We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, worth searching out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rohobot

Rohobot
Tunisia Road | In Front of Leaders Workout Place, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 161 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://pernille.typepad.com/louderthanswahili/2009/09/rohobot-ethiopian-restaurant.html
worldwide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, worth searching out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This restaurant was a bit off the beaten track, but after a few enquiries our taxi driver found it, and it was fabulous. Very quaint chairs and tables in the open air. The yummy food from the extensive menu was quickly served on a traditional big plate covered in 'injera', a kind of pancakey/flatbread. The waiter was very helpful with suggestions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    14
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

A very authentic, homey place around the corner from Wonderwelders in Masaki. The food is simply great (the prawns are heavenly, the fried egg is something that I will always order and the Fish Tips are simply great - not to mention the pumpkin and lentil dishes as well as the Shiro Wot...), in my opinion much better than at Addis in Dar. It is always fresh and always delicious.

The owners are very welcoming and friendly and the service is very good. Nothing to complain, it's always a good experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian in Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Food is good and fresh, service is decent, it is the best Ethiopian restaurant in Dar, went there regularly. Opened all week long and also quite late at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian food high quality. Value 4 money. Local ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Real good Ethiopian food prepared with care and love. Decent prices. Local ambiance and setting. Hidden food gem.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiabakari
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since a friend of mine tipped me to this little family restaurant operating in an unassuming neighborhood around Namanga area of Dar es Salaam, I feel in love with it. It is not about the prices which are lower than in Addis in Dar or the ambiance or anything else. It is just it feels at home here and the food is very good. The owners are very friendly, helpful and smiling and no matter if I go alone or in a group, we get a very good service. I do not wish to go into the comparison mode with the Addis in Dar, because these two ethiopian restaurants are different, though the food is the same. One of my best places to go to eat in a casual mode with friends who appreciate this kind of establishments. Next time I am in Dar, surely my destination for a dinner with friends will be Rohobot. Keep it up, guys!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rohobot also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Rohobot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rohobot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.