We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable trip t the coral beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tanzania
1 review
“Hospitable trip t the coral beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for good 12 nites, The view near the eating palce is beautifull.If You are planning to swim it has the best swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and modern designed. The breakfast doesnt have lots of variety of cuisine but daily they change their menu so there is thrill in eating.The Staff is well behaved cooperative and self motivated. You will always see a smile on thier faces and will be greeted nicely.Menu for luch and dinner is good as well chef can make the food of yr choice if your stay is lon g and u r bored with the menu. The only small isuue i had was the key of the room which made me give me excercise fron my room to the reception to change it tht needs to be fix. Overall its a splendid place to stay.

Room Tip: New buliding, the twin bedroom. Or family bedroom with balcony view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    101
    46
    10
    13
See reviews for
32
51
25
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fantastic location on the seaside. Beach under construction, but great pool with sun set vistas. You can walk to the teach club beach at low tide. Rooms quiet, clean and spatious.

Bar staff pushing drinks too hard and interrupting table conversations far too frequently. Food was ok.

Room Tip: You must get a room with a balcony: sensational views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sir,
as the newly appointed General Manager of the Hotel, I appreciate your positive and constructive feedback. Be assured that I will look into the matter as stated by you and ensure a positive guest satisfaction so that on your return you will have total enjoyment. Again, thank you for your feedback. With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very pleasant hotel with wonderful ocean views across the bay with all the yachts. Fine swimming pool (why does it take 35 minutes to get us towels?) and good food beside the ocean (but why oh why have a big tomato ketchup bottle on every table and sent out with every room service meal? This destroys the sense of fine dining and becomes a low-class caff). Rooms in the new wing are spacious and well-ewquipped (oddly positioned TV) and some - not all - have uninterrupted ocean views. Good buffet breakfast and pleasant short walks within the grounds, but don't expect a beach as such. Short taxi ride to shops and other restsaurants. About 15 minutes into Dar centre (60+ at rush hours). Arthur at Reception can solve most problems.

Room Tip: Look at more than one room and negotiate. Strike a balance between a great view and interior facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
as the newly appointed General Manager, I like to express my most sincere thanks and appreciation for your valued feedback. I have duly noted your positive feedback and the few concerns and can assure you that I will look into the matter at hand and do the necessary. The Towels are already waiting for you at the Pool and we look forward welcoming you back soon to the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

They lied to us about our room rate and would not back down. The place is OK but not for the money. The restaurant food is hit and miss. Some quite good, some inedible. There is no beach as advertised and the pool is very small. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sir,
as the newly appointed General Manager effective today, I have read your valued feedback and would like to express my appreciation for your detailed response. I will look into the matter and will attempt to correspond to you directly as I like to assure you that I take any response, especially one such as yours, very serious and see it as an inspiration to ensure that on your hopeful return you will have positive memories that will last a lifetime. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After over 24 hours of travelling and arriving at 9pm at night you do not expect your pre booked hotel to not be available and they pack you off to some cheaper alternative without sea view a few miles down the road but this is what we experienced and were given conflicting reasons as to why. On this basis you would expect the manager to apologise in person but no and instead left it to his staff to face the music.

Despite this this hotel is actual very good with views over the sea and rooms, which in the new wing are very spacous and well equiped. Obviously the higher your room the better the view. The staff are enthusiastic and charming. There is lanscaping work going on in the gardens and beach area but his did not impact upon our enjoyment. The bar in the garden has 3 screens showing most major sport vents live and the evening terrace restaurant is a wonderful relaxing setting.

The hotel like for other arranged our airport pick up and this was very effiecent and there are taxis costing £2 to get you to the Slipway area to take day trips to the outlying island,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam,
effective today I joined the Hotel as General Manager and one of my first actions is to view the valued feedback of our esteemed guests. I appreciate your feedback and can assure you that I will look into the matter at hand. Again, thank you and I look forward welcoming you back to the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an excellent choice of hotels in Dar Es Salam. The rooms are spacious, clean and everything works. The bathrooms are also large and well equipped. The staff are well trained and accommodating. The outside beach front restaurant if it is not raining is charming. The breakfasts is provided buffet style and has a wide range of offerings including custom made eggs on the spot. In the evening it is quiet which is very nice. There are other hotels like the Slipway just down the street with more social ambiance and activity if this is what you want. Since I was there for a Danida conference and got a discounted rate, the value for money was excellent. Veronica manning the reservation desk is also excellent. I highly recommend this well run hotel, that has a clean pool, nice workout gym and fast wireless internet everywhere. The improvement that could be done is with the business center which still is limited. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. Having a room with a balcony is a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A great option to stay in Dar and would definitely stay again.

It doesn't really have a beach, but for me that was not important at all. My room had an amazing view - sunsets were incredible.

Hotel arranged for a taxi to pick me up at the airport. The guy was great and I ended up hiring him for 4 days.

Food and the bar area was amazing - looking straight out over the ocean. So relaxing at the end of the day, with fantastic service. All of the staff are a credit to the Best Western.

Breakfast was ok - although all I need an omelette and 6 coffees and I'm happy.

Room was huge - great bathroom and very clean. Hotel has complimentary WIFI which is always a winner in my book.

There is a small shopping centre about a 1km walk from the Best Western. Was very easy to get to for supplies.

I had a day spare, so I decided to take the ferry across to Zanzibar for the day. Couldn't recommend this enough if you have time - although you probably wont want to leave.

Room Tip: Sea-facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with amazing Sea Views, 8km From Dar Es Salaam City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Coral Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.