We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice, but!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has an ideal location close to the water. Some driving into the city center but nothing that should scare you off. Nice small swimming pool with a limited amount of sunbeds. The property it selves aren’t particularly big so you know this place and it's comforts within short time. Nothing much to say about the room I’ve got. Nice and clean with functioning air condition. What more to require.
The seaside restaurant is very good. Nicely priced dishes served well prepared. The service there were also excellent.

The two downer's is firstly the internet connection. It's very slow and limited coverage. In these days hotels should understand this is perhaps the most important thing business customers react on and it’s so easy to do something with it. Especially in the DAR area.
Secondly the breakfast. Very limited choices of cold cuts. Actually non. One type of cheese were served and this was the kind were the slices are packed into plastic. Terrible.
Lot of hot local food but being European this thing are a little heavy for me early in the morning. The last day I stayed there I understood eggs were served on request. Fine but why make the guests aware of this then?

Otherwise this is a nice hotel with good service and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We had indeed a challenge with our Internet as one of the main part "blew" up so to say. Unfortunately we could not get it in Dar es Salaam - so as you say it is easy in Dar, it is in fact not quite that easy as many items are simply not available especially when a specific part breaks.
We however managed to get that part shipped from Dubai and it is all working fine.
Are we are in the process of upgrading our Breakfast offering, in future you will see a very different kind of choice. Many of our Guest however enjoy the hot food.
Again, thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    95
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
30
49
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice rooms. Nice bar and food. The service was good except for a few things.
I was here on a business trip and couldn’t get internet access in my room. Neither the WIFI nor the Ethernet plug worked. I did ask and a guy came up and basically agreed that I couldn’t get any internet. He also informed me that none of the ethernet cable work at all! This is quite annoying, as I had to basically sit in the lobby to work.
They have a guy Arthur who works here and, if you are English, will put on a stupid English accent the whole time he talks to you. Sounded more Australian and pi@@ed me off.
You also cant make calls outside of the hotel easily. To make a local call you have to phone down to reception and they call it, and ring you back o put you through!
And international calls are not possible at all. I am going to have a massive mobile bill when I get home.
We were in the newish wing with nice rooms with god views. The showers were bad going hot and old and changing in strength. It wasn’t too much of a bother though.
I wouldn’t return again. I found the lack of Internet very annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
just before your arrival the main distribution switch which provides internet to all floors blew.

Unfortunately the part was not available here in Dar es Salaam and a complete new one was not available either as these are POE switches. We managed to buy one in Dubai and had it brought to us asap. Once the new item was installed, the internet challenge is resolved.

As for the Telephone calls, the Tanzania Telephone Corporation has not repaired the damaged telephone lines to the whole area. We are in constant touch with them but they are indeed taking their time - we apologize for any inconvenience but in todays world almost anybody uses Mobile Phones anyway.

I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When we opened up the door to our 5th floor room we were greeted by an amazing ocean view of the sun setting in the distance. It was a lovely welcome after a long journey. Both the room and bathroom were clean and the bathrooms had soaps, lotion and shampoo.

Breakfast in the morning was tasty with a a nice selection of fruits, pastries and other breakfast items. The restaurant overlooking the ocean is beautiful and the perfect place to eat a meal at sunset. Prices may be slightly more expensive than other restaurants but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile.

The pool area was quite nice as was the small sandy beach area. When asking questions, staff were quite helpful. Laundry service was quick and overall the stay was fantastic.

It was a lovely way to begin our stay in Tanzania.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for your feedback. we appreciate any guest comment. Our restaurant is offering a quality selection of food and our pricing is in fact below other top end restaurants in Dar es Salaam.
We are looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

When we entered the room, our first reaction was "waow !"
Nicely furnished with a beautiful wooden floor, our room was great and the large terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean is fantastic. It was indeed very confortable however, when you enter the bathroom, the feeling of contentment stops right there ! It's small, looks old and needs to be redone ASAP.
The restaurant was good and the staff very nice. The tables and seats are not appropriate to the standard of the place while the bar's got beautiful wooden ones.
There is a slight lack of professionnalism upon check-in. When we reserved, we enquired about a possible pick-up at the boat arrival from Zanzibar and never got any answer, not even to say "we don't do it but here is our advice..."
Also, we were assigned room 5109 which is not signalized. It's part of the 2 bedrooms suite #5105 but there is no way of finding it by yourself without the proper indication. How come they can send guests alone to find a "non existing" room number is beyond our imagination !
Anyway, it was a nice stay in a nice place and the slights "gaps" are totaly fixable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.
Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality service.
The Bathroom of room 5109 is indeed smallish - this is due to building constraints. The beauty of this room is however that the actual room with its amazing Balcony makes more than up for this.
As far as our restaurant is concerned, we are in the process of upgrading our restaurant and new tables and chairs have already been ordered.
As far as the rooming to your room, I am extremely sorry for this incident. As the General Manager I am surprised to see such kind of feedback about our receptionist. Be assured that management is very series in addressing this shortcoming on our part.
I am however pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berg en Terblijt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in Coral Beach Hotel from 30 May to 11 June with a short break to visit Mikumi and Chalinze Mzee.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Although we had a standard room for the first night, this mistake was corrected the day after and we moved to the booked room with sea view. The room was excellent and was kept very clean. The housekeeping was very attentive.

The hotel has a great location, beautiful gardens, friendly and attentive staff, and an excellent and service-minded management.
The restaurant has good food in a fantastic beachside setting.

Coral Beach has a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. You can just enjoy Dar es Salaam without feeling like you are in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family and we look forward welcoming you back as in future as we have now almost completed our new look at our Palm Garden Cafe - I am sure you would enjoy it.
Best personal regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I organised a dinner party at Coral Beach Hotel for 30 people and I must admit the Food and Beverages Manager I worked with was simply great. He was so professional, patient and kind. He managed the dinner set up, location, food, drinks and waiting staff and every other detail very well. Thanks to him, our dinner party was a big success and all the guests had a fantastic time!

My husband and I also spent the night at the hotel and again, management made sure we were well taken care of - so following our dinner we had a good night sleep in our beautiful suite overlooking the Indian Ocean.

Asante sana Sandeep

Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your valued feedback. We always strive to give excellent customer service and I personally appreciate that you mentioned Sandeep in your review as he indeed is one of our shining stars.
We look forward welcoming you back for another dinner party.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of days before taking a long-haul flight back to Europe. The location cannot be faulted - it's spacious and airy, right on the beach a few hundred metres north of the Yacht Club. Service was fine, though our room was perhaps not as clean as it could have been, and there were a few glitches (with ac and with door locks). It's not particularly cheap, but they do some discount on early bookings, which is worth having.
I would have no problem staying here again. I've given it 3 out of 5, but it's probably closer to 3.5!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
we apologize again for the inconvenience caused with the Air condition and the Door Lock - "Murphy" was at work; I appreciate your honest feedback. We checked the room regarding the cleanliness as you state and actually could not find anything wrong as unfortunately you did not provide us any information whilst staying with us as we would immediately act on any remark we receive. As we gladly offered to shift you to a different room I am sure that you will visit us again soon. Again, thank you very much fro your feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with amazing Sea Views, 8km From Dar Es Salaam City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.