We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First hand experience of Best Western Coral Beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant

Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant
Coral Lane, Masaki, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255222601928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 175 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Ngalawa Sea Front Restaurant at the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel offers a continental cuisine with a specialty in seafood,but the menu offers plenty of other delightful gastronomic choices as well. Enjoy the open-air setting with fantastic ocean views.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“First hand experience of Best Western Coral Beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Coral Beach Hotel is one of a kind vis-a-vis the location. After travelling for about 11 hours it was so refreshing to be received by a staff who was so alert even at 02.30am (Arthur). He took time to discuss my room preferences with me and I found this a nice welcome. I was accommodated in the hotel for about a week so enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The restaurant was another interesting place.....food was good, served hot and services of staff like Janeth commendable.

Overall the ambience was excellent; it was home away from home!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, General Manager at Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your lovely feedback. we appreciate that you enjoyed our Hotel and our restaurant as our Chef is always willing to go the extra mile for our Guest.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notodden, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best resturantvisits ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have traveled the world for many years in business, and I have eaten at many hundreds of restaurants. We waited a few minutes before our table was ready, had no reservation. Was presented with a short menu, but it contained all the things a gastronomic mouth would like. Waiter was a nice man, speaking English, french, swahilli, and very very polite. We ordered King Prawns and Grilled Lobster, and it was made very well, just enough grilled so it was tender as velvet. Very dedicated presented. When we finished eating, the chef came and asked if it was ok, and that is a treat we dont find anywhere else.
And when we were presented with the bill, that too was a positive surprise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear sir and Madam,
thank you very much for your review. we are very honoured that you enjoyed having dinner with us, especially you are coming from a Seafood Country like Norway.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Thank you and kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant
proudly managed by
Formula 10 Hospitality Group Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, good ambiance, western standards!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent seaview veranda style restaurant in a relaxing environment. Here you can taste western style food with a local twist. I visited this place twice in a week and tasted the lobster entree, red snapper entree, goat meat dish and the steak. All cooked very well. Side salad was abundant and very fresh. French fries could be a bit more crispy. House wine was okay and the beers were cold. It helps that the restaurant is in the expatriate quarter where you are not harassed and can enjoy your evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your review - we appreciate your valuable feedback.
I am sure that when you return you will enjoy the food as you did last time.
We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant
proudly managed by
Formula 10 Hospitality Group Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice venue but really quite average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have to confess that I had high hopes for this place and schlepped 20 minutes out of town to get to it.

The food was average, the wine average and the service average.

Hotel looked nice though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your feedback - we appreciate any honest and constructive feedback.
I would have been nice if you would have shared with us real details of exactly what was "quite average" because the way you write is very broad and does not allow us to look into any specific details as we always strive to improve wherever possible. Fortunately the vast majority of our average 30 to 40 diner a day enjoy our offering, setting, service and food.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Dar es Salaam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Ngalawa Seafront in the Coral Beach Best Western Hotel in Dar es Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania is the best restaurant in Dar es Salaam. A Business Associate and I have spent three weeks in Dar es Salaam and have eaten at the Ngalawa Seafront at least 4 times and every time the experience has been perfect. The food is great, the wine is great and the service has been exceptional each time. The view of the sea is also a great plus. I would recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
it is indeed a pleasure having you here at our Restaurant many times which undoubtedly has the best location, food and service in Dar es Salaam and we continuously bstrive to continue to improve. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon for many more experiences at our Seafront Restaurant.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.