We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Africa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Africa Hotel to your Saves list
New Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The New Africa is extremely well located in Dar for the business traveller and for the tourist. Overlooking the harbour in the old city, and walking distance to many of the major institutions in Dar. There are, of course, upmarket 5 star hotel competitors, but the New Africa is very adequate. 2 options for dining - quite adequate. I will be planning on staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are appealing but you will be woken by the music from the Lutheran Chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I am glad that you liked the hotel and the services overall. Its great to note that you will be back soon. You could make the booking via the hotel website or write to me directly. I am sure we shall provide another uneventful and largely pleasant stay in Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    133
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
42
28
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Long time I spend in this hotel and I look on this hotel like on my second home. Very friendly staff, good food. All in all, they are all like one big family.
I recommend it to everyone for a great place in the center of the city and because it is not inferior to some of the great names of world hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for posting a wonderful review of the hotel. Thank you for the honest assessment of the hotel. We are a quality business hotel within the city center and take a lot of pride in being competitive within our price segment. I am glad that you felt the same. I would once again like to thank you for your kind comments and for your continued patronage of the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with excellent service, facilities and location. Complementary drinking bottle water is available. I would highly recommend it. WiFi can be a little slow but cable connection is available.

Room Tip: Ocean facing view is excellent. Church choir can be pleasant or disturbing depending on your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking time to post a review of the hotel. Thank you for your gracious comments on the hotel's location, service levels and the quality are much appreciated. I shall share the same with the team and am sure that they will be very pleased with the feedback.
Hope to host your next visit to Dar in the near future.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is decent compared to the others around it for business visits. The rooms were clean and the overall feel was good. You get to hear soothing music from a nearby Church in the morning. I would surely stay here if I am traveling on business again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

Its indeed very heartening to note that the hotel met your approval. I am glad that you found us competitive within the business hotel set in the city center. I shall share your feedback with the team and am sure that they will be very pleased to hear the same.

Hope to see you seen in Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is appropriate for business travellers. My room was good with a partial view of the ocean but my colleague complained about the noise level from the church across the road in the morning.The meeting room was bad. Staff attitude sucks, right from reception to the coffee shop where they serve breakfast. No smiles, just simple robotic responses to your queries. I was there for 1 night and the overall service was disappointing. Good points though were security (access to each floor was controlled with the key card). Had dinner in the room and they took 75 minutes to delver a pizza!!! No apologies for any delay!!!! Rooms though were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused on account of unsatisfactory service levels. Our team is a very friendly lot and invariable are an affable bunch. I am surprised that they were not warm and considerate during your varied interactions. i have checked on the Pizza order and found out that it was delivered in 40 minutes. This is over our normal time by around 5 minutes. Its still an area that we need to work upon. I shall share your feedback with the team and am sure that the appropriate training will be put in place.

Hope you treat this as a one off and do visit the hotel again.

regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The recent visit by myself has been my fifth visit to Tanzania and New Africa hotel. It is strategically located for visiting the major attractions of Dar. In addition, it allows one to have a refreshing look at the ocean every morning. The atmosphere is homely and the rooms are comfortable and well-equipped. The service quality is very good, with the hotel staff always eager to help. The food is excellent, adding to the attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of the hotel. Thank you for appreciating our overall service levels and also the lovely ocean views from the room. Glad that we have ensured quality on the food and beverage front on a consistent basis. We once again thank you for your views and would like to state that we value your continued patronage of the hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit to Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is appropriate for business travellers. My room was good with a great view of the ocean but several colleagues complained about the quality of their rooms and the noise level from the church across the road. The meeting room was decent but a key drawback is that there were no restrooms on the meeting room level. Food is okay but lacks variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for appreciating the hotel overall. Its unfortunate that we did not manage to provide you with a better experience at the hotel. Your comments have been noted and rest assured that we will take it up within the team and introspect. On a separate note, your comment on the non-availability of a cloak room on the meeting room floor is baffling, We have multiple cloak rooms on every level. The doorway is controlled by an access lock. i am sure that the banquet team members did not guide you appropriately. Apologies for this.

Hope that this stay does not mar your impression of the hotel. I would like to assure you that this is not indicative in any ways of our usually high levels of service. Hope you could give us another opportunity to host your stay.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#15 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.