We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend safari to Mikumi with Waterbuck Safaris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours

Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours
62 Alykhan Road | Upanga, Dar es Salaam 3272, Tanzania
255222126632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 activities in Dar es Salaam
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dar es Salaam is the commercial capital of the country; it wields immense political and economical power. The atmosphere is pleasant in the city with picturesque Harbour, exotic beaches, and historical buildings such as state house, Ocean Road hospital and churches, as well as the most famous sculpture of Askari Monument. It is the city renowned for its lively nightlife.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful weekend safari to Mikumi with Waterbuck Safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A colleague and I were in Dar es Salaam for a few days to conduct a workshop and wanted to spend the weekend on safari. Waterbucks offered the perfect overnight trip for us. Nurez was great to work with and all went well. Our driver, Nasared, not only expertly navigated the roads, he was also a knowledgeable guide in the park. We spent the night at Vuma Hills Tented camp and totally enjoyed the surroundings and the chance to sleep in a luxury tent. The meals were also excellent. We would highly recommend Waterbuck Safaris!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great tour company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We did a 5 day trip along the coast north of Dar es salaam up to Pangani. The communication beforehand with Nurez was very smooth. He answered fast and we could even call him on a Sunday before we departed on Monday.
He allocated us a great guide and driver, Nasred. It was a region, where he is also has not been often before, but he really did his best to make our trip amazing. He organised us a very knowledgable local guide in Bagamoyo, searched for cheap accommodation in Saadani NP and always planned the route together with us.

We would recommend Waterbuck Safari to everyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“LOOK NO FURTHER, THIS IS THE BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are expats from South Africa and did an over night tour to Mikumi National Park and two days later did a Dar es Salaam day tour with Waterbuck Safaris. It was the best ever. The service was fantastic, the staff extremely friendly and efficient. Would recommend this company to anyone looking for a company doing tours. Their driver, J4, was extremely knowledgeable, educated and a safe driver, we really enjoyed both trips, it was worth every penny.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a weekend free after an international conference in Dar es Salaam and decided to take the time available and go on a weekend safari to Mikumi National Park with Waterbuck Safaris. This trip was amazing, our guide/driver 'J4' was absolutely brilliant he was a conscientious, courteous and safe driver. His knowledge of the park and animals was limitless, we saw lions, elephants, buffalo of the big five and plenty of other animals and birds. We thoroughly recommend this two day one night safari you pack a lot into the hours but J4 is in control of everything. One thing you should take note of, and that is the time required for travel between Dar es Salaam and Mikumi is closer to 7 hours than 4, this includes two rest breaks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sealous Safari & Zanzibar 2 week Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After shopping around with a number of UK based operators for a 2 week Tanzania/Zanzibar trip, we contacted Shafina at Waterbucks to see what a local based agent could offer. The options and price were very competitive and the reviews on trip advisor were all good so we took the plunge with Waterbucks. We much prefer to use local agents if possible - if you get a good one, they know they country and the hotels intimately - and you are helping sustain a local business.

The trip suggested was pretty close to what we wanted, but Shafina was very patient tweaking the trip to meet our every changing requirements. We were also worried about pick-ups and safety (we booked just after the horrific acid attack on the two British girls in Stone Town) and had a host of questions from clothing recommendations to currency requirements - all of these concerns were dealt with efficiently and all of our questions answered promptly.

Arriving in Dar Es Salaam, our first driver was waiting for us and despite arriving late Sunday afternoon Shafina was at the office to provide us with all our of trips details and tickets.

Next day we flew to the Selous Serena Luxury Camp - which was a fantastic recommendation. Very friendly and attentive staff, a truly luxurious tent, wonderful food and great game drives. We saw 4 of the big 5 and the camp had a resident elephant who would stroll in to drink from the pool!

From Selous we took a flight to Zanzibar - where again a driver was waiting for us. Waterbucks booked us into the Tempo hotel - which was very nice. A good 3/4 star hotel - newly refurbished and very clean - just what we needed for our base in Stone Town. A walking tour of Stone Town and trip to Prison Island were included. The guide was great so we booked a spice tour with the same company. From Stone Town we went out for a couple of nights to the Eco Island of Chumbe. This was a very special place indeed - candle lit dinner on the beach, amazing snorkelling and only 3 other couples on the Island! Again, pick ups and boat transfers went very smoothly.

After Chumbe we were picked up (again the driver was waiting for us) and taken up to La Gemma for a little bit of luxury to end the trip.

Our ride back to Zanzibar airport was on time and we were dropped off at the airport in good time for our flight home.

Waterbuck's did a great job recommending some wonderful places, tailoring our trip to our particular need and budgets and using reliable operators for transfers.

Very special trip - thank you so much....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterbuck Safaris Day Tours to your Saves list