We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES for leisure travel, NO for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Indira Gandhi Street/ Morogoro Road Junction, Dar es Salaam +255, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“YES for leisure travel, NO for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week in January on a business trip. Overall, this is a nice place, immaculately clean and spacious, for an excellent price. But service is slow and at times lacking in competence.

PROs:
- rooms and ensuite bathroom are large and spotlessly clean
- in-house restaurant with very good prices and wide selection, with varied food choices.
- located in the heart of downtown
- rooms have many electrical outlets
- rooms have mini fridges
- breakfast is not bad: breads, cereals, fruits, eggs, sausages, baked beans, freshly made juices.
- free wifi
- staff is very friendly and warm. They organise sim cards, phone credits, taxis and are very eager to help with whatever you ask of them.
- there is a money exchange place right downstairs with excellent rates
- you can print at their business centre downstairs
- bed and pillows very comfortable

CONs:
- poor lighting in room makes it impossible to do work at night. No lamps in rooms.
- staff is slow:
Your restaurant order will take no less than 45 mins to an hour GUARANTEED. Drink orders like tea or fresh juice- 20-30 minutes. Do not bother to order here if you are in a hurry.
If you have any kind of problem, though willing, staff is very slow to respond.
- do NOT rely on the wifi for ANYTHING. It's slow, sometimes non-existent, and if you have a problem after hours, there is no IT assistant to help you.
- windows are not double paned. You can hear any and everything on the noisy streets.
- desk and chair were uncomfortable for working
- the toilet had no extractor fan and there was a bad smell coming from the drain in the toilet

In summary, I would definitely stay here again if I came to just see the sights and was looking for a good clean place to stay. I would not stay here at all if I was travelling for business.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further from noisy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

On behalf of the Hotel Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel out of many hotels in Dar es Salaam.

We are sorry for taking so long to respond to your review due to going through management transition in order to improve services to our guests. Your review is very appreciate and from your review we'll know where to fix. Summing up about our indeed spacious rooms with excellent price, spotlessly clean, in house restaurant with wide selection of menu and very good price, the location of our hotel being in the heart of Dar es salaam downtown, staff being helpful to you regarding your communication needs for getting you sim cards, credit cards, taxi, and whatever you asked they were their to help. We say thank you for such honest review.

And for what did not make your stay comfortable such as lacking of lighting in the room, uncomfortable chairs, reading table, smell from the bathroom, our staff being slow, and food taking so long after ordering. The management it has already taking serious approach to fix and improve where our service is lacking and train the staff to be more competent .

We would to welcome back again in the near future so that you could experience our improvement from what you made us improve.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle,
Guest Relations Manager
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
12
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel was within walking distance to the ferry terminal for Zanzibar. The rooms were spacious, furniture was good and the beds were firm and comfortable. Luggage storage was free and reliable. The staff were friendly but were of not much help in providing information about the city. Breakfasts were good and food with good varieties in Tanzanian standard.

The wifi in the whole hotel was not working at all. the drain of the bathroom was extremely slow. Water leakage from the shower cubicle was serious. The hair dryer was not working. The whole bathroom was smelly with very bad and strong odor and there was no exhaust fan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Essau Pwelle - On behalf of the TDH & Spa Management and Staff I would like to thank you for making your choice to stay with us. We understand some of you might had bad experience staying with us due to not meeting your expectations. The most important you have mentioned is what you were not satisfied about.

And for us it is our opportunity to improve our service based on your review and for those who were happy with our service, we ask you to be our ambassador wherever you go and have your family and friends come mentioning your name ...to serve them with honor. Again I would like to say thank you and we welcome you back in the near future with more improved services.

Kindly Regards,

Essau Pwelle
Guest Relations Manager
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner.
I was surprised to read the previous reviews as I definitely wouldn't rate this hotel as high as other reviewers have rated it. Perhaps we were given an older room? On arrival, I thought the taxi driver had taken us to the wrong hotel. First impressions were a dusty street with old buildings; most which looked old, vacant and dilapidated. This was made even more apparent when later viewed from the room. It felt a little intimidating stepping out of the taxi with the many locals standing around on the street watching us so was pleased the taxi driver assisted us with the luggage to the hotel. The reception is located on the first floor & the staff appeared to be friendly & helpful. The hotel in general seemed clean. The room was very large with air conditioning & as it was very hot we were pleased that it was working well. The bathroom appeared to have been partly renovated but it was poorly finished & incomplete. The shower area was old & the shower door was difficult to open & close. The tiles could not have been sealed properly as the water seeped through the wall tiles whilst showering and ran onto the floor. This resulted in the floor being very slippery so we had to soak up the water with the hand towels. There was a safe in the room but it wasn't bolted down & it was light enough that it could have been carried away. We didn't feel confident leaving our money in the safe so we carried it with us. Dinner was nice & the chef went out of his way to cook me a special gluten free meal. The bed was comfortable but woke around 4am to loud prayer music being played throughout the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very limited & it looked stale & unappetizing. We requested a late check out at 4pm and were advised an additional $50 would be charged which we thought was excessive. We had no option as we were doing a cycling tour & couldn't take our luggage with us & therefore reluctantly paid the additional amount. Would I stay here again? Probably not!! Considering the extra $50 paid for the late check out, a nicer place could be found for a similar price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

We welcome all our guest reviews and we believe this is the only way we can improve our service and make our guests return back to us in the near future.

