We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay in Dar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay in Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in the Coral Beach and had a wonderful time! The room was large, clean, well laid out and had a lovely view. The air con worked extremely well and the wifi connection was instant. The bed was large and comfy and the hotel went to the extra trouble of putting up a mosquito net up for us. The shower was great- wet room style with plenty of hot water. The usual toiletries were available and there were plenty of towels The only thing that we suggest needs improving is the lighting in the bathroom, which was very dim.

The staff are one of the hotels best assets - friendly, attentive, professional in all aspects. They were great to chat to, giving us tips to improve our Swahili.

The little beach area was very nice however there were no sun beds on there. We did requested to have 2 sun beds moved to the beach but the request never happened as there was some confusion as to whose permission was required. Perhaps having 2/ 4 sun beds permanently on the beach area would improve this situation.

We enjoyed ALL the food that we ate there however we do agree with the previous reviewer that menu is not very extensive. With some creativity the menu could be extended - perhaps the staff could be consulted about this and they could come up with some new dishes of their own.

In summary we had a really comfortable, pleasant stay in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay when visiting Dar Es Salaam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - better views and layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

it was our pleasure in assisting you in putting up a special Mosquito net.

as far as the Sun Loungers are concerned, they are in fact already ordered and will hopefully arrive soon.

Our new Executive Chef will review our Menu and we will introduce a more comprehensive Dinner Menu soon.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    94
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
30
49
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My first business visit to Tanzania and I stayed at the Hotel for two nights only. When judging the Hotel we need to remember that it is in Africa and not in a first world country, and by these standards they are GOOD, very GOOD. It is a bit expensive, and yes I paid less per night in Europe, but I was very satisfied with the service, location, room and bathroom.
The room was adequate, I even had a fully stocked mini bar. Air conditioner worked perfect - you need that!
Staf was very friendly and helpful. They were always at the background and reacted when ever called and did what you required quite quickly.
One area that they can maybe look at is their menu. It is not a very big selection and I found the choices limiting.
For tourists and business, if you do not have the funds to stay in the big name Hotels, this will be a good alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you for your valuable feedback. We are always working hard to ensure that our Guest are satisfied.
Our prices are very reasonable in comparison to other hotels in the City of equal standing and location.
We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Not great value for the money. We had booked a room with a king bed but received a room with two twin beds. The beds were bad- not comfortable at all and the bathroom was run down and poorly designed. The service to the room was very slow; half an hour to get missing towels and nearly an hour to get someone to look at the defective safe.

The room itself however was fine and the hotel, the bar and restaurant areas were nice. It was a great location to watch beautiful sunsets and the staff was friendly.

The food on the other hand was awful - even airline meals are better. My fiancé describes it as "atrocious" and a "culinary disaster". The breakfast buffet was ok, but the dinner food certainly gave a lot of room for improvement.

The area itself was nice and felt safe. It was walking distance to the Slipway which is a shopping area with a great selection. I was disappointed about the "beach". It advertised that it has a private beach, but it was in fact just a sandy area on the hotel grounds with no access to the ocean. I would probably only come back if I received a heavily reduced rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. I have taken up your points with the Room Division to ensure that any room related service is improved where required.

On the food side, I respectfully disagree. We have many guest who enjoy our food - maybe it was just not to your personal taste?

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Rooms are nice, airy and clean. Lovely pool and great place for sunset drinks. A la carte restaurant is great setting with good food. Residential area close to a couple of small malls for shopping and restaurants. Nice location but only small man made beach. Sea access to area which seems to collect debrise so not able to swim. But to be honest you don't come here for the beach, just a warm, friendly place to relax for a few days wirh good facilities, service and food. Would stay here again if back in Dar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

I am really pleased that you enjoyed our service and friendly staff and off course our spectacular sunset.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sum up of another stay in this hotel : No respect of your bookings preferences, Internet working or not ! Awful odours of food cooking from the restaurant, insects in the room, very noisy at night (even after midnight), bathroom is middle age style and design, no armchair in the room, stains and not clean chair pillows... Food is acceptable but very little portion for the price invoiced. Except the garden and the close sea .. this is not the most relaxing place to stay as the attitude and the service is really not satisfactory. Hotel make regularly overbookings so you can be at the end put in another hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Sir,
thank you for your feedback - I found it rather interesting to read your report knowing the reality.
Firstly, we did not confirm a specific room, but as it is customary, one confirms a room category. This category of room was ready for you on your arrival.
The way you presented yourself at the reception on arrival at the Hotel was far away from being a professional individual, hence trying to portray the hotel in the way you do to satisfy your personality trait. In my over 20 years of experience in the Hotel field, once in a while one comes across an individual like yourself - hence I take your comment with a smile and know where it comes from.
Yours truly
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stay was wonderful, I stayed in the room number 3109, view from this room was awesome. Its like I am staying on some kind of island, swiming pool in the hotel was awesome and it is big in size, its grt man even front dest people done a tremendous job upon arrival and through out my stay. It was my first visit but whenever I have to in dar se salam I will always prefer to stay in this hotel. Thanks once again to the hotel team for making my stay remember.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your valuable feedback. It is always encouraging to read from our guest how much they enjoyed staying withy us as we surely do our best to provide high customer satisfaction and always look for ways to give our guest a warm welcome.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights before flying back home after our Tanzania trip. This was supposed to be relaxing two days in a good quality, comfortable hotel. And it was... with one exception.
Let's start with the positives - very nice room, clean, spacious, modern, comfortable bed, a very nice and comfortable place to spend two lazy days and nights. Room service nice and efficient. Bar and restaurant - no thrills but very decent food, we were satisfied with the quality of breakfast / lunch and dinner. Also the quality of service was very good, the staff was really nice and attentive.
But one thing we found totally unacceptable. At the check out, when it came to paying the bill, it turned out that 4 out of 6 bills from restaurant, bar, etc on the summary were not ok. Mini bar usage summary was showing items we have not consumed, one restaurant bill was fake (we never consumed things listed there and never signed the bill) and two other bills were "rounded up" (quite significantly). We ended up having at least 20 minutes long discussion trying to explain this. In the end we paid only for what we have actually used and consumed, but the bitterness that you can not trust what you are charged in a (presumably) good hotel is left.

Therefore, even though in all other aspects I would assess hotel as very good or excellent, I give an overall mark of average and average / poor marks in Value and Service quality. If the case we had was due to mistake - then the staff definitely needs more training. If it was deliberate... well... then no further comments needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback. A open feedback enables me to ensure that we achieve high customer satisfaction.

I personally investigated all points mentioned by you and indeed found mistakes done by one of our team members.
I am however pleased to state that on your checkout fortunately our Rooms Division Manager was personally dealing with you and already rectified the discrepancy for which we sincerely apologize.
I can assure you that the issue has been dealt with in a diligent manor and the staff members in question who were responsible for the errors have undergone a appropriate counseling.

I look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Tanzania.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with amazing Sea Views, 8km From Dar Es Salaam City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.