We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again-and Again and will be back soon Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back Again-and Again and will be back soon Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I usually visit Tanzania time and again and fortunate enough to stay at this wonderful hotel. I stayed in the top floor executives and the room was stunning..I love the shower where by i can see the see view as it is not covered. Lovely bed..i always got late to work which is not the case when im at any other hotel. The team is lovely, especialy the service Managers Nana and Moses, they always checked on me when i was not feeling well. I was suprising my wife and they got me flowers placed all over the room petals and a bottle of wine, though the flowers were an extra cost but they were kind enough to arrange them and free white wine. Breakfast was super and it was an exciting stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Crystaltripz,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to provide exceptionally personal service to all our guests. It was a great pleasure in assisting you; we hope your wife loved the surprise! We wish to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    91
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
31
24
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean with good service every day.

The managers are alwasy ready to help and solve any problem.
Wi fi is fantastic.
The best part is the resturant. Fantstic menu and service. A first class operation

For guest staying on a long term basis, their should be some extra services or perks for these guests such as meal vouchers, laundry, or a courtsey one or two nights lodging.

the price is a little high Some discount should be given for long term guests.

Room Tip: the food and shopping court next door is a real plus, especially the market, monoey exchange and pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tornio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was expecting a litlle luxury and relax in a five stars hotel room after a week in Tansania and before almost 20 hours flight back to home.
I got a tiny, poorly cleaned room where noise was worse than in engine room because of outstanding HVAC machine. When I complained management about the noise they offered me a room which one of us had alredy apandoned because of broken window.
The rooms are situated in a busy market center few hundreds meter away from main hotel and from for ex. breakfast room and pool. You have to be fully dressed and go throug the guarded gate to get there. I didn't feel myself like a guest in five stars seaside hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Kris T,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We apologize for the trouble you faced with the rooms however our maintenance team is quite fast in resolving these issues, I have passed your feedback to them. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemi, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From a 5 stars dream to nightmare. From quiet corridor to the middle of shopping center , close to the kindergarden and official toilet which was open whole night. That was my experience about Sea Cliff in Dar Es Salaam. Maybe the hotel building was 5 stars but I got only pay the 5 stars price and sleep in a grabby room, 200 meters from the other guests, but anyway I met them in the breakfast. A good advice my friends, when you´ll take the contact with Sea Cliff ask them where is your room, and don´t take a room in the shopping center, that was not good (*****).Börje

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jukka I,

It is quite sad hearing that your experience at Sea Cliff was not satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience that you faced during your stay with us. The rooms you stayed in are in the ‘Village’, which is an extension of the main hotel. We do not falsely advertise these rooms as Sea view, as their rate is lower than the main hotel. We do take your feedback seriously and therefore our housekeeping & maintenance have been alerted about the problems that you faced during your stay. We hope you give us a second chance to accommodate you in one of our wonderful sea view rooms next time.

Best Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have never been as afraid in any hotel as I was in 5 star Sea Cliff. Noisy room and the smell of waste in my bathroom was already bad enough, but in addition you could smell that there had been smokers before. The room was lonely at the end of narrow and dark hall. The view is outstanding and food was good, so if you aren't going to use your hotel room, I can recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Laael,

We apologize for your unpleasant stay with our Hotel. It is against our policies for guests to smoke in rooms that are allocated as Non-Smoking. The housekeeping team works very hard to ensure that this does not occur. However we are glad that you enjoyed the food & view and hope you give us another chance to accommodate you in our main hotel next time.

Best Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked a hotel from nice 5 star hotel with beautifull locacion close to sea and view. Ended up in a grabby room where paint was falling from the wall, aircondtioner was leaking water inside, windows were not possible to secure and the room was located in a separate building in the middle of shopping center away from the hotel with view to the next door office.

Not really what you could expect from a room that was sold as 5 star room under the brand of one of the best 5 star hotels in Dar and price that was more expensive than Hilton Double Tree or Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam, that I have previously stayded in Dar.

Product was defenetely not as descibed in the web page. Sad that they are getting greedy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear PetteriA2013,

Greetings from Hotel Sea Cliff.

We are very sorry that your stay was with us was unpleasant. Unfortunately, there has been a misunderstanding. The travel agent that you booked through is aware of the difference between the ‘Village rooms’ which you were booked in to and rooms in the main hotel. We always advice all travel agencies to clarify to their guests about the type of rooms that our hotel offers. We understand your disappointment as you were not informed about these rooms however I assure you that our hotel does not falsely advertise these rooms as Sea view. Our website also states this.

The village rooms are an extension of the main hotel & tailor made keeping low budget travellers in mind. For a much lower rate, guests can enjoy the location & all the facilities provided by the main hotel. We apologize for the air conditioner and paint, our maintenance team is very quick in resolving these issues, I have passed your feedback to them.

We hope you will give us a second chance to accommodate you into one of our beautiful sea view rooms next time.

Kind Regards,

Chandni Vithlani, Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Sea Cliff is a wonderful destination. Located outside the hustle and bustle of downtown Dar. The hotel has a great feeling and provides comfortable and relaxing surroundings. The staff is numerous and fantastic. There breakfasts were amazing; fresh, prompt, and served with an ocean view. The Sea Cliff is about 8km from downtown, but with local traffic, traveling to and from the hotel takes just as long as any other comperable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear KTSB,

Thank you for your review. Our location is indeed very unique as the hotel is located right at the edge of the Ocean. We are happy that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere here at Sea Cliff and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.