We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great bed, average bathroom and pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peacock Hotel City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peacock Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Peacock Hotel City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bibi Titi Mohamed Street | PO Box 70270, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great bed, average bathroom and pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food was really great and we slept so deeply in the confortable bed.
However, the bathroom was not 100% (broken tiles, ...) and the pool was dirty.
There could be some better places for that price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    31
    16
    7
See reviews for
3
19
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Peacock Hotel offers an inconsistent experience. I stayed there twice in April 2012 and found that the staff could be charming or rude and the rooms could be dreadful or excellent.

The first experience was a late night arrival off a flight from Nairobi. Check felt like an inconvenience to the staff who seemed surprised that anyone would want to stay there . The room on the third floor was poor with awful lighting , cold water - just not what I was looking for.
The check out was a mess with the staff completely uninformed that the bill had already been settled.

I returned a couple of days later to charming reception staff , a lovely room on the fifth floor and overall a much better experience. On this occasion I had a well kept , well fitted room with a comfortable bed.

It seems that a guest needs to make clear that they will be coming and that they expect a good room with good service prior to arrival.

What is consistent about this hotel is the poor quality of the breakfast. The buffet is just not up to scratch perhaps with the one mildly redeeming factor that it opens early if you need to hit the road.

Wifi access is good and included in the price of the room. The young lady who runs the business centre is most heplful and pleasant.

I have stayed elsewhere in Dar sometimes at lower cost and had a better experience. I stayed there it was fine but I would not be looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: The fifth floor is best. Room 517 is a wifi blackspot. maybe ask to see the room before accepting it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I always like the Peacock City Centre. It is convenient to the airport. Staff is friendly and helpful. I find the rooms comfortable and I sleep well. The bar upstairs has a few great dishes if you don't want to venture out to a restaurant. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate. Tanzanian hotel, which is why I like it. I don't need a tourist hotel that is overly expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great hotel, excellent service, good location, terrific breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for 1 night between our flights from Zanzibar to Dar and back home from Dar-es-Salaam to Istanbul and then Moscow.

Hotel looks posh and modern on the outside - all blue glass and metal. Outdated Asian luxury inside. No airconditioning in the corridor. Luckily it worked in the room, but as soon as you go out into the corridor it's like sauna. The same in the elevator, which made strange frightening noises and stopped unpredictably at wrong floors.

Food in the restaurant was mediocre, one of us took fried prawns and got 6 prawn heads and three prawn tails! I had a rib-eye steak - well, the cow must have died of natural casues, and the meat was grilled to blackness in some herbs - I could not cut a single piece, absolutely unchewable. However chicken curry and prawns in white sauce were good, which other members of our groop have ordered.

Then we moved to the bar on the first floor - dark, gloomy, an outdated clinking conditioner.The barman mixed all the orders, brought red wine instead of port (though I pointed it on the wine-list)< the local wine he's recommended was watery, and it took 10 minuted for him to open it.

We trieds to move to the bar on the 7th floor where you can smoke. It is open-air, hot, a small room with 5 tables, a coffee-machine a,d some drinks (beer, soda, etc. No strong drinks). The tables were covered with remnants of food and drink from the coffee-brake (a seminar was taking place nearby). No magnificent panoramic view, as promised - just few semi-built office buildings!

Disappointed we went to have some rest before our 3.am. fllight. No way - traffic noises are too loud, curtains too thin, bathroom is disgusting, with chipped floor tiles and weak flow of semi-warm water.

Do not recommend it even for a one-night stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Had a good very experience, and the quality was similar to world-class hotel.
The service is good, food is great (although costly), good wireless connection and rooms that are nice and quite new.
The location is in city center and very good for business. For leisure I'd prefer staying a little closer to the water front.

On Wednesday evenings they have "Tanzania night" - a party with great local food, live band and African dancing - highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I checked into this hotel for $85 on the promise wifi works in the rooms. The room was a bit smelly but not so horribly compared to the other places. The woodwork in the rooms, lobby, restaurant and common areas is amazing but the floor in the room is covered by ceramic tiles instead of wooded floor or carpets. The towels and the condition of the bathroom is terrible. The wifi in the room didn't work. When I reported, they gave me a cable, moved me to other room and tried everything but it all didn't help. I lost 5hrs of work that night and when I asked them to make good, they claimed the problem could be from my laptop. We tried my laptop in the lobby, wifi works and we took it to the rooms, it didn't.

The food at the restaurant has a local Tanzanian variety over breakfast e.g. Beef broth, fried beef liver, fried sweet potatoes and other international breakfast variety. Unfortunately, I wasn't too impressed with the taste. Some of their staff members and managers were not dressed in uniform and you would not know who they are when they come to ask you how you are doing. The linen in the restaurant is worn out, some burnt, bad taste and in a terrible shape. However, the staff and the management are bunch of nice people who listen to you and try to do their best. They offered to compensate me by moving me to a better room but same type and lower my rate by $10 to $75 a night. I thanked them for their offer and walked away with one night experience to check in at Sea Cliff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peacock Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel City Centre

Address: Bibi Titi Mohamed Street | PO Box 70270, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Hotel City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and personal calm will greet you as you walk into your home-away-from-home in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Offering authentic Tanzanian hospitably, the hotel originally commenced operations in 1992, and stands as one of the city's premier hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Ideally situated in the heart of Dar es Salaam, Peacock Hotels - City Centre & All Suites offers a great location with excellent value. It is strategically located in the city's dynamic business, financial, government offices, shopping, entertainment and educational hubs and within walking distance of connection by boat to Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Peacock Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peacock Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.