We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property, food isnt great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great property, food isnt great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed during the off season. Hotel was empty. The rooms and property is very well kept. Rooms are of good quality and we were given a free upgrade. The pool is small but the beach is clean.

The food menu was not extensive perhaps because it was off season. Very little to choose from on the menu.

We went for the spa and most choices on the list were not available, evantully we chose the treatment but were told that the staff had not reported to work, the entire spa was being run by one lady who could only accomodate one person at a time.

The pier is a great place for a drink or romantic dinner.

Room Tip: Most room are sea facing. Try to be away from the main hotel building for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear AnujJ,

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. I personally have taken responsibility to ensure that your review is communicated through to STAFF at the SPA, restaurant and kitchen. Urgent measures has been taken to rectify the shortcomings experienced.

Thank you for the compliments on the rest of the hotel. It is important to know what are doing right and critical to know what we are doing wrong. Please fell free to contact me whenever you are in the area again.

Regards

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    67
    26
    17
    24
See reviews for
32
22
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying in the double self-catering accommodation at White Sands!! The clean, crisp bedding and friendly service has led us to ensure a re-visit here. There is a variety of interesting activities from, island hopping, scuba diving, water sports and a fully equipped water fun park with the rides to match!

We were delighted in beach islands views and 1st world international service. A moving bar on wheels to accommodate your every need and beer in ice buckets to help with the heat of Africa.

A special mention of thanks to Jacques and Carmen who have made our stay perfect! As a Company we will ensure to have our next board meeting here. The corporate facilities are fully equipped to handle any size enterprise.

We have experienced the true meaning of “Karibu Sana” feeling very Welcome!!

Room Tip: A beach facing self-catering room has the unique view and space to match. This gives you rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Charl,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. We are pleased to hear that we have met your expectations and are certainly looking forward to making your next stay even more comfortable.

Rest assured I will share your review with my TEAM. This will certainly motivate them to to do better and strive for even higher levels of excellence.

Regards

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyrvik, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was staying at the hotel in April 2013, with my girlfriend and father in law, and the place is situated quite nicely on the beach.

The Hotel grounds is kept quite nice at all times so the scenery is beutiful, its also quite a tidy place.

Hotel rooms where good, with everything working as it should, and regular cleaning of the room, the roomservice did however tend to come in and spray anti-mosquito spray even tho there where people in the room, which was slightly uncomfortable.

The Bars in this place does however seem a little out of place, with a few of the staff beeing quite unhelpful an alot of people just hanging around instead of helping the costumers, i was quite shocked to find such an unprofessional bar staff at a 4* hotell. They didn't seem to know how to mix a single drink and were basically putting what you told them to put in the glass.

The breakfast at this place is really good, with them serving almost whatever you like for breakfast, and serving staff paying attention all the time, i really enjoyed eating breakfast at this place.

If you want to go to a place to just relax and get some sun, this really is the place to go with beautiful beaches, spa treatment, good food and a gym. If you howevere like to have a drink or beer with that sun, this place still has a long way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Vulstad,

Thank you for taking time to share your review about your stay at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. We really appreciate your comments as it is important for us to know what we were doing right, but more importantly what we were doing wrong.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of service in the bar. Our Barmen are currently under rigorous training to rectify some of the shortcomings you have experienced. We take great care in our GUESTS health and safety at the hotel, but I have to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the mosquito spraying whilst you were present in the hotel bedroom.

Please feel free to contact me whenever you are in the area again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards

Jacques de Jager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was here in January 2013 and absolutely loved it! My only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

I was here for a Commonwealth Regional Meeting and this beautiful place provided the perfect setting - conference facilities were good and the other facilities even better. The Resort staff were pleasant and very friendly! They treated each guest as individuals which is great when you are in a group. The private beach is the perfect way to relax and the hut on the ocean is simply amazing!

The bedrooms were modern and very comfortable! I actually miss that bed! I woke up to the sunrise over the Indian Ocean each day.

The variety of food was commendable! I was apprehensive before coming as I had a horrible experience the last time I had travelled. I was pleasantly surprised; there was something for everyone. White Sands Beach Resort have the best chicken sausages I have EVER had...and I have had many.

The Resort's website doesn't do this place enough justice at all!!!

Aside from the warmth of the people and the heat of the African Sun; I will definitely be back in Tanzania and this is because of the White Sands Beach Resort! In fact I am a plotting a return with my friends- they too deserve to have this unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear FTD10,

Thank you for your heartwarming comments about your stay at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. You will be glad to know that I have shared your review with all the management and STAFF and they are extremely proud of this.

You will be pleased to know that we have upgraded our website and our facebook page too - hotel white sands, resort and conference centre -, so please feel free to share it with friends and family.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Jacques de Jager

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed a couple of times at the hotel on business. The beach is a lovely stretch with some great views; the bar on the pier extending into the water is a spectacular setting. The exteriors are generally well landscaped and well maintained. The restaurant is a good location with lovely beach and sea views.

The rooms are a good size with nice balconies and views. However, the decor is quite dated and the quality of fittings are not up to par. Also, the airconditioners are not well maintained and can fail at times. The place needs a thorough refit to a higher standard to do it justice.

The service lets the place down. With a few exceptions, it can be surly at times and takes ages. The food is distinctively average; and the place can get quite crowded with day trippers over the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Magic Carpet Ride,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. It is always great to see that our GUESTS also appreciate the hotel's facilities and breathtaking scenery.

Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the management and STAFF at Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre for the slow service and below average quality food you ahve experienced during your stay with us. Please note that this by no way reflect the proud service and quality we are usually proud to offer.

Please feel free to contact me personally whenever you are in the area again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Jacques de Jager

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

if you are considering a beach holiday then head to White sands, hotel has a really long beach line and extremely ample space for the kids to play and for you to take a walk or a jog! Beautiful.

However, friends visiting you may have to part with TSH 10,000 at the Gate!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Seme I,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay at Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. Great care is taken to ensure the best possible GUEST service and providing top class facilities at our hotel. You will be pleased to know that we have recently added wood fired pizza to our menu and plaid a stone path alongside the beach area. This will allow jogging and cycling to become more enjoyable. We are also in the process of upgrading our water sport facilities too.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre soon.

Jacques de Jager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed one night for a business meeting.

Note: the hotel is far outside of town (can take 60-90 min in rush hour to downtown DarEsSalaam); but for a business meeting, I would not know why you would want to go there, as there a better alternatives in Dar or in Zanzibar. I also would have some doubts swimming in the bay.

The good: nice grounds, beach and pool, good sized rooms overlooking the gardens and beach.

The bad: Rooms definitely need some updating (e.g. bathroom was old, water pressure was poor) and food is mediocre and un-inspiring.

Service was OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Razzmatazz0,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the White Sands Hotel and Resort. Your feedback is important to us as it is important to know what we do right, but more importantly what we do wrong.

Hopefully the road project will be reaching completion soon and traffic will return to normal, currently we are investigating the possibility of new transport methods via air and sea and hopefully have this option available within the next two to three months.

We are making every effort to make the bay more attractive and we have already received great reviews about other GUESTS enjoying the waters.

Thank you for the compliment on the gardens and grounds and other facilities, great care is taken to make this possible.

Last but not least, we are currently in a refurbishment program and we are doing our best to complete this within the coming months.

Should you be in the area on your next trip to Dar es Salaam, please ask for me and I will ensure that you get the well deserved service we are usually proud to offer.

Yours in Hospitality

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre

Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.