We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mbudya island

Mbudya island
off White Sands, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great city escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place for an escape from the city, the island water is very clean, its quite, they have nice fresh sea food and they are made localy, its only like 10mins boat ride away from the city (belinda) or 4mins with a speed boat, i couldn't resist swimming on that ocean.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not to be missed. U can get everything there accept luxury. Tranquility and "carpe horam" is all I can say.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect escape from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's a bit of a trek outside of Dar but well worth it! We never spent the night but during the day the place is amazing. There are the usual hawkers that greet you as soon as the boat lands but as long as you negotiate the price up front - totally worth it. There is a fresh caught lunch available for a small fee. Snorkel gear can be rented on the property. The snorkeling is amazing - make sure to ask of the locals where the reef is...it's gorgeous. At low tide it's a little tricky to navigate around - better at high tide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Island if You Like to Spend 80USD for a Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mbudya is really pretty white sand island, great for snorkelling, beautiful coral and pretty fishes. I went there April 2013, it is only 15 minute boat ride from White Sands Hotel.

On the island they serve cold beer and charcoal bbq fish or crab right from the sea, that tastes really good.

Be aware of jellyfish in rainy season, I got few stings that needed treatment.

Only downside I can think of is the cost. Obviously you get charged for a boat trip, then you get charged for staying on the island, then you get charged for shade and wobbly African chair, me & my husband spent at least 80USD just for that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The trip from the nearby hotels is quick and pleasant. When you get to the beach you have to pay the park entrance fee, rent a banda, rent chairs, order lunch (it does add up). Then you can sit and enjoy the day.

The reef is one of the best I have every snorkeled on but it seem to be an accident since the fishermen keep coming in close despite the protected status. Unfortunately, the dynamite fishing that is so prevalent thoughout the Tanzania coast is not controlled even in this park setting, so it won't be long before this too is destroyed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mbudya island also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mbudya island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mbudya island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.