We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a great pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a great pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were suppose to have two nights her but due to flights only had the one night. Very nice rooms and the pool was very nice! Away from the city centre which was just fine with us! Food was good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Gary,
Many thanks for choosing Sea Cliff and for the positive review. Very sorry you could not enjoy our facilities a bit longer. But I hope it has given you some ideas for a future visit maybe!

See you again soon and once again your comments are greatly appreciated,

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    91
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
31
24
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent lunch with great service. Good attentive staff and managers. Nice cool green areas in shade with beautiful gardens to stroll along or sit for a while. Clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the positive feedback! On top a fantastic location we are indeed very proud to have as part of our facilities; two of the best restaurants in Dar Es Salaam (Karambezi and Alcove). Those are complemented by the food court next door (Short walk) featuring another dozen of great restaurants, bars, coffees... so there is a choice for everyone!

Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Away from the hustle and bustle of town, this hotel sits right on the water. The restaurant has a gorgeous view of the water. Be sure to sit upstairs in the lounge in the enclosed deck that looks out on the water. Been here 3-4 times in the last year. The bell staff are very helpful in arranging transportation, tickets to Zanzibar, etc. Business center gets the job done with an attendant there. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. There is a collection of stores , restaurants and a grocery store right next to the hotel to stock up on food and supplies.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear William,

Many thanks for the wonderful review, always glad to hear of returning guests pleased with our service and recommending it. Your support is greatly appreciated and we hope to having you again shortly at Sea Cliff hotel.

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is pleasant and the staff are friendly. It is right on the ocean and has great views. The rooms are very comfortable. It is a quieter hotel away from downtown Dar. This was my third stay here and I would recommend it.

Traveler Tip: Try and request a sea facing room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback, it is always great to see a returning guest enjoy visiting the hotel each time. Next time you come down to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me so we can maybe try to see how we can make your stay even nicer.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The views across the ocean were a great way to start the day. The guest relations manager did a great job of accommodating all our plans, trips and changes. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a selection of three different curries at the Alcove restaurant and they were all fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great review and delighted you were pleased with hotel, the staff and the food. It looks like we have ticked all of your boxes.
Just would like to emphasize on your comment about Alcove as it is true most of the time Karambezi (the main restaurant) gets all of the comments as it is where we serve the breakfast and where you have 'THE' view. But indeed the second restaurant in the main hotel, Alcove, serves wonderful Indian food and is definitely to be experienced as well!

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a fantastic base in Dar es Salaam. We stayed there for 4 nights as my husband had a business meeting in the hotel and before going off to explore Tanzania. The hotel is perfect as it combines great business facilities (good meeting rooms, Internet access, efficient staff) but still feels like a holiday resort. The staff is really helpful, friendly and welcoming. There is also a 'Sea Cliff' village a few minutes away which has a few restaurants and cafes, as well as a few shops (special mention to the Green Room with brilliant arts and craft to bring back home!!!).
During the day, I used the swimming pool and enjoyed the views on the Indian Ocean. There is also excellent equipment in the gym, which I felt I had to use! The hotel main restaurant, the Karembezi Cafe, is actually one of the best restaurants in Dar. It is not a bland chain hotel restaurant, it is worth the detour.
We were so happy about our stay that we decided to use the Sea Cliff for our stay in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you and your husband made the most of Tanzania and we are glad Sea Cliff Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar have been an highlight to your trip. Sea Cliff is indeed the perfect stopover for Dar Es Salaam. We hope to have the chance to seeing you again soon!

Karibu tena!

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I traveled to Tanzania to meet dear friends that had relocated there. They had told us, come to Tanzania and experience a great African holiday.The Sea Cliff hotel would be our base for an amazing reunion. I must admit that I have not been disappointed once over the 7 days that we spent together. Everything started out well from the friendly welcome and greetings from the front desk reception. The staff was friendly and very attentive to our every need. We quickly decided to soak the heat and settle in our holidays with a chilled drink from the Karembezi cafe overlooking the ocean. Wow that cafe has personality. The staff once again was friendly, chatty and keen to make sure we had a great time. Every other day at the hotel was conveniently punctuated by a splash at the pool, an energising gym session at the hotel gym and great food at the different restaurants. The room was spacious, clean and equipped with all modern facilities.
The highlight of the holiday was a funky night at the Karembezi to celebrate NYE. The food was delicious, the dancing was crazy and the price was right. I fully recommend this hotel if you are looking for fun, sunny and warm hearted holidays. This is the place to be in Dar. Enjoy your holidays there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kgoudiaby,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and we are delighted to see you enjoyed the hotel and the new year festivities. We did try to make sure it was an unforgettable evening with great food, good music and the fireworks... We certainly hope to welcome you again in the future, maybe for the 2013 New Year's Eve!

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.