We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Restaurant

The Bay Restaurant
Msasani Road, Plot No 40 Oysterbay, Dar es Salaam 0000, Tanzania
+255 783 539 090
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 190 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: For the Love of Great Food, Music and a Seductive Atmosphere. The Bay is a great Lunch & Evening venue. Tucked away in Oysterbay - The Bay is an exceptional restaurant specializing in continental cuisine. Our team would like to welcome you our clients to a culinary experience like no other. Every day we strive to improve. Welcome to The Bay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Super find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I don't really know why it's taken so long to find The Bay, but I went twice in a couple of days and the food, the service, and the atmosphere were great. It could do with better air conditioning, but that just means I'll save it for cooler evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashniqa H, Owner at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The Bay would like to Thank you for such a positive review and support. We are currently working on the air conditioner issue. Our team hopes to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food! keep it up hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

very good food definitely worth the price. and nice location abit hidden from
the mainstream areas. excellent steak and wonderful staff.
we need more places like these.
only concern was the A/c in doors which was too warm and didn't worth so if you
could please fix this and keep it cooler.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Much better than most and certainly than its rating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very good restaurant with an apparent Germanic bias to parts of the menu. I had the goulash soup - more of a meal inside a giant sourdough (I think) bun with the Eisbein as a main. Liked the soup but the Eisbein was outstanding if you haven't had it before. I have in a number of places and this was as good as any. Friends (spinksy67 was one of them although we're all anonymous here) also had the fish of the day and the 500g steak and were impressed also. Desserts we shared were a crème brule and a strawberrry cheesecakey thing neither of which made us want to stand up and call for the chef! Not their best course.

Good wine list, not expensive and very friendly staff including I think both the owner and the chef who made themselves known to us. We ate early but it filled up and was buzzing by 8 o'clock. Outside was best as the evening cooled down.

Good addition to Dar's eateries.Convenient to the Sea Cliff, almost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dar Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited after reading the last review and was joined by 3 friends. A great experience and fantastic food, certainly in top 5 in Dar and the current rating on trip advisor (34) is a mismatch. A fantastic Dar experience. Outside ambience the best. Location is not properly marked on the web as 3 locations shown, but it is very easy to find with good signage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The number one restaurant in Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have been living in Dar for sometime now and this has to be my favourite restaurant in Dar, atmosphere is great, food is great, service is great and very clean. I always look forward eating there, and have never been disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to The Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.