We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Dar es Salaam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Ideal for Dar es Salaam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to safari and then a night on our return. Pleased that we chose to stay an extra night on the way back and get a full day in Dar before our late evening flight home.

The room, bathroom, service from all the staff all good. Buffet breakfast choice and quality excellent. On the way out to safari we left really early and the hotel laid on a good early choice of juices, coffee, pastries. Just what we needed.

We used a taxi from the hotel to visit several places in Dar and the service was good and the price very reasonable.

On the way back we were used to getting up at 5 am for safari so did the same at the Kilimanjaro and walked the 200 yards down to the fishmarket before 6am - a great experience of real Dar and very friendly people.

Dar itself we loved. Our chief stewardess on Swiss had said it is a lovely city as they get so few tourists they think you must be an ex-pat. We loved the people, the interesting sights and the cleanliness,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    119
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
65
30
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here in transit to Nairobi. The hotel is modern awith a very nicely decorated lobby. Room was clean and very comfortable with all the amenities expected of a luxury hotel; robes, slippers, etc. In addition to a rain shower waterhead and a massage spray, it had a full size deep bathtub. Up on the 8th floor is a bar where you can sit outside and have a view of the water and the city. No lighting around the tables outside, you just have to step inside to read the menu if you want snacks. Buffet breakfast in the morning was great. A whole assortment of cereals, fresh fruit and hot food. Traditional sausage, bacon, made to order omelets plus indian chinese, and african dishes. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. As I said we stayed here in transit so I don't know much about the city, but if security is a concern that is covered, cars are checked before they can enter and a room key is required to use rhe elevator. If I ever visit the city again, I would love to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff here are so helpful, even to the point of walking with us to a nearby restaurant in the evening, rooms are clean, spacious, amazing bathrooms... that could do with some more light... but you can survive. Beds are a little hard, but still got a great nights sleep. Great gym and infinity pool. A very good breakfast buffet for a hotel in Africa, not upto American or European standards... But everything you require. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Looking for a boutique hotel, a hostel or a cheap place? That is not the place you are looking for.
Looking for oustanding service (I never expected and never experienced before and I am sleeping in Hyatts and Hiltons for more than 100 nights per year), beatiful rooms and excellend food? Book a room right now!!

- rooms are small but beatiful and with character
- the food (breakfast and regency club) had * quality!! Never had a raw papaya salad like this outside of Thailand. They have everything at breakfast and service is fast and efficient (not New York style but excellent for Africa!)
- Service of the concierge and front desk was outstanding! I wanted to by a bycicle I swas on the streets befor and the concierge not only found out where to get it but also came with me to the place, did the negociation and helped me bringing it back to the hotel!
- We wanted to see a game on TV but they didn´t have the programm in their TV menue. We told them and it took 10 Minutes and we could watch the game
- pool and gym are amazing
- spa is one of the best I have seen in a hotel

Outstanding hotel, servce and food. But you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: club room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel staff is particularly warm and helpful. The amenities are first rate, and this hotel deserves its reputation as the most luxurious hotel in Dar es Salaam (at least for now). From the comfortable lounges to the beautiful infinity pool with deck view of the Indian Ocean, it's easy to feel that this is actually a resort. It's good for business travel, with fast Wi-Fi and plenty of places for meetings and drinks. The only problems are that it is surrounded by a slightly rough patch, I was warned not to walk around the area after dark. And the business center could use an upgrade. But overall, very elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to Zanzibar. The hotel has everything you need: restaurants, bar, shops, club, pool, fitness center, good service and all with a touch of class and elegance. Unfortunately the spa booked up quickly so they could not get us in. Sunday brunch was great. The casino was way too smokey and the only place where the staff were not as friendly. The beds were too hard for my taste but the rooms were very nice. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a very comfortable, well appointed,well locater hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. The restaurants, particularly the main restaurant off the lobby, serves very good food with a broad selection each day and a nice change from day-to-day, What makes this hotel standout above many others is the service provided by the staff. They worked hard to resolve problems even when they were not of their own making. For example, we arrived a day late without having notified them. The could not accommodate us that night, but got us a room nearby and then brought us back the next day and worked to make the transitions as easy as possible. They make sure that information that they provide is useful. For example, I asked a bellman where an ATM was located. There is one in the lobby; and instead of just pointing to it, he walked me over to it. Two hours later, when I saw him in the lift, he asked if the machine had worked for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.