the ground floor.

The place is a bit of a maze and takes getting used, but once that is past it is easy enough to get around. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were great. Food is good and varied. and even tastes like what i get in India. The dining area (only one) is on the ground floor with a magnificent view of the ocean and a fresh sea breeze. The beach is just beyond this.

There is a bar, which I never tried, next to the dining area. I walked through to the beach from the lounge and found another bar, sitting area and dance floor. This operates at night only. Beyond again, is the beach. At low tide, the beach stretches away for about a kilometer. At high tide, the azure ocean comes almost up to the outside bar area. The hotel regularly combs the beach to keep the sand clean and smooth. Its great for walks. If you face the ocean, there is a sand bar that stretches about 2 KM out into the ocean, dividing the beach from a river.

I liked the room for its space and the very comfy bed. The tea/coffee service is welcome since getting anything from room service took ages. The bathroom is huge and well appointed with a tub and a shower. The tub was a little worn and rusty and needed paint or cleaning but I didnt mind. The toilet was a dissapointment, designed to make you spend the least time there. Wood dominated the room but it was nice and gave it a warm feel.

The staff are friendly though not highly efficient. I spent a week there and felt safe. However, a couple of my group got robbed when they went for a run on the beach - two men with machetes relieved them of their watches and shoes at the end of the beach. Then on we kept only to the lighted parts of the beach. I enjoyed many beers on the nice clean sand but never went to swim.

If you are ever there, ask for a room on the first or second floors. The food buffets are good through I suspect you can order a la carte. Take a walk on the beach, but only in the parts the staff recommends. The sand bar makes for a great moonlight walk if you are a large group. The ocean is the most amazing blue you will ever see. Worth a visit if you are looking for a really quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

The rooms have a nice antique feel and great large windows that look to the ocean with nice balconies.

My biggest issue here was that the staff were slow and inefficient. Most do not speak English which is quite a challenge.

Breakfast or drinks at the beach bar could be reallly great.

My best part was waking up in the morning to hear the boats going by, and standing on the balcony to catch the ocean breeeze.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had a great few day at your hotel - thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Address: Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.