We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - possible credit card fraud at hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Warning - possible credit card fraud at hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Other than the dirty rooms, the lack of hot water, and a man I assume to be the hotel manager calling the room after 10pm and threatening to collect payment immediately half way through our stay, everything was wonderful.

Oh, except for that this is the only place in Dar es Salaam I used my Amex card to pay, and within 24 hours two fraudulent bookings for flights had been made using the card. I'm not going to make any direct accusations, but I'd be extremely careful using cards in this hotel. Frankly, there are several better hotels within a mile, so go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    26
    20
    31
See reviews for
16
17
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A bit too much out of town if you have to have meetings there, but perfectly right if you need to attend a conference or several meetings in the residential area north of Dar. The most stunning are the undisturbed views onto the ocean with to the right in the far distance the (few) skyscrapers of Dar. Also the most beautiful pool area of Dar I think, surrounded by a big garden in which the largest marquee of Dar is standing. No wonder the place is a favorite with locals to have their wedding parties .... The rooms are good and just well enough maintained, but it is true that a general overall refurbishment "to put it back in full shape" is recommanded. Rooms are big and confortable, clean, fantastic airco ... everything works well, just not enough channels on TV and wifi sometimes a bit slow. A nice surprise is the restaurant on first floor : for breakfast it is just okay, nothing more, but we had two times lunch here and I must say I found the seafood soup and the grilled catch of the day very extraordinary, you do not expect that good food quality in a hotel. Be sure to go out in the evening, as it can be a bit of a boring place with no real bar. Airport pick up and transports around in the area or the city can be organised, just ask Manu one of the indian guys at reception, he is extraordinay, or Theodora the young greek biz development lady

Room Tip: there are two wings, take the wing on the side of the lobby where you have the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam.

Thanks & Regards,

Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel last month. Despite some of the poor reviews I tool a risk and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is wonderful and has a brilliant location overlooking the Indian Ocean. The service was very hospitable and I will definately be staying here next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor. It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Rooms are large and comfortable. Great pool area and ocean views, but lacks ambience. No bar and very basic restaurant and coffee shop. Overall good value, but be prepared to have to go out in the evenings for any form of night life. Staff are helpful and friendly. I stay here regularly on business trips by choice over supposedly higher rated (and more expensive) hotels on the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I just returned from Golden Tulip yesterday. I would say it needs major refurbishment. Staffs are friendly but they need little bit warm up and did go through regular training. I felt like some staffs never got any training but didn't face major problem as they were flexible. Lift doesn't work and breakfast is very basic. If you are ordering something from kitchen at breakfast make sure they repeat your order. Staffs at coffee bar don't understand English well so you may end up with wrong one. Also they were quite slow serving orders. Room was big and spacious. I asked for see view but it was a road+sea view. Wifi was free but was not great, they need to increase the speed. Also sometimes it doesn't work properly. Cable TV was not great. Picture quality was bad. Room amenities were simply an okay. Towels were dirty. I didn'tuse their towels as I carry my towels all the time. Now let me talk about the good stuff. It has the amazing view of the sea which you might not get from other hotels. I will go there again if they improve the quality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details.

Please do visit us again and give us more opportunities to serve you

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I opted to stay at the Golden Tulip because I assumed it would have beach access, unfortunately this was not the case so we only slept at the hotel.

Breakfast was passable however even though I had paid for breakfast I opted to pay for breakfast else where. The fruit was edible.

While I didn't eat at the resturant, I would not recommend it as freshness is questionable.

The hotel itself is in a great location but sadly needs a major revamp to realise its true potential. There are loads of better choices elsewhere in Dar es Salaam.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hands down they have the pool with the best view in Dar es Salaam. The hotel is ideally located on the peninsula close to all the major attractions in town. The service is great with a friendly and proactive staff and the rooms are very comfortable and offer great views. Will certainly be staying here again on my next visit to Dar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam and taking out your valuable time to share your thoughts. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience here.

At Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, we always strive to provide our guests a memorable stay with personalized services and are glad that we could exceed your expectations.

We would be privileged welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam always

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Address: Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Golden Tulip Hotel - Dar es SalaamFor a luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam, a pearl on the Indian Ocean, is located on the Msasani Peninsula, one of the Dar es Salaam’s most tranquil and elegant neighbourhoods. It is 4 kilometres from the city centre, main business area, international organisations and embassies, while the airport is just 18 kilometres away. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers exclusive services to its guests. With an interior inspired by a blend of Arabic and Swahili cultures Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides a unique and comfortable experience, starting from the lobby through to the large spacious rooms. Free wireless internet is available, making it the ideal hotel for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Golden Tulip Dar es Salaam has 84 full-sized rooms, 4 Executive Suites, 2 Diplomatic Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. All rooms and suites have a private balcony and offer all the comforts you would expect of an international hotel on the East African Coast. They are air-conditioned and are equipped with satellite television, a large writing desk, in-room safe, direct dial international telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are all equipped with hairdryers. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and laundry services. Both restaurants provide a unique dining experience in a relaxing environment be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sanaa Restaurant a la carte restaurant, located on the first floor provides a panoramic view of the ocean while Ocean View Grill & Bar directly overlooks the ocean. Le Rendez-Vous Café is open all day for that informal business meeting over tea or coffee, or simply for a nice break, which will not be complete without one of the chef’s fresh pastries. Additional business and leisure facilities include spacious banquet and conference rooms, which provide ideal venues for meetings, conferences and weddings for up to 500 guests while the infinity pool offers that is perfect for a quiet moment of leisure with stunning views of the Indian Ocean in the backdrop. With competitive rates throughout the year, Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides great value for money in an ideal setting. A luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.