We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Venue in Dar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Sea Cliff Hotel | Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
+255 (78) 704 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 186 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Café, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“The Best Venue in Dar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the best bar or cafe venue in Dar hands down. It is on a cliff by the ocean! Come on!

Yes it is a bit pricey but there is just nowhere else like it, naturally air conditioned, good food, good drinks and great atmosphere, if only I could live here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    85
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pemba, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Feel the Sea Spray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Brilliant location on the rocks with glass panels protection you from the wind and the spray. Upmarket mood with friendly tones. The menu has a 5 star room service feeling but the quality is good. I find the pricing a bit stiff but then again you are in the Sea Cliff company. Out side seating is great. Secure parking.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Breakfast, lunch, dinner or wine with friends, the food is terrific and the view of the Indian Ocean spectacular. Markus de Smidt and his excellent staff make every meal enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stopped staying at the SeaCliff hotel for bad service. But I always like to dine here. The view is like no other. And Breakfast with Grace is a real treat. Always say hello if she is on duty. Will be back on my next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A HUGE meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had dinner here with a group of eight friends for one friend's 50th birthday. The meal was pre-arranged and the food just kept comming! Platter and bowl after platter and bowl of food arrived; fish , beef,chicken, lobster vegetables, rice, etc. etc. It got to be a joke when we saw them coming with another round of food. All of it was well prepared and very fresh. We arrived well after dark so we could not take advantage of the great location but we did sit outdoors in lovely spot. The restaurtant looked very busy and I also noticed a case of beautiful pastry.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karambezi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.