We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel "more than welcome"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Versoix, GE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Made to feel "more than welcome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my third visit to Dar in five months and each time I've stayed at the Hyatt. Tonight as I arrived, the F&B manager was waiting outside to greet me. Definitely living up to their slogan of making guests feel "more than welcome"! I've dined in each of the three restaurants onsite and have been delighted with the food each time. The Oriental is particularly delicious and they have a bar where solo travellers can eat alone comfortably. I've also been pleased with the room service. They've upgraded their wifi throughout the hotel and it is now as strong as my connection back in Switzerland. Great security! Lovely pool for swimming laps or lounging. Pretty spa. Decent gym. Suites tastefully done. Small collection of onsite shops are a plus. Beautiful view of the harbour in the ocean-view rooms. And, maybe this is a silly thing, but there are tons of real hangers in the closet, even for skirts, jackets.
If you're coming to Dar to run a conference (as I am) this is THE hotel for any meeting up to 500 pax. They have a variety of break-out spaces and a stunning air-conditioned marquee that seats 480+ and runs "off-grid" so the occasional power cut doesn't interfere with a session. When the power does go down in the rest of the hotel, the generators kick in after 4-10 sec delay.
To top it off, at the top there is a great management team who are each and collectively a delight to work with.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    119
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
64
30
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After an evening stroll through the city centre, we decided to take Lonely Planet's advice and stop at the Kilimanjaro's rooftop bar for a cold drink.

We were welcomed to the hotel despite not being formally dressed, and were directed up to the bar by the doorman. There we were welcomed and offered our choice of seats, and were quickly brought menus and small bowls of spiced nuts.

We opted for a couple of cocktails (an amaretto sours and a martini) and can vouch for the excellent quality.

The cocktails were a little on the expensive side (starting price of about 12,000 Tsh) but we felt it was worth it for the view and the quality. Only shame was the bottle of water we ordered never arrived.

Great views across the harbour at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

An excellently appointed hotel still in very good nick, the Kilimanjaro, which has fairly recently been moved to a Hyatt Regency management contract has been arguably the best hotel in the city bar none.

The hotel boasts a few restaurants, one themed Indian and another themed Japanese with a Sushi Bar. The food in both is excellent and being partial to seafood I found the Japanese cooked seafood to be truly excellent indeed.

The rooms are outstanding in quality and appointment. As a general rule with hotels I always prefer showers and even there I wear Flip Flops (clean ones that I wear nowhere else) in the shower... I do this after having personally disinfected the shower with a concentrated hospital grade disinfectant concentrate I carry on all my travels. Being a concentrate I make it up with water before I spray and leave for a few minutes. The showers in the Kilimanjaro are good and clean but they get the same treatment from me regardless.

The hotel is located next to the harbour so day and evening views of the port are awesome. Try out the 8th Floor restaurant for a great meeting place with great views.

The hotel would cater well to tourists as well due to the great amenities - the pool on the 2nd floor deck is excellent...

Room Tip: Specify and port-facing room on the highest available floor, according to your budget as the topmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights here on Business. Hotel lobby had a great feel to it but they had gone a little overboard with the A/c!! Rooms were tstefully done but a little small. Food was good (they have a nice oriental restaurat that does great sushi) and the level 8 bar at the top of the hotel was lovely - great but very overpriced - a double bourbon cost lose to US$ 15 compared to other hotels in Dar es salaam where its almost half the price.

Would stay again, definately...but only if the rate was substancially lower!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

On my first visit in Dar Es Salam, i landed in the Hyatt Regency.
Without any doubt it is a high level hotel, with a little bit of charm.
My room was very big (thanks also to the free upgrade) and clean.
The bathroom was spectacular.
The only point is the price, expensive for turism.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We walk in and there is perfume in the air! the place looks like a temple there is so much white marble and its so clean you can eat off the floor practically the rooms state of the art the bathroom heavenly the showers come out of the celiing like a rain shower! the view from the bar is spectacular and they serve cosmos!!! the asian fusion restaurant was such a needed treat!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor and had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in a suite in this hotel in Dar- Es-Salaam on business in August 2012. This place is great and safe, right in the heart of Dar Es Salaam. The suite was wonderful. It had a guest toilet, a lounge with desk and TV. The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom was great. The television had a good selection of TV channels and I was able to connect my playbook to the TV to watch one of my own movies as well.
Breakfast had a good selection of different foods and I loved the fresh honey glazed baked gammon they served. The hotel as a lot of areas that can be used to informal meetings if necessary. The bar on the 8th floor was a bit deserted but the views where great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.