We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in its own way....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kunduchi Mtongeni Road, off Old Bagamayo Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Dsm
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in its own way....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Ledger Plaza Bahari beach on 16th Aug 2013 to celebrate our son's 6th bday and what a perfect getaway excuse it was...beautiful suite .. warm welcome on arrival and friendly staffs.

Food menu was abit of an issue however I hear they have improved on that.

Our kids enjoyed the pool and luckily the 1st day we were just us in the pool ...

Clean and untouched beach ...beautiful sunrise .. quiet and peaceful shores..a perfect place for a romantic bonding with ur loved one :)

Would love to go again :))

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valuable guest ,

Many Thanks for the great review which will give us an additional push to move forward.

Hope to see you again among us.

Kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
8
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice hotel very good rooms and nice swimming pool and very clean Beach good for families to enjoy and good for relaxing they have Indian chief cooking very nice sea food in Indian way but it's a bit far from town

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valuable guest ,

Many Thanks for the great review which will give us an additional push to move forward.

Hope to see you again among us.

Kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I cant rate the rooms because I haven't spent the night there , been there twice first time took my daughter swimming the pool area is small so it gets packed easily the food is expensive for that standard , second time I went for thé new year party and I wish I never did the food was horrible , didn't like it any bit and I dont Think I will go there again

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Saira,

Thank you so much for your comments and they are well appreciated. However, our swimming pool is not small as mentioned and I am worried to have the first comment of this sort. We also have the best comments on our food having an executive chef from Kuwait who has gone through many five star and big hotels. We will keep on improving the food and hope next time you will enjoy the food when at ledger plaza bahari beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It begins with the reservations messing up with our booking, for a couple they give us a twin room and the only manager available at the hotel is the front office manager - Seth ! A very rude and unapologetic individual ! He was not willing to accept the mess up, has a very arrogant attitude ! His solution to the mess up - we can't do anything take the room or leave it !

Another receptionist who was terrified of his managers behavior offered to join the twin beds which was the only option however the beds could be joined but the head rest are fixed to the ground so we had a joined beds without the headrest.

It was very sad for a hotel that has five stars on the logo to offer such poor service, another instance was the TV in the room wasn't working it was reported several times but for the entire stay they did not bother to come and fix it !

Again had to face Mr Terrible (the front office Manager) who was the only available manager and he started howling that someone had gone to fix it but couldn't do it since I was not in the room.

If you are someone who enjoys good service this is not the place you want to be of course unless the hotel management takes the service seriously and rectify this with immediate action for the beautiful property they have.


There are many alternatives just near by who offer very good service along the same coastal line with beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing but the ones on the ground floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valuable guest ,

We are sorry for any inconvenience you may experienced in our hotel in your last stay with us.

I shared your comments with the whole management team and we will work on them to improve our services in the future.

Looking forward to see you again among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was recently in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel for a workshop with several other colleagues (90+) and they did a great job. The rooms are good quality, the food was good, internet was available and I can't complain - the grounds and flowers were soothing to the eye.
It just felt lovely to wake up every morning with a view of the ocean just outside my door - the only regret i have was that we stayed too long deliberating in the conference center - rather than enjoying the grounds, amenities and services at the hotel. The first day we arrived was a Saturday - there was a wedding and it was lovely by the pool - next to the ocean, with good music etc.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and I felt like I had known them for years. The TV had a lot of great channels.

I encourage everyone that can, to go visit Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel. It just brings such lovely memories to my mind and i am smiling as I write this review.

Try not to check in after midnight though because the night staff are not very efficient with check in and we actually had a delegation of 9 people sleep on chairs in the open lobby for one day, being bitten by mosquitoes - when there were actually rooms available. The night receptionist seemed to have been overwhelmed.

Otherwise, great experience and everyone left happy.

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely - I got a complimentary upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valuable guest ,

Many Thanks for the great review which will give us an additional push to move forward.

Hope to see you again among us.

Kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well, after reading all this reviews about this hotel we decided to go and give it a try.... New hotel, 5 stars (no even to Tanzanian standards!!)... let's spend the Sunday.. first at the gate we had no trouble, they didn't charge any money, which is unusual for a day use in beach hotels in Dar. So that was good.. and that was it!!! from the parking to the hotel there is a bit of walk, nobody said anything to us.. we walked by a small reception, empty, we got to the bar, nobody say hi yet... we go to the pool.. same same.. so we finally go to the beach. No one there!!! only one couple at the end.. we waited around 15 minutes until we saw a member of the staff who took around 20 minutes (minimum) to bring us a menu.. them he left before we order.. another 25 minutes for him to get back, so we order drinks (by the way no milkshakes or juices because all blenders are broken.. hahaha true!!) and food (not hungry at all but given the pace of service...) well done, 50 minutes later we received the order. they forgot one sauce, so the waiter went to fetch it and brought it to us... when we finished....by the way, the couple at the end of the beach... they got their order after us and we found out that they had ordered it before.. great!!! all afternoon, not even one manger to be seen, not that we need him/her.. the hotel does!!!!
So, I really don't know where those great comments came from (I have an idea..., and it's not good do that, nothing worst than cheating)...
I don't know how the rooms are.. but the service is TERRIBLE!! wake up!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your last visit to our Resort.


Your review was communicated through to the whole Team. Actions has been taken to rectify the shortcomings experienced.


We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible and we fell short of our goal this time.
We do take the complaint seriously and appreciate your valuable comment.
We will review our service procedure especially on the beach side.

Be sure next time when you will visit us you will note the improvements.

We look forward to have you as patron guest.

GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
LEDGER PLAZA BAHARI BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Healing for the soul...magnificent views of the ocean, own private beach. Staff is friendly, go out of their way to provide great service. Chalets are awesome, and spacious! great vibe.

thanks to Raphael and MJ for stellar service during our stay there!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms, just 100m away to paradise. A/C suites. If you want peace of mind, fun and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valuable guest ,

Many Thanks for the great review which will give us an additional push to move forward.

Hope to see you again among us.

Kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel

Address: Kunduchi Mtongeni Road, off Old Bagamayo Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.