We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Sea Cliff Hotel | Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
+255 (78) 704 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 193 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner at Karembezi last night- we picked lighter options as we were not terribly hungry and some of the normal meal size portions are quite expensive, but the food was delicious and we had room fro some of their delectable desserts!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    91
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“The Best Venue in Dar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the best bar or cafe venue in Dar hands down. It is on a cliff by the ocean! Come on!

Yes it is a bit pricey but there is just nowhere else like it, naturally air conditioned, good food, good drinks and great atmosphere, if only I could live here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemba, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Feel the Sea Spray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Brilliant location on the rocks with glass panels protection you from the wind and the spray. Upmarket mood with friendly tones. The menu has a 5 star room service feeling but the quality is good. I find the pricing a bit stiff but then again you are in the Sea Cliff company. Out side seating is great. Secure parking.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Breakfast, lunch, dinner or wine with friends, the food is terrific and the view of the Indian Ocean spectacular. Markus de Smidt and his excellent staff make every meal enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stopped staying at the SeaCliff hotel for bad service. But I always like to dine here. The view is like no other. And Breakfast with Grace is a real treat. Always say hello if she is on duty. Will be back on my next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karambezi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.