We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMpressions of New Africa Hotel, Dar es Salam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Africa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Africa Hotel to your Saves list
New Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Accra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“IMpressions of New Africa Hotel, Dar es Salam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Accommodation was excellent, food was excellent and staff were very good

Room Tip: I called for a pressing iron and in less than 5minutes the iron was bought with an ironing board. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Dominic D,

Greetings from Dar es Salaam!

Thank you for appreciating the overall service and the food. Feedback such as yours convinces the team that we are on the right track. I am glad that the team was responsive and prompt. Especially when you requested for an Iron and ironing board. We have a list of extra amenities available and the prompt card is placed on the vanity counter. A lot of guests appreciate the same.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting your next visit to the city.

On behalf of the team,

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    133
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
42
28
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

First impression is very important thus your staff hospitality really impressed me. I enjoyed my stay and your healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset , I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I do apologize at the same time, for my belated response.

Thank you for appreciating the hotel overall. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and also our lovely breakfast spread. Its a very important meal period for most people and a really busy one for us. We try and put out a sumptuous spread at most times. I am glad that you liked it. The kitchen team will be thrilled.

Looking forward to your next visit to Dar.

On behalf of the team,

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

KARIBU.. (welcome) You will hear that as often as people say HELLO in any other place. .. so hello, welcome is the same, KARIBU.

(Assante' is THANK YOU.. )

New Africa hotel, a centrally located hotel in Dar Es Salaam city, Tanzania, is a beautiful hotel property.

Currently it has some renovations going on, but if you really are going to be out of the hotel for most of the time, you need not bother about the noise and other stuff happening around you.

Staff is very cheerful and helpful, but of course there is an odd one out here and there that may displease you totally, don't be shied away because of them, overall, they are a great bunch here.

Food on the first floor restaurant is generally and mostly Indian, but of course part African and part continental too.

Breakfast buffet is lavish with superb staff to wait on you.

Don't miss the harbour view, port view from the 9th floor restaurant, its amazing on a clear night with a full moon, mesmerizing. Drinking beer in the evening or even enjoying one of the best THAI FOOD I have had in DAR, on the 9th floor.

The Thai Chef takes it very very , i mean VERY OFFENSIVELY if you were to go up to the Thai restaurant and ask for CHINESE FOOD. OMG, watch your head. Better still, go to the Thai restaurant and enjoy the Thai food, she is a darling of a chef, fantastic Thai food.

Pool, small but really nice. Well kept.
Small Gym, keeps you in shape.

Around you, banks, shopping, catamaran service to Zanzibar and so much more.

A very safe area and nice hotel to be in.

AIRPORT TO AND FRO.. Watch out. Be ready for the nasty traffic snarls at times running into at least 2 hours to get to the airport or to the hotel. But otherwise, a 40 minute drive for 13 km should not set you in a grumpy mood, enjoy the architecture and drive anyway.

Do not forget to take the BIGGER FERRY just across to an island which has some wonderful beach hotels, this huge ferry plies vehicles and people across too. Its a wonderful day trip.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Rooms for couples or with double bed face the sea and a church, if you are prepared to be awoken by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It was heartening to note that your enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for appreciating the buffet breakfast as well as the food at the Thai restaurant. You would be delighted to know that we now have a chinese chef too. I am sure that he would be adept in handling your specific meal requests. Your kind words on the team members and their service have been noted. I shall share the same with them and sure that they will be super chuffed. Glad that you found the hotel conveniently located.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
GM & director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Yes, the location is good, the electricity worked, and the room was clean, but for the price (which was way higher than we'd ever pay in the USA for an equivalent place), it was absolutely nothing special. The front desk staff seemed bothered by us being there, and the guy who showed us to our room was very pleasant but lingered a bit too long...which may just be an East African thing, we came to realize as our travels progressed. The internet worked but wasn't free, and the Thai restaurant on the top floor was really nice. The breakfast in the morning was a bit of a shocker - the buffet was enormous and seemed to encapsulate all meals and all cuisine types in one...which made me wonder how much goes to waste while people all around live in abject poverty...?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

Its disappointing to note your feedback and the fact that you did not like your stay overall. Your feedback on the front desk team as well as the porter has been noted. We shall take the same up with them. Usually we have reasonably high service standards as elaborated by many other guests in the various reviews on this site. However, its sad that we did not keep the same up during your visit. Your point on the breakfast buffet being elaborate has been noted. Most hotels in Dar provide a substantial breakfast choice and also a varied one. This is due to the fact that the clientele is very multicultural and diverse. We do minimize wastage and do appropriate rechaufe. However you have a valid point.

