We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Sea Cliff Hotel | Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
+255 (78) 704 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 190 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seafood spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went with friends for a special meal. We all had sea food of some description and all thought it was superb. I personally had the grilled squid kebabs that were streets ahead of the normal calamari you get everywhere else. Accompanied by an excellent salad and the best chips/ French fries in Dar, real potato freshly fried lovely and crisp. A little bit more expensive than your average Dar meal but well worth it, truly you get what you're for. Service was excellent as was the surroundings, lovely cool breeze off the Indian Ocean. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb White Snapper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Cooked to perfection, garlic sauce just right, it was great
the chocolate peanut butter ice cream dessert was also pretty good !!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Location! Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

In town from Kenya with some friends and we stopped by for dinner on the ocean. Everyone was cordial and nice as expected. There were alot of servers and waitresses running/standing around and it seemed to be a little unorganized. Eric was our server and the service was fine. He did a good job, he got better as the night went on and it slowed down. We had the seafood lobster platter for two. It was delicious. Everyone enjoyed their food although the lobster bisque didn't have much lobster in it but was a good portion. Dessert: we had chocolate brownie cake, mango apple cobbler and ice cream, and some cakes from the front counter. Everyone loved dessert. The after dinner coffee was ok and helped with the windy night as we started to get cold. The restaurant is located inside the hotel and has an attached casino if gambling is your thing. This is overall a great restaurant and seemed to be geared to the Western/European expat taste so it feels familiar. I will go there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View Overlooking the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice place for a pleasant evenings. Its amazing relaxing place for a good evening. I have visited almost 3-4 times in past months amazing palce

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love te place, love the food, love the service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Karambezi is a unique venue, right on a cliff at the Indian Ocean. Go here for an excellent capuccino, for lunch or dinner or just for a good glass of wine. In the evening the sight of the moon can be overwhelming. Just go there to see for yourselve!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karambezi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.