At first I wanted to say we sorry that you had different impression about our hotel and wondering other reviewers what they wrote about us. We also thank you for summing up about our spacious rooms, friendly staff, enjoying our hot shower, etc.

But for dust, the taxi driver, and the locals around our hotel, old buildings from our hotel view it is an environment that we can not change or improve one day and it needs an infrastructure investment that all stakeholders around our property they have to partake.

We wish we could have made your stay more memorable, but in the near future our dust street might not be the same although old building is what makes Dar es Salaam the historic city.

With regard,

Essau Pwelle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel may not be much to look at from the outside (few hotels in Dar are) but it is a great find.

Outstanding service from the airport shuttle ($35 dollars to the hotel), the front desk, the porters, guards and restaurant staff.

The rooms are pretty big, about the size of a Marriott room in the US. Immaculate, with clean, sheets, duvet, piped in music, flat screen TV, towel robe, slippers, a variety of complimentary hygiene items and a comfortable, firm bed.

The restaurant was prompt and served good food straight to the rooms. If you need assistance getting to the ferry or other directions they are very helpful. I also stayed in the Hotel Nikko on another day. If you are choosing between the two, this one is way better.

There is a mosque right outside so you will get woken by the call to prayer but this will happen in most places you stay in Dar. There are some sketchy people outside at night but just use common sense. This is also anywhere you go out at night.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It seems to be relatively new so it doesn't have that many reviews on booking website but it is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

On behalf of the hotel management and staff I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel out of many hotels in Dar e salaam to provide you an accommodation and various services. We feel proud that we provided you an Excellent service from our shuttle driver, chefs, restaurants servers, promptness and mentioning how big our room is and cleanliness and all that what made you comfortable. We say thank you again and we would love to see you again in the near future.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The service, comfort, quality, location and food make this hotel excellent. very nice room, well equipped and comfortable. Clean bathroom.Very good breakfast.All staffs are very helpful and friendly.WiFi is bit slow,But I would highly recommend staying here.I had an good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

On behalf of Tiffany Diamond Hotel management and staff I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel in Dar es Salaam out of many hotels. We are glad to here that we were able to make your holiday experience in Tanzania to be memorable one.

We'll continue to strive to make our service even more superb and we hope one day we'll be able to serve you or your family and friends in the future. Therefore if you will ever return, you are part of this family already....just come and mention your name and the year you stayed with us.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Tiffany Diamond for two days with another pair of couples. The staff were very friendly, from the porter to the housekeeping teams. The service was a cut above what you get in Dar's popular hotels.

What is really exceptional about this hotel is the rooms. They're huge, the bedding is too quality and the cost is unbelievable. We paid $200 for a full suit with a jaccuzzi.

When you stay make sure you visit the Tiffany Club on the 10th floor on a Friday or Saturday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Teweli,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. We are very delighted that you found our staff from the porters, housekeepers, receptionists and all round to be friendly and of great service.

We are glad that you also found our rooms to be of excellent quality and very reasonable pricing and that you enjoyed the jacuzzi in the suite. Our newly opened club Tiffany is truly a must for those who would like to 'go out while still being within the hotel'

We look forward to hosting you again soon. We would recommend that you try our newly redone and fully re stocked wellness spa on 3rd floor.

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights here recently and it was a good experience. The staff are very good, the hotel is certainly clean, and the rooms are a decent size. The tariff isn't cheap, but it represents a considerable saving when compared to some of the more up-market Dar hotels. The location is fine, though taxi drivers don't seem to know it very well. That said, once you get your bearings, you can be at, say, the ferry terminal after a 5-10 minute walk.
The only complaint I have is the muzak - it is piped in the corridors all day and night. It's even piped, in empty rooms, with their doors open through the day. I'd love to know what the logic is behind this! That aside, it's a good hotel option for you to consider. We would have no problem staying here again, and you can regard the 3 stars given as 3.5 in reality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking your time to review us.

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us for the three days you were here.We are also happy to note that you found our staff to be very good, the hotel clean, the size of the rooms to be decent and the location to be very appropriate. We are only 5 minutes walk from the Zanzibar ferry terminal. These are our unique selling points and we are happy that you noted them.

We have also noted that our piped music in the corridors and the rooms were a little loud. We have since corrected and all our rooms have modest volume. You will now find our corridors with very soft piped music and all rooms having adjusted volumes which can barely escape the room. We thank you for this concern and as stated earlier, we have fully rectified and wish to apologize for all the inconvenience it caused you.

We look forward to hosting you again and we promise to make your stay a more memorable one.

Once again, thank you for taking your precious time to review us.

Daniel M. Kebeya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa

Address: Indira Gandhi Street/ Morogoro Road Junction, Dar es Salaam +255, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 72 rooms Business Hotel complete with 4 conference halls in the heart of Dar es Salaam. We have a 24 hours restaurant, a Gym, Spa, Bar and Night Club. WiFi is free and available in all rooms and public areas and of course we offer impeccable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.