We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Sea Cliff Hotel | Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
764 700 607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 163 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stopped staying at the SeaCliff hotel for bad service. But I always like to dine here. The view is like no other. And Breakfast with Grace is a real treat. Always say hello if she is on duty. Will be back on my next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    72
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A HUGE meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had dinner here with a group of eight friends for one friend's 50th birthday. The meal was pre-arranged and the food just kept comming! Platter and bowl after platter and bowl of food arrived; fish , beef,chicken, lobster vegetables, rice, etc. etc. It got to be a joke when we saw them coming with another round of food. All of it was well prepared and very fresh. We arrived well after dark so we could not take advantage of the great location but we did sit outdoors in lovely spot. The restaurtant looked very busy and I also noticed a case of beautiful pastry.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

one of the best spots in town to dine, lounge or have lovely sundowners on the bar.
great location, clean kitchen and fine dishes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

nice views, good fod. Has breathtaking views, can be windy in the evgs. The glass wall provides some protection. I had time to spent as I was with my family, hence did not mind the slow service. Service could be faster. Otherwise a nice place to spend your evenings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Value - good food and atmosphere, must try in Dar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was the first restaurant I visited with colleagues and friends when I was in Dar. The service was good, no real issue with the speed of staff or anything of that nature. It was well into the evening when we got there so the view was of the distant ships waiting to dock but we could hear the waves. The breeze is not in-your-face, thanks to the restaurant barrier. There was a good crowd of people, a healthy mix of foreigners and locals.

I would say the prices not extreme, emphasis on value. The grilled tuna steak was great, multiple condiments - there was a particular sweet and sour mango sauce that I could not get enough of. The cocktails were great as well.

I was however surprised when the staff closed the bar at 10:30pm.. on a Saturday night?! Still, I would recommend Karambezi - it especially sets the mood for a night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karambezi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;