We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Morogoro, Tanzania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Seacliff hotel has hosted my family at least once per month over the last five years! We are greeted by name and always given a room that we can stay together as a family. The staff and management appear happy and are friendly and welcoming. Snack meals at the pool are divine and perfect for the family with children that get bored sitting in a restaurant. They are happy to be advised if you find any issues or small problems and will immediately send staff to fix or correct any problems. Many times I have left things in the room after checkout and when I call, the item has been handed in and I arrange to collect. So staff are honest which is a big plus. The location is a huge plus, with a dentist clinic, massage/beauty clinic, supermarket, restaurants with children's play centre's, ATM's and other shops all within a couple of minutes walk. Thank you Seacliff for looking after us so well and see you again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best, but quality of all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jo,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is a great feeling to know that a guest had a wonderful time while staying with us. We are so delighted that you and your family always enjoy your stay with us and that Sea Cliff Hotel is like your 2nd home. Our Team takes pride in creating positive experiences and they will be happy to know that they are winning. Your comments which will be shared with them, will reconfirm that their efforts do make a difference.

we hope to welcome you once again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    106
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
21
35
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at the Sea Cliff for business last year and was very impressed. The rooms were good the service was great and the breakfast in the morning was also very good. It was an easy place for colleagues to find and there were restaurants next door. This would also be a great place to start a holiday after arriving in Tanzania, good place to unwind after a long travel for a day or two.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Located in the Peninsula, in the embassie and expatriates quarter, it is a nice location for a few day stay in Dar. Family rooms are spacious and the can host 4 beds without feeling "tight". Bathrooms are big though both rooms we stayed in had shower leaking on the bathroom floor. Nice breakfast at the Karambezi Cafe with friendly staff, the best feauture though is the nice pool with view on the sea

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Simona,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Dar es Salaam.

Thank you so much for taking your time to post a review. The Sea Cliff Team is happy to note that you enjoyed your stay, except for the leaking bathroom. we sicerely apologize for this unacceptable incident, however we have rectified the problem.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Seacliff during March 2012 and the rooms were immaculate, clean and a lovely view over the ocean and the pool. Loved the shower! Service excellent and we will definitely return to the Sea Cliff. During December 2012, we did not pre-book and they were fully booked, but spend our Christmas Day at the Restaurant there and had a super buffet lunch! Location is perfect! We can definitely recommend this hotel! Hope they keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Hannelie,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel.

Thank you very much for the nice review and for the kind words. I will pass your message to our Housekeeping Team. They will be so happy to see their good work is acknowledged.

Thank you and we look forward to welcome again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been staying at the Sea Cliff over the past 10 years and always look forward to going back. Having breakfast in the Karembesi Restaurant watching the sunrise over the Indian Ocean never gets old. Also sitting on the there in the evening when the waves come crashing into the cliff spraying the customers who sit too close is also neat. The location next to the Village with the mix of restaurants and a grocery store is also an asset--you are not incarcerated at the hotel and can easily take a walk over. The staff members have always been helpful and many have been there since I first stayed there and they greet me by name. The pool at the edge of the cliff is very nice. This is my favorite hotel--not pretentious but absolutely delightful.;

Room Tip: Ocean view is best and quietest. The view of the ocean in the early morning is magnificent and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Laylof,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel.

We much apricate you taking time time to comment on the Trip advisor. Thank you so much for the kind words and for aknowledging our staff's hospitality. We are very greatfull for your continues suport and for being our good Ambasador.

Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at Sea Cliff six years in a row, and it only gets better.
Superb staff, great food, and peerless ocean views.
A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
I believe this is the best hotel in Dar-Es-Salaam, and I look forward to visiting next July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dennis,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel.

Thank you for always choosing our hotel as your second home. We are honored! Thank you also for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations in all your visits.
Looking forward to welcome you once again in july.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Dear We Visit this hotel in last September 2012, Good and clean hotel with best food option with children play area, bar, casino, shopping plaza, with lovely atmosphere and locket near to sea real one of the good place in Dar e salam

Room Tip: Sea face rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Raval,
Thank you very much for your lovely Review of our hotel. We apriciate it so much. we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sea Cliff Hotel.We hope to welcome you again soon. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.