We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian breeze...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Sea Cliff Hotel | Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
+255 (78) 704 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 190 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
Corfu, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Indian breeze...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice atmosphere,though the stuff could be less stressful ...The minute you sit, they come,when you have finished your beer they come again to take the glass,they are in a hurry to take everything....The food is great, the sea breeze wonderful...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When living in Dar as an expat, sometimes you miss a good steak or pasta. At Karambezi, you know for sure that your food will taste great, that the service will be attentive and friendly, and - very rare in Dar - that the food will be served within maximum 20 minutes, as compared to the usual 1,5 hours! The views are stunning and the wine is excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“kinda OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food wasnt so good i found it tasteless and its soo formal,food takes really long time the waiters are friendly yes but there is something missing like a feeling of " feel at home we are here for you" honestly i did not get that and i would not like to go back there

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner at Karembezi last night- we picked lighter options as we were not terribly hungry and some of the normal meal size portions are quite expensive, but the food was delicious and we had room fro some of their delectable desserts!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“The Best Venue in Dar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the best bar or cafe venue in Dar hands down. It is on a cliff by the ocean! Come on!

Yes it is a bit pricey but there is just nowhere else like it, naturally air conditioned, good food, good drinks and great atmosphere, if only I could live here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karambezi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.