Overall, we hope that you dont let this stay mar your impression of the hotel. We are soon to finish the overall refurbishment and then we hope you will find something special here!

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at the New Africa for 3 nights 25 - 28th March 2012. Mostly good to say about it - had no problems at all in any department. Food quality perhaps only down fall but hey this is East Africa. Breakfast choice catered for every nationality, European, African and Chinese - and of course the full bloodied English! Didn't use the internet service.

Had a bedroom on 5th floor (550) overlooked harbour and Lutheran church - great view, even better if you can get above the 5th but wouldn't want to go below that. Great sounds coming from the church - even if rather early in the morning but much more melodic than other early morning cries to prayer which you can't escape elsewhere in the city! Harbour side much preferred to courtyard (pool side) which has no view - but that's the alternative if you're not into being woken by gospel!!. Good sized 'Club' room with very comfortable double bed, was refurbished to a high standard and paid $150 per night including breakfast, which was a top end 'fair price' (even though given as a reduction because of the refurbishment works). Fumagation carried out regularly so free of mosi's for peace of mind sleeping without a net but perhaps reason for slightly strange smell to room? Mini bar well stocked and not priced to silly.

In the process of refurbishing its public areas but what is available although small spaces, look good and work well - should be excellent when the larger spaces are fully refurbished and open again. Bar moved to 9th floor during refurbishment, which is a nice lounging area along with the restaurant - again good views out. Other restaurant on 1st floor, where breakfast taken also pleasant - piano player is great and adds a quality touch - don't loose him Mr Manager!!

Not the place to go if you want a good pool. Location not very inviting in daylight and looses the sun quickly - good for a cooling night dip though. Gym guy keen to get you exercising but took full massage instead! Treated respectfully. In fact all staff polite and welcoming everywhere - keep it up and keep it real!!

Great spot for accessing the ferry to Zanzibar without the hassle of getting a taxi, which was my main initial reason for choosing it - even though one has to run the gauntlet of street vendors offering ferry tickets - but no way of escaping that no matter how you arrive!
.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again - at the same price - may think twice if price increases once it is finished as at the moment it is good quality and service for a fair price in a city where there isn't to much to attract one - having said that it is a great haven from the madness outside that is Dar es Salaam!

Room Tip: I can vouch for 550!!! AC good, bed comfortable, shower hot and good view to harbour on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset i would like to thank you for the elaborate review of your stay.

I am glad that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for appreciating the quality and the standards of the refurbished club room. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. I shall convey you compliments to Omar, the piano player. He does add a special touch at breakfast. Thank you for being understanding with the renovation works in the public areas. We should be done in a few months. The new look will be really nice and the feel would be very contemporary. I have noted that you would return only if the room tariff is kept the same. I can assure you that we are not planning any major increase in prices. Please do mail me when you make your next travel plans and I shall be happy to assist with the best price.

Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan,
GM & Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My first time staying at this hotel and was impressed. Initially for one night to be close to Zanzibar ferry we re booked on returning from Zanzibar as well. Staff very competent and helpful especially as we had to catch an early flight . No problems settling bill and getting transport at 04h30

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

Its heartening to note that you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities. I am glad that the team was helpful in getting your ferry tickets booked as well as ensuring that you could check out early in the morning without having to wait. The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the business district, at the same time providing sweeping views of the harbour. I am glad you liked the same.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to Dar.

regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The service was quite fine save for the internet that i was told to pay for and i declined then opted for the use of a cyber cafe outside the hotel.How ever i still find the hotel convenient since it is located in the city centre and taxis are readily available just outside the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad that you found the hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay. We are at the heart of the business district and a lot of guests prefer to stay in a central location as commuting within the city can be quite a hassle. Apologies for the case with the internet. All hotels in Dar charge for the service as its outsourced to one of the few service providers in the city. Internet is a challenge in the city particularly in terms of wifi signal, bandwidth of the cables and dropping frequencies. I guess these will get sorted as and when the back end support improves. Its just a matter of time. Till then we end up paying a premium to the service providers for this critical service and thus the charge. Its something thats complimentary in most parts of the world but it will take a while for the same to be affordable in Dar es Salaam. Hope this clarifies our position on the same.

Thank you and regards,

Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#15 